TH363 - Advanced Costume Design: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to CSU Libraries!

We will cover:

resources for time, place, and costume of various periods
scholarly articles and resources
what the library can do for you

We won't have time to cover everything that you might need to know in one class period, so please feel welcome to follow-up with me by scheduling an appointment, sending an e-mail, or giving me a call. My contact details are on the right side of the page.

Good luck with your research!

The Plays

Research will involve the time, place, and costume of the period for the plays/musicals selected:

Arcadia
Lord of the Flies
Wicked
Evita
Hedwig and the Angry Inch
Wait Until Dark

Here's a shared Google Doc if you'd like to take notes with a group: http://bit.ly/th363fa2014

Resources

These two links will be useful for completing the research assignments for this class:

Historic Costume, 1900-1975 - Naomi Lederer
A collection of links to useful resources
using Pinterest

Theatre Call Numbers

Library Call Numbers for Theatre
from The Ohio State University
Library of Congress Call Number Classification

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references.
America: History & Life
Maximum Concurrent Users: 6
Coverage: 1954 to present
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
ARTstor
Searchable database of more than 1 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences applicable to different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities.
Historical Abstracts
Maximum Concurrent Users: 6
Coverage: 1953 to present
Bibliographic database that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century to the present.
JSTOR
Coverage: Varies
A digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Access more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Temporary access to: JSTOR Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sights: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Ends July 1, 2021
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1920s to present
Index of international journal articles, books and dissertations on literature; language and linguistics; folklore; literary theory & criticism; dramatic arts; historical aspects of printing and publishing; rhetoric and composition; and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature.
New York Times Historical Newspapers (1851-2008)
Coverage: 1851-2008
This is the paper of record in the U.S., best known for its analysis of news, issues and social changes. Navigate by title, date, and page number. Photos, graphs, and tables are replicated providing cover-to-cover full image content.
Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online
Coverage: Varies
Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies
Project Muse
Coverage: Varies
Full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Includes literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Times Digital Archive
Coverage: 1785-2010
Sponsored By: Years 1986-2005 are a gift from the Irene Bostrom Endowment in the CSU College of Liberal Arts.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.
Web of Science
Coverage: Varies
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
WWD
Coverage: Varies
For 100 years, Women's Wear Daily (WWD) has been the daily media of record and THE industry voice of authority for senior executives in the global women's and men's fashion, retail and beauty communities and the consumer media that cover the market. Often referred to as "the fashion bible," WWD provides a balance of timely, credible business news and key fashion trends to a dedicated readership of retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, Wall Street analysts, international moguls, media executives, ad agencies, trend-makers, and socialites