Map Resources: Geology Maps
Geology Maps - Online Resources
CSU library catalog
Call numbers for many maps can be found here. Searches by subject headings are recommended; for example: Geology -- Texas -- Maps.
National Geologic Map Database (USGS)
A multi-step search process for states and place names in the US. Includes maps from state geological agencies. Ask for assistance if you are unable to find the maps then identified in the library catalog. See also new publicly available NGMDB Map Database, a visual form of the NGMDB catalog.
Colorado Geological Survey
Listings of Colorado geology maps and information. Ask for assistance if you are unable to find the maps then identified in the library catalog.
GeoRef (CSU affiliates only)
Database useful for identifying geology maps throughout the world. Ask for assistance if you are unable to find the maps then identified in the library catalog.
Association of America State Geologists
Includes links to state geological surveys and their publications, including maps.
Geologic Map in the National Atlas (USGS)
An explanation and link to a map.
Packet Map Collection
Other USGS Publication Series
Note: check the library catalog for specific locations, including microfiche and online.
- Bulletin. I19.3 Doc
- Circular. I19.4 Doc
- Monographs. I19.9 Doc
- Water Supply Paper. I19.13 Doc
- Professional Paper. I19.16 Doc
- Water Resources Investigations. I19.42/4 Doc
- Water Resources Data. I19.53/2 Doc
- Open-File Report. I19.76 Doc
Geology Maps - Print Resources
(Note: print publications are less up-to-date than the online resources above.)
Guide to USGS Publications. Z6034 .U49G943 1998 Information Desk
Includes an extensive listing and indexing of maps in USGS series.
Guide to USGS Geologic and Hydrologic Maps. Z6034 .U49 G943 1992 MAP [on map cabinets]
An older version of the first guide.
Geologic Map Index of Colorado. I19.86: C71 1977 MAP [on map cabinets]
A comprehensive listing of maps published up to 1976. Earlier versions were published in 1954 and approximately 1970.
Bibliography and Index of Colorado Geology. [Shelved on map cabinets]
Maps are among the items indexed. Specific volumes and call numbers:
Colorado Geological Survey Bulletin 37, 1875-1975. QE91 .A4 no 37 MAP
Colorado Geological Survey Bulletin 45, 1975-1980. QE91 .A4 no 45 MAP
Colorado Geological Survey Information Series 19, 1981-1982. QE91 .A6a MAP
Colorado Geological Survey Information Series 21, 1983. QE91 .A6a no 21 MAP
Colorado Geological Survey Information Series 30, 1984-1989. QE91 .A6A no 30 MAP
- [states other than Colorado]
Map indexes for the individual states are shelved alphabetically on the map cabinets.
Colorado Geology Maps & Atlases
G4311 .C5 Svar C64a #44 Map [map stacks]
QE91 .A24 #53 Map [atlas case]
G4311 .C5 1991 .C4 Map [map stacks]
G4311 .C5 1979 .T9 Map [map cabinets]
G1462 .C5R6 1972 Map [atlas case]
G4311 .C5 1935 .G46 Map [rolled map]
G4311 .C5 1877 .G4 2005 Map [6 maps in map cabinets]
US and North American Geology Maps & Atlases
- Geologic Map of North America. 2005
G3301 .C5 2005 .R44 Map [3 maps in map cabinets]
- Tapestry of Time and Terrain (USGS) 2002
- Tectonic Map of North America. 1996
G3301 .C55 1996 .M8 Map [4 maps in map cabinets]
- Geologic Map of the United States. 1974
I19.79: G29/US/974 Map [2 maps in map cabinets]
- National Atlas of the United States Of America. 1970
I19.2: N21a Map [atlas case]
- National Atlases (Library of Congress)
Includes online maps from the 1970 National Atlas listed above.
- Tectonic Map of North America. 1969
G3301 .C55 1969 .K5 Map [map cabinets]
- Geologic Map of North America. 1965
G3301 .C5 1965 .N6 Map [map cabinets]