Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Skip to content

Admin Sign In 

CO300 - Writing Arguments  Tags: composition co300  

Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/CO300  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  

Quick Tutorials

 

Already have a citation?

Use this tool to locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation.

 

Style Guides:

 

Peer Review

 A Note about Peer Review by Naomi Lederer

"Peer review" refers to the policy of having experts in the field examine journal articles before acceptance for publication. Peer review insures that the research described in a journal's articles is sound and of high quality. Sometimes the term "refereed" is used instead of peer review. Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory, located behind the Information Desk, has a list of refereed journals. However, not all scholarly journals are on this list. For unlisted journals, examine the editorial policy, instructions to authors, and/or the editorial board list of members to determine if the editorial boards and/or consultants are experts in the field.

No matter what type of journal an article comes from, be sure to evaluate it. Use How to Evaluate Journal Articles as a guide.

 

Research Databases

Use these Research Databases to help you track down articles about your topic.

Look for the FindIt Button to access articles button to help you get to the full-text of articles. 

 

Journal of Commentary and Opinion

Journals of Commentary and Opinion

This lists a variety of publications that present issues from different perspectives. For the most part, the bias of the authors in these publications is clear and is presented in a straightforward manner. Use these publications to explore various viewpoints.

You can use databases such as Academic Search Premier to search for articles appearing in some of these magazines.

  • America
    Considered a contemporary Catholic publication, this weekly magazine presents commentary on current social and political issues. It is edited by lay Roman Catholics, but provides opinions from various standpoints.
  • Atlantic Monthly
    Leaning toward the liberal side, this publication emphasizes social issues, and produces some hard-hitting commentary.
  • Audubon
    This publication reflects environmental interests, with many articles focusing on the need for conservation.
  • Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists
    Dedicated to eliminating the threat of nuclear war, this journal offers articles by leading physical, life and social scientists.
  • Christian Century
    Founded by Protestants, the Christian Century is considered a moderate to liberal journal, providing Christian and non-Christian religious opinions for the educated layperson or religious professional.
  • Commentary
    The stated program of the American Jewish Committee is to "clarify public opinion on problems of Jewish concern, to fight bigotry and protect human rights, and to promote Jewish and cultural interest and creative achievement in America." This publication is considered to be strongly supportive of Israel, and may provide very conservative views on political topics.
  • Commonweal
    Commonweal is a Roman Catholic publication which focuses on social issues and literature, rather than theology. Considered less religiously oriented than America.
  • Congressional Digest
    Each issue is devoted to a single topic of current interest and importance. Pros and cons of the issue are presented by four to six authors; members of congress as well as other experts, on each side of the debate.
  • Current
    Reprints of articles expressing a variety of viewpoints from various sources. Unfortunately, this publication does not offer background on the authors.
  • CQ Researcher
    Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
  • Harper's Magazine
    Each issue of Harper's contains five or six articles with social or political commentary on the world or the nation. Harper's has an investigative journalistic style. Less liberal than Atlantic Monthly.
  • Humanist
    Humanism "derives the goals of life from human need and interest rather than from theological or ideological abstractions, and asserts that humanity must take responsibility for its own destiny." This publication has a strong voice on social concerns, favoring government actions while asserting individual liberty.
  • Mother Jones
    Named for Mary Harris, "Orator, Union Organizer, and Hellraiser", this magazine, once radical in support of the proletariat and poor, has tamed with age.
  • Ms.
    Indexed in: ?

    A news magazine with a strong feminist/liberal stance. The lack of advertising allows the writers independence from political pressure by advertisers.
  • Nation
    The Nation is considered to be a leader in liberal journals. Unabashedly partisan, this publication covers political and sociological issues.
  • National Review
    Extremely conservative, this publication is known to criticize the Republican Party as being too liberal. The National Review is the standard by which other conservative publications are based. Right-wing editorials and biting political cartoons are highlights.
  • New Republic
    Critical liberal commentary, with more balanced coverage than the Nation.
  • New Statesman and Society
    Affiliated with the Labour Party, this publication has been described as highly entertaining and "full of British wit."
  • Partisan Review
    Fiction, poetry, and essays, including discussion of issues that impact the university culture, with a liberal, pro-education perspective.
  • Progressive
    Strongly liberal, the Progressive delves into issues like the environment and U.S. foreign policy. Includes excellent editorial cartoons.
  • Utne Reader
    Provides the current "alternative" perspective from over 1,000 small independent magazines.

This list of journals & descriptions was taken with permission from a website formerly located at http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/ugl/center/comop.html.

 

Sources of Articles

Popular Magazines VS Trade Magazines
VS Scholarly Journals

by Naomi Lederer (originally found http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/poplr.html)

The following is a list of General Criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines, and scholarly journals. Some journals do not meet all the criteria in one category. For example, Scientific American, which has glossy pages and color pictures, contains both scholarly articles as well as those geared to a more general audience. Accountability and content of the specific article are the key criteria used to determine if an article is scholarly. See Evaluation Clues for Articles Taken from the Web for cases when you do not have an entire issue to examine.

 

CRITERIA POPULAR MAGAZINES TRADE MAGAZINES SCHOLARLY JOURNALS
Appearance
eye-catching cover

glossy paper

pictures and illustrations in color

each issue starts with page 1

cover depicts industrial setting

 

glossy paper

 

pictures and illustrations in color

 

each issue starts with page 1
plain cover

plain paper

black/white graphics and illustrations

pages consecutive throughout each volume

Audience
To identify (over 150,000 titles) see PubList.com
nonprofessionals members of a specific business, industry or organization researchers and professionals
Content
personalities, news, and general interest articles

articles written by staff, may be unsigned

industry trends, new products or techniques, and organizational news

articles written by staff or contributing authors

research projects, methodology, and theory

articles written by contributing authors

Accountability editorial review

no bibliographies

editorial review

may have short bibliographies

peer review/refereed

 

has bibliographies

Advertisements heavy moderate

all or most are trade related

few or none
Examples

Gourmet

New York

Psychology Today

Time

Chilton's Food Engineering

Public Management

APA Monitor

Advertising Age

Journal of Food Science

Urban Studies

 

Journal of Applied Psychology

 

Journal of Extension
 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageCathy Cranston


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
141 Morgan Library
970.491.1906
Email Cathy


Subjects:
Anthropology, Sociology, Political Science, Music, Theatre, Dance

My Twitter Updates


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait