Native American Resources
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2012 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/nativeamerican Print Guide
Native American Resources
General Resources on American Indian Tribes and Other Indigenous Cultures
- Aboriginal Canada Portal
This portal provides a single gateway to online resources, contacts, and information for and about aboriginal peoples in Canada. It is organized by broad subject area, such as employment, health, and social services.
- American Indian Tribe
This Website presents an overview of available resources on and historical background of numerous American Indian tribes.
Anthropology resources on the Internet
- Archaeological Research Resources
Links to organizations & societies, internet directories, research & reference, journals, historic archaeology sites, GIS & digital mapping, GPS resources, and geophysical survey websites.
- Cultural Survival
Cultural Survival promotes the rights, voices, and visions of indigenous peoples and develops new strategies for responding directly to the critical needs of the world's indigenous populations. Information is organized by region or by topic; each subsection features the full-text of relevant articles, news briefs, links, and other documents. The Website links to the Indigenous Action Network.
- eCultural Resources - Cultural Resource Network
Provides the web's most complete source of news, jobs, announcements, consultant listings, and resources for the cultural resource industry. This website is useful to: archaeologists, anthropologists, ethnographers, historic preservation specialists, museum specialists, architectural historians, and other professionals interested in cultural resources, heritage, and preservation.
- First Nations Periodical Index
This index contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. It provides access to information about First Nations for students, educators, instructors, and researchers.
- Index of Native American Electronic Text Resources on the Internet
This site at the WWW Virtual Library is constructed primarily to provide information resources to the Native American community and only secondarily to the general community.
- Labriola National American Indian Data Center
The Labriola National American Indian Data Center, part of the Arizona State University Libraries, is a research collection international in scope that brings together in one location current and historic information on government, culture, religion and world view, social life and customs, tribal history, and information on individuals from the United States, Canada, and Sonora & Chihuahua, Mexico.
- Minority Links: Facts on American Indian/Alaska Native Populations
This site provides quick and easy links to the lastest U. S. Census Bureau statistics on the social and economic characteristics of American Indian/Alaska native inhabitants, as well as links to various reports and news releases.
- Native American Sites
Links to the home pages of Native American Nations and organizations, and to other sites that provide solid infomation about Native Americans, including colleges, languages, music and arts, Indians in the military, and native businesses.
- Native Culture.com
This is a comprehensive portal site for Native American resources on the Web. There are sections on tribes & nations, arts & expression, teaching & learning, featured full-text articles, good questions, and Census 2000 data.
- NativeWeb - Resources for Indigenous Cultures Around the World
NativeWeb is an international, non-profit educational organization dedicated to information dissemination, fostering communication, and conducting research. The site includes current news, books and music, and links to thousands of pertinent websites.
- Researching Indigenous Peoples Rights Under International Law
This revised document by Stephen C. Perkins is a guide to researching international law and indigenous peoples, and provides links to other online materials on indigenous peoples rights under international law.
- Tribal Court Clearinghouse
The Clearinghouse is a project of the Tribal Law and Policy Institute and was established in 1999. It was the first Website devoted to providing information to people working in Native American tribal courts. The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is designed as a resource for tribal justice systems and others involved in the enhancement of justice in Indian country. It includes information on tribal law, state law, and federal law, court cases, as well as information on topics such as domestic & child abuse, alcohol & substance abuse, housing, and environmental law.
Links to Tribal and Governmental Agency Websites
- Tribes, States and Government Agency
Links to tribal websites, government agency websites, and other resources.
- Native Nations Network
The Native Nations Network (Native America's On-line Tribal Village) is a Native American and Canadian First Nations global, online tribal village. It features news, editorials, essays, internet sources, events, action alerts, and specific sections on relevant topics.
- Arctic Council
This Council is a high-level intergovernmental forum that provides a mechanism to address the common concerns and challenges faced by the Arctic governments and the people of the Arctic. The member states of the Council are Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States. This site provides information about the members, projects, key issues, news, letters, and events.
- Assembly of First Nations
The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is the national representative organization of the First Nations in Canada. There are over 630 First Nations communities in Canada and the AFN Secretariat is designed to present the views of these groups through their leaders in areas such as treaty rights, economic development, education, language, health, justice, and the environment.
- Center for World Indigenous Studies
The Center (CWIS) is an independent, non-profit research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic, and political realities of indigenous nations. The site contains information about educational programs and courses, a bookstore, archives, and an electronic library of documents searchable by geographical region.
H-Net (Humanities and Social Sciences Online) is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Their edited lists and Websites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.
The American Indian Heritage Foundation was establised to provide relief services to Indian people nationwide and to build bridges of understanding and friendship between Indian and non-Indian people.
- Native American Rights Fund
The Native American Rights Fund (NARF) is a non-profit organization that provides legal representation and technical assistance to Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide. The Fund site includes the National Indian Law Library.
Education and Literature by and about Native Americans
- A Guide to Native American Studies Programs in the United States and Canada
- Native America Recommended Readings from Anthro.Net
- Native American Authors
This Website provides information on contemporary Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites.
- Cherokee Observer
On-line Independent Cherokee Newspaper with archives back to 1997.
- Tribal Law Journal - University of New Mexico School of Law
Provides a reliable forum for discussion of internal indigenous law.