Finding Articles & BooksPrevious BIF TopicsPutting it TogetherWeb Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Skip to content

Admin Sign In 

African American Studies 

This LibGuides has been designed to highlight resources for African American Studies available in CSU Libraries, and to serve as a research portal for the annual Black Issues Forum.
Last update: Jun 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/BIF  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles & Books             Print Page
  
 

Books OR Articles?

Library Catalog vs. Research Databases

 

for Books in the Library Catalog!


  

 Search for Articles in Research Databases

 

Hint: Click on the FindIt Button to access articles button to find articles in full-text.  For additional information on how to use FindIt go here: http://lib.colostate.edu/sfx/about.html

 Recommended Databases include:

Please ask if you aren't finding what you're looking for!
There are many other databases available.

 

Finding Articles - Database Search Tips

Databases are different than Google!

  • To search effectively, break down your topic to keywords.
  • Combine your keywords with connecting words - AND, OR, NOT  (Quick Tutorial on Boolean Logic)
  • Start broad --> go narrow
  • Use a Wildcard symbol (*) after the root of a word to bring in variations of a word - psych* (psychology, psychological, psychic...)

 Search term tips

  • Try a variety of terms
    • African American*, Black*, Afro-American*,  race
  • Combine with a broader topic
    • politic*, education, media, society, religion, econom*
  • Remember to use connecting words:
    • African American* AND media
    • Black* AND higher AND education

CSU Libraries Tutorials Page

  • Short 3-5 minute online tutorials on aspects of conducting research
 

Selected books from CSU Library

General Resources:

African American Almanac (2008) - Historical and current information on African-American history, society, and culture.  Browse the eTable of Contents or browse or search the eBook Index for relevant information on your topics.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (2006) - 5 volume work covering the African-American experience from 1619-present.  Browse the eTable of Contents or browse or search the eBook Index for relevant information on your topics.

Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience (2005) - 5 volume work on African and African-American history and culture.  Extends beyond the United States to other countries in the Western Hemisphere.  Morgan Reference: DT14 .A37435 2005

Education Topic Resources:

Encyclopedia of African-American Educaton (1996) - Morgan Reference South: LC2717 .E53 1996

Encyclopedia of Education (2002) - 8 volume work on all aspects of education.  Browse the eTable of Contents or browse or search the eBook Index for relevant information on your topics.

Politics Topic Resources:

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics (2008) - Emphasis on how government and politics effects, and is affected by, social change.  Browse the eTable of Contents or browse or search the eBook Index for relevant information on your topics.

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency (2004) - Morgan Reference South: JK511 .G45 2004

The Presidency A to Z (2003) - Morgan Reference: JK511 .P775 2003

Rap and Hip Hop Culture Topic:

Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip-Hop Culture (2006) - Morgan Reference: ML102.R27 B96 2006

 
 

But is it scholarly?

Popular magazines vs. trade magazines
vs. scholarly journals

by Naomi Lederer (originally found http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/poplr.html)

The following is a list of General Criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines, and scholarly journals. Some journals do not meet all the criteria in one category. For example, Scientific American, which has glossy pages and color pictures, contains both scholarly articles as well as those geared to a more general audience. Accountability and content of the specific article are the key criteria used to determine if an article is scholarly

 

CRITERIA POPULAR MAGAZINES TRADE MAGAZINES SCHOLARLY JOURNALS
Appearance
eye-catching cover

glossy paper

pictures and illustrations in color

each issue starts with page 1

cover depicts industrial setting

 

glossy paper

 

pictures and illustrations in color

 

each issue starts with page 1
plain cover

plain paper

black/white graphics and illustrations

pages consecutive throughout each volume

Audience
To identify (over 150,000 titles) see PubList.com
nonprofessionals members of a specific business, industry or organization researchers and professionals
Content
personalities, news, and general interest articles

articles written by staff, may be unsigned

industry trends, new products or techniques, and organizational news

articles written by staff or contributing authors

research projects, methodology, and theory

articles written by contributing authors

Accountability editorial review

no bibliographies

editorial review

may have short bibliographies

peer review/refereed

 

has bibliographies

Advertisements heavy moderate

all or most are trade related

few or none
Examples

Gourmet

New York

Psychology Today

Time

Chilton's Food Engineering

Public Management

APA Monitor

Advertising Age

Journal of Food Science

Urban Studies

 

Journal of Applied Psychology

 

Journal of Extension

 

A Note about Peer Review

 

"Peer review" refers to the policy of having experts in the field examine journal articles before acceptance for publication. Peer review insures that the research described in a journal's articles is sound and of high quality. Sometimes the term "refereed" is used instead of peer review. Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory, located behind the Information Desk, has a list of refereed journals. However, not all scholarly journals are on this list. For unlisted journals, examine the editorial policy, instructions to authors, and/or the editorial board list of members to determine if the editorial boards and/or consultants are experts in the field.

No matter what type of journal an article comes from, be sure to evaluate it.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait