Popular Sites
Popular Sites:
- MapQuest
A favorite site for driving directions. - Google Maps
Useful for both driving directions and satellite maps of the US. - Local Live (MapBlast)
Another site for driving directions, including construction on major highways. - The National Map (USGS)
An interactive topographic map of the US. - MapLink
Very helpful for searches of US place names, accompanying topo quad name, and latitude/longitude. - WorldTimeZone
Find time of day elsewhere.
Colorado Thematic Maps
Colorado Thematic Maps:
- Legislative Districts
Click on "district maps" for legislative district maps at the state and federal levels. - State Planning and Management Regions
This map shows Colorado planning region and county boundaries. - Colorado Maps (Colorado by the Numbers)
Links to a variety of maps, including judicial districts and wildlife districts. - Maps of Colorado
Provides links to a variety of online maps from state agencies. - Larimer County Store
Shop for maps, aerial photography, and data sets. - Fort Collins Government Geographic Information Services
Shop for printed maps.
Historical Maps
Historical Maps:
- Map Collections (Library of Congress)
Useful for examples rather than comprehensive collections. - Nationalatlas.gov
Up-to-date online maps for the US covering many themes. - National Atlases (Library of Congress)
Full text and maps from the US National Atlas of 1970 and US atlases from 1870, 1880, and 1890. - National Geographic Map Collection
Historical folded maps originally included in the magazine. - Office of Coast Survey (NOAA)
A large collection searchable by geographic name. - Perry-Castaneda Map Collection
Scroll down for a link to historical maps. - David Rumsey Map Collection
Thousands of online maps, particularly for 18th and 19th century North and South America. - Federal Newsmaps (University of North Texas)
These maps were produced during World War II and immediately afterward. - Maps of Africa (Northwestern University Libraries)
Includes 16th through the 20th centuries. - Hawaii Historical Topographical Quadrangle Maps 1910-1933 (University of Hawaii Libraries)
1:31,650 scale for all the islands except for Oahu which is at 1:20,000 scale. These are downloadable as a geotiff, which means that it can be imported into a Geographic Information System. You may also simply view the tiff as a jpeg with any image viewer.
Latitude & Longitude
Latitude & Longitude:
- US Board on Geographic Names (USGS)
For place names in the US only. Includes name of topo quad map also. - TerraServer
International in scope. Specific images for places include latitude and longitude. - Geonet Names Server (NGA)
For geographic feature names in countries other than the US. - MapLink
For US place names; latitude, longitude and topo quad names are all provided. - Latitude/Longitude Conversions (FCC)
Permits conversion of latitude and longitude between decimal degrees and degrees, minutes, and seconds.
Printable Maps
Printable Maps:
- Blank and Outline Maps
Blank maps that show boundaries only for countries and US states. - Colorado Thematic Map Gallery (Colorado State Demography Office)
PDF and JPEG for various maps of Colorado with counties and municipalities. - Color Landform Atlas of the United States
State maps with colored/shaded relief. - National Atlas Printable Maps
Federal lands, congressional districts, and historical maps among others. - National Geographic Xpeditions
Links to maps for countries and states in black-and-white with borders, cities, and rivers. - Perry-Castaneda Map Collection
Country and state maps in both JPEG and PDF. - TerraServer-USA
Aerial photos and topographic maps of places in the US. - United Nations Cartographic Section
Maps of many regions and countries; detail varies.
Understanding Maps
Understanding Maps:
- Reading Maps (Statistics Canada)
Easy to understand tutorial. - Introduction to Maps (WebJunction)
Links to various topics. - Geography and Maps (Library of Congress)
Useful overview with emphasis upon Library of Congress collections. - What are Latitude and Longitude (US National Atlas)
Good brief explanations. - Map Scales (USGS)
Brief but thorough explanation with accompanying chart of maps and scales. - Topographic Maps (USGS Maps and Images)
A very brief explanation. - Topographic Map Symbols (USGS)
A detailed explanation including the symbols themselves. - Topographic Map Scales (Utah Geological Survey)
A detailed explanation of scales and the General Land Office Grid. - Map Projections
Graphic images of numerous map projections.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait