Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Skip to content

Admin Sign In 

Chemistry Library Resources  Tags: chemistry  

Guide to chemistry resources.
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/chem  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

Primary Databases

SciFinder Scholar ( 1907-present)
Online access to the information contained in Chemical Abstracts and the premier database for chemists.  The CSU Libraries have  two 24-hour simultaneous users that are reserved exclusively from the Chemistry Department,  An additional seat is available to anyone on campus, including the Chemistry Department.  Since there are a limited number of users, you may occasionally be denied access.  If this happens, wait awhile and try again.

Web of Science (1900-present)
Provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

 

Beilstein
As the cornerstone database to organic chemistry, the CrossFire Beilstein database is essential for generating new leads, planning synthetic routes (including starting materials and intermediates), determining bioactivity and physical properties, and ascertaining the environmental fates of compounds.   Provides comprehensive coverage of reactions, structures, and properties in organic chemistry  and contains information on over 8 million compounds and more than 5 million chemical reactions.

 

Gmelin
As the world's most comprehensive data collection in organometallic and inorganic chemistry, Gmelin covers literature from the year 1772 to present. It contains information on over 1.4 million compounds, including: coordination compounds, alloys, solid solutions, glasses and ceramics, polymers, and minerals. Comprehensive coverage of structures and properties in inorganic and organometallic chemistry are also included.

 

Secondary Databases

Biological Abstracts (1991-present)
Covers life sciences literature on an international basis, including biological and medical research findings and information on clinical studies from the fields of agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Approximately 75% of  records include abstracts.

Medline via PubMed (1966-present)
MEDLINE encompasses information from the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. More than 8.7 million records from more than 3,600 journals are indexed, and abstracts are included for about 67% of the records. Also indexed in SciFinder.  Using this link to PubMed will enable the FindIt@CSU button, which will link users directly to CSU's online subscriptions (even if they are off-campus) and ILL form.

 

Chat with Michelle

Profile ImageMichelle Wilde


Contact Info:
Physical Sciences Librarian
Associate Professor
Colorado State University Libraries
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019
(970) 491-1860
Email

My Twitter Updates


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait