Get started
This guide introduces EndNote X2 essentials.
Step through the guide from top to bottom, or jump to specific sections.
- Create an EndNote library
- Add references to your EndNote library, from a database with direct export
- Add references to your EndNote library, by saving and importing database records
- Search databases from within EndNote
- Export records from the library catalog (Sage)
- Export records from Google Scholar
- Find full text
- Cite while you write
Create an EndNote library |
Top |
1. open EndNote
2. choose create a new library
3. name your library and save it to your computer/network space
4. leave your EndNote library open while you work with databases and your Word document
Add references to your EndNote library, from a database with direct export |
Top |
Direct export of database records, to your EndNote libraries, is available from some but not all databases.
The EBSCO databases are an example of databases with direct export. Let's use the PsycINFO database to try this approach.
1. access PsycINFO and run a search
2. add to folder the records that you would like to export

Most databases offer an add to folder feature, but it may look different (for example, check boxes) and be differently named (for example, Marked Records, or My Research).
When you export records to EndNote from a database, only the record data will be added to your library: you will need to separately save to your computer any full text files (for example, PDFs) in the records, or separately search for and retrieve full text files using the EndNote X2 find full text feature.
3. to view your folder contents, click the folder icon at the top of the PsycINFO screen
4. select folder items to export to your EndNote library > click
to begin export

5. check that direct export to EndNote is selected and click save
Your library should now contain the records you chose to export.
Add references to your EndNote library, by saving and importing database records |
Top |
The Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) databases are an example of databases that require this approach.
Let's use the Sociological Abstracts database to try saving and importing database records.
1. access Sociological Abstracts and run a search
2. mark records you wish to export, using the check box to the left of each record

3. go to your marked records link at the top right of the search screen
4. look for the option to save records and select this option
5. choose the fullest record format available and click save
6. save .txt file to your computer/network space
7. in your EndNote library, select file > import
8. browse to point EndNote to the saved text (.txt) file and for import option choose other filters

9. look for the filter for Sociological Abstracts (CSA) and choose it.

10. set text translation to unicode (UTF-8)
11. click import
Your library should now contain the records you chose to import.
Search
databases from within Endnote
|
Top |
It is also possible to search databases from within your EndNote library.
At the top of the EndNote screen, click the globe
icon.
In the pop-up window that appears, choose the database you wish to search, on the Information Provider to which we have access. In this example, there are multiple listings for Sociological Abstracts but it is necessary to choose Sociological Abs (CSA) because CSA is the information provider for CSU access to this database.
Not sure which Information Provider to select? Contact the Libraries Information Desk or enter the database through the Libraries' database listings and look for branding in the database's name as listed, or in the database's search screen.
If you see a login pop-up window, click Cancel. There is no need to use this login, as you can use our CSU Libraries database subscriptions.

If you saw a login pop-up window, next navigate in the top EndNote toolbar to Edit > Preferences > Connection Files >Edit [name of database] in order to edit the connection file and avoid seeing the login pop-up window in future. Click Connection Settings and then remove the check marks beside User ID and Password. Close this window and save as you are prompted.

You're ready to begin searching. Use the search screen that appears at the bottom of EndNote.

As you edit the connection files for other databases, following the
steps above, you will see these database names added to the Online Search list on the left side of your EndNote screen.
You can begin your future searches in the databases that are included in your Online Search list, the simply by clicking the databases name and rather than starting with the
button.
Export records from the CSU Libraries catalog (Sage) |
Top |
1. access the library catalog (Sage) and run a search
2. mark the records you wish to export, using the check boxes to the left of records
3. click the save marked records button at the top of your records list
4. at top, click
to view saved records
5. click ![]()
6. select end-note/refworks and local disk >click submit

7. save the text (.txt) file to your computer/network space
8. in your EndNote library, choose file > import
9. browse to point EndNote to the saved text (.txt) file and for import option choose endnote import
10. click import
Your library should now contain the records you chose to import.
Export records from Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com ) |
Top |
1. access Google Scholar and to the right of the Google Scholar search box, click scholar preferences
2. scroll down and set as follows >click save preferences

3. run a search in Google Scholar
4. from a Google Scholar search result, use the import into endnote link

5. when the file download window appears, click open
6. point Endnote to your library >click open
Find full text |
Top |
This feature is new with EndNote X2. It allows you to use Endnote to search for the full text (in example the PDF) for an article referenced in your EndNote library.
Remember that other approaches to checking for and collecting article full text are:
- while you are in a library database, download any full text file you see available in the database record
- use the
button in database records to check for full text access through the Libraries' resources - use the Libraries' Find Journals form to check for full text access through the Libraries' resources
To use the EndNote X2 find full text feature to retrieve full text available through the Libraries' resources, you must generally first:
- be working on the campus network, OR
- have installed on your laptop/an off-campus computer the CSU VPN client and be logged on to it, OR
- be working within eCAHS (only available to affiliates of the College of Applied Human Sciences)
and in addition the reference(s) in your EndNote library should contain a link (URL) for the database record you downloaded, or a DOI (learn more about DOIs).
Here's a snapshot of an Endnote reference that contains a DOI. Not all references you export/import to your EndNote libraries will contain DOIs.

To search for full text for a reference in your EndNote library:
1. highlight the reference in your EndNote library
2. go to references > find full text
Cite while you write |
Top |
In this step we insert parenthetical, in-text citations and create our end of paper reference list (bibliography) as we work.
In this example we'll use APA style, however EndNote supports many citation styles.
1. open your EndNote library > use the select another style menu at top left to choose APA style
2. keep your EndNote library open and open a Word 2007 document
3. type a phrase in your Word document and stop your cursor at a point where you would like to insert an in text citation
4. in your EndNote library, highlight the reference you’d like to insert
5. back in your Word document, go to the add-ins or the EndNote X2 tab and select insert citation at left

You should see in your Word document that an in-text citation has been inserted and your end of paper reference list (bibliography) has been started.
EndNote Help
Contact the
Libraries' Information Desk:
Ph. 970.491.1841 / email
Guide Author
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait