Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Skip to content

Admin Sign In 

CO300 - Writing Arguments  Tags: composition co300  

Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/CO300  Print Guide  RSS Updates

NEPA CO300             Print Page
  
 

Natural Resources Librarian, Allison Level

Allison Level

WCNR Librarian

Office: Morgan 132

970-491-3918

allison.level@colostate.edu

Natural Resources Research Information

Quick Links

Below are some quick links for NEPA, EPA, or other sources.

Useful Yet Sometimes Overlooked Links

List of some helpful yet often overlooked links.

 

Timeline

 

Key Databases for NEPA & Natural Resources

Below are some databases to use, in addition to databases listed of the CO300 LibGuide. You may also want to consult the databases list on the:

Natural Resources Research Information page

or on one of the natural resources by topic/subject page

 

NEPA Pilot Project, Giant Sequoia National Monument

Pilot Project Could Streamline NEPA Process

http://www.fs.fed.us/fstoday/090123/02National%20News/pilot_project.html


By Mary Carr

Pilot project tests innovative Web-based publishing software on a Region 5 planning effort

Could it be true, NEPA (National Environmental Policy Act) made easy? The Washington Office Ecosystem Management Coordination (EMC) Publishing Arts group and the Sequoia National Forest recently launched a pilot project called ePubPlus, which could streamline the way NEPA and other documents are published and enhance public participation through the use of innovative Web-based software.

Monument Collaboration Approach

“A front-end-loaded collaborative process, engaging a variety of stakeholders, will facilitate the collaborative development of a generally agreed upon proposal that will be taken through the environmental impact statement (EIS) process as required by the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA). The new collaborative approach to planning is about sharing power and ensuring the planning process is transparent to all--every step of the way.”

Giant Sequoia National Monument Management Plan

http://www.fs.fed.us/r5/sequoia/gsnm_planning.html

Giant Sequoia National Monument Draft Alternatives

www.fs.fed.us/r5/sequoia/gsnm/draft_alt_a.pdf

 

Giant Sequoia National Monument Scoping Document

http://gsnm-consult.limehouse.com/portal/scoping/gsnmscoping?pointId=57381

 

Federal Register notice of intent to prepare an EIS for Giant Sequoia National Monument

http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fedreg/frcont09.html (go to March 18, 2009)

http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fedreg/a090318c.html#Forest%20Service

http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/2009/E9-5809.htm text of announcement

 

 

Good Search Strategies Make a Difference

Searching in the research databases can be a bit tricky. If you keep a few tips in mind, you will create better search strategies.

Boolean logic or boolean searching (named after George Boole) uses logical words/terms (and  or not)  to combine words or terms.

Truncation symbols, usually the asterisk * symbol, give you extra searching options for the endings of words.

Wildcard symbols, usually the question mark ? symbol, replaces a letter or letters in the middle of a word.

Phrase searching, to keep words together as a phrase, you usually use the quote marks around the phrase "words together"

Abbreviations when searching, it is better to spell out the words rather than just use the abbreviations

Boolean Example With Truncation

(NEPA OR national environmental polic*) AND (collaboration OR stakeholder*)

dolphins NOT Miami: articles must have the word dolphins but CAN NOT have the word Miami (NOT is very powerful, be careful how it is used in your searches.)

 

 

Using Lexis/Nexis Congressional

Lexis/Nexis Congressional is a database that contains a vast amount of information about all aspects of congressional activity.

Be sure to check out the Help Toolbox at the bottom of the screen to find useful information for searching this database.

Tips: By clicking on Bills, you can get the official name an number of a bill. Note that you can access congressional testimony through this database.

 

Lexis/Nexis Congressional

 

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageCathy Cranston


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
141 Morgan Library
970.491.1906
Email Cathy


Subjects:
Anthropology, Sociology, Political Science, Music, Theatre, Dance

My Twitter Updates


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait