Welcome to the resource guide for Music. See the tabs above for sources of information.
If you have questions, please ask:
Your feedback on this guide is welcome. Leave a comment or get in touch with your librarian to suggest changes.
Monfort & Runyan Music Collection
Through the generous support of the Kenneth and Myra Monfort Charitable Trust, Myra Monfort and William Runyan are working with the Colorado State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections Department to build a collection of primary source materials for music scholars. The collection will focus on music theory, history and reference works of the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.
To view items from the collection, visit the Archives & Special Collections Department, Room 202, Morgan Library, Monday-Friday, 8:30am-4:30 pm.
University History Photograph Collection
The Charles W. Brown Jazz Collection
Charles W. Brown was an avid jazz collector who amassed over 500 78s and more than 75 LPs recordings dating from the 1920’s to the 1970’s. Also included in his collection are sheet music and ephemera relating to the genre.
Charles Wesley Brown was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on February 20, 1914. He lived in New Jersey most of his life, developing his love of jazz in nearby New York City. He haunted the jazz clubs in Harlem and met many jazz greats during this time while cultivating his collection of recordings. After retiring from his career as a professional proofreader (he was recognized as an authority on proofreading), “Charley” Brown moved to Montrose, Colorado. Following his death in 2009, his daughter, Patricia Fennell sought an archive for his many recordings. The Charles W. Brown Jazz Collection found a home at Colorado State University.
As well as being a passionate collector of jazz, Charley Brown was a musician in his own right. One of the unique recordings in the collection is his own recording, “Charley Brown’s Improvised Whistling of Traditional Jazz, 1960-1985,” accepted by the Library of Congress in 2002.
Here's a sample of the collection. Muskrat Ramble from Don Ewell's piano jazz
Get Set to Use the Library
InterLibrary Loan, also known as ILL, is a great resource that can connect you to full-text journal, magazine and newspaper articles, as well as books, book chapters and other resources that our library does not have.
ILL is FREE for you to use, but you have to set up an account username and password first.
Step 1: Set up your ILL account here
Step 2: Request items through ILL here or via the button
- When you're in a database, use the button to see if full-text is already available. If not, click on the 'InterlibraryLoan/Document Deliver' link to submit a request.
- ILL article requests are generally processed within 24-48 hours.
- ILL book requests take a bit longer. Check our Regional Catalog, Prospector, to see if you can get a book faster from a front range library.
- You will receive an e-mail alert when the materials are available.
For more information, visit the ILL web site.