Human Development & Family Studies
HDFS Databases
To see a complete list of databases that may be useful for HDFS, see the HDFS section of the database list: https://libguides.colostate.edu/az.php?s=17030
PsychINFO is usually the best resource to use:
- PsycInfoCoverage: 1887 to present
Citations and summaries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines published in peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports.
PsycINFO allows you to find articles about every aspect of the social sciences and limit your results by methodology (i.e. empirical studies), peer-reviewed articles, age groups, and more. Video tutorials.
- Web of ScienceCoverage: Varies
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. - PubMed (National Library of Medicine)Coverage: 1950 to present
Provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts for clinical medical literature. - Mental Measurements YearbookMaximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage: 1985 to present
A comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
What is meant by the terms peer reviewed and refereed?
Your course assignment criteria may specify that you use peer reviewed (also known as refereed) journal articles.
- Peer review in three minutes: What's so special about peer-reviewed articles? (online tutorial; 3 min.; from the NCSU Libraries)
- When using a Libraries database to search for articles, look for a search screen option to limit your search to peer reviewed or refereed.
- To determine if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed) search the journal title in the CSU Libraries' UlrichsWeb database.
Google Scholar.
See this guide to setting useful Google Scholar preferences.
Your Librarian
CSU Librarians
Ask a Research Question
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Subjects: Accounting, Aerospace & Military Science, Agricultural & Resource Economics, Agricultural Biology, Agriculture (all), Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Equine Science, Anthropology, Apparel & Merchandising, Art & Art History, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biological & Physical Sciences, Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Business (all), Business (Company), Business (Finance), Business (Industry), Business (International), Business (Marketing), Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Communication Studies, Composition & Communication, Computer Science, Construction Management, Counseling & Career Development, Criminology, Dance, Design, Diversity & Inclusion, Ecology, Economics, Education, Engineering, Engineering & Math, English Language & Literature, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Family & Consumer Sciences, Fermentation Science & Technology, Film Studies, Fish, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship, Geography, Geology, Government (U.S.), Health & Exercise Science, History, Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, Hospitality & Tourism Management, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts, Journalism & Media Communication, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures, Legal Studies, Library & Information Science, Mathematics, Music, Natural Resources, Occupational Therapy, Organizational Leadership & Human Resources, Philosophy & Religion, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Public Policy & Administration, Social Sciences/Human Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Soil & Crop Sciences, Sport Management, Statistics & Data Science, Sustainability, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's & Gender Studies
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
