Welcome
Welcome to the library guide for the Dramaturgical Protocol assignment for TH342. This was put together fairly quickly, so your feedback is welcome to help enhance, correct, or in any way improve the information found on these pages.
An excellent starting point for this entire assignment can be found here:
- http://www2.ups.edu/professionalorgs/dramaturgy/dramrsch.htm
by Lori Ricigliano of the University of Puget Sound
The sources listed there do not all apply to the CSU Library, so your librarian will be adding more information to this CSU LibGuide for local catalogs and databases.
The Dramaturgical Rationale
From Dr. Jones' assignment:
- a dramaturgical rationale for choosing a particular project (why this play should be presented at this time), and a dramaturgical analysis of the text in terms of how it might be produced in a manner that is relavant or challenging to contemporary audiences
To find news, events, and contemporary commentary on such, try one of the general databases:
- Academic Search Premier - access thousands of journals and magazines on a wide range of topics
- Lexis/Nexis Academic - up to date news and newspaper coverage from around the world
When and Where the Play Takes Place
From Dr. Jones' assignment:
- a detailed background about the playwright and his/her time
To find information about the various environments that influence the setting of the play (economic, political, social, cultural, historical) and the attitudes of the characters toward their world, consult the following:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Library Catalog - Discovery
The library's online catalog is the right place to search for books, reference material, and more. - Academic Search Premier a general/multidisciplinary database
- Lexis/Nexis Academic For news, newspaper, current event coverage.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Production history and critical/audience responses
From Dr. Jones' assignment:
- a production history and critical/audience response to previous productions
(from: http://www.library.yale.edu/humanities/theater/reviews.html)
- New York Times Online Database back to 1851-
- The New York Times Theater Reviews (and On Stage: Selected Theater Reviews from the New York Times) is a major source for reviews of play productions in the U.S. In addition, many scholarly journals (such as Theatre Journaland New England Theatre Journal) include production reviews.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Academic Search Premier
- Aisle Say "The Internet Magazine of Stage Reviews and Opinions."
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
American Drama Criticism: Interpretations, 1890-1977. Compiled by Floyd Eugene Eddleman. 2nd ed. Hamden, Conn.: Shoe String Press, 1979. Indexes reviews and criticism, some published in books and periodicals not indexed elsewhere. There are three supplements (1984, 1989, 1992) accompanying this volume, covering more recent publishing.
American Literary and Drama Reviews: an index to late nineteenth century periodicals. Patricia Marks. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1984.
Part 1 indexes reviews of American and foreign plays performed in the U.S. from 1880 through 1900. The reviews were published in general interest periodicals, rather than newspapers.
CurtainUp "The Internet Theater Magazine of Reviews, Features, Annotated Listings."
A Guide to Critical Reviews. James Salem. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 197? -.
In three volumes: American Drama, 1909-1982, The Musical, 1909-1989, and Foreign Drama, 1909-1977. An index to reviews of plays and musicals produced in New York published in U.S. and Canadian periodicals.
How to Locate Reviews of Plays and Films: a bibliography of criticism from the beginnings to the present. Gordon Samples. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1976. A guide for locating theater and film criticism in books, newspapers, magazines and other sources.
International Index to Periodicals (New York: H.W. Wilson Co., 1907-1965.)
Index to scholarly and general interest publications beginning in the year 1907. Consult each annual volume under Dramas -- Criticism, Plots to retrieve a list of reviews. Continued by Humanities Index and Humanities Full Text via WilsonWeb.
New York Theatre Critics' Reviews. New York, Critics' Theatre Reviews, Inc., 1967-1995.
Your Librarian |
Cathy Cranston![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
141 Morgan Library
970.491.1906
Email Cathy
Subjects:
Anthropology, Sociology, Political Science, Music, Theatre, Dance
My Twitter Updates
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait