This is the "Home" page of the "Forestry Research Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Forestry Research Resources   Tags: forestry, natural_resources  

A guide to forestry and forest sciences research information for Colorado State University faculty, students, staff, and researchers.
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/forestry Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search, Learn, Explore

Welcome to the research guide for forestry. Most resources linked off this guide are available online for CSU faculty, staff, students, or affiliates. Resources not online are usually located in the CSU Morgan Library. We are moving part of the book collection and the government documents collection due to the rennovation, ask at the information desk if you are having trouble locating the resources.

Visit the Natural Resources Portal for more links to research information. 

If you are off-campus, connect to the CSU secure server, then you will have access to library resources, online journals, e-books, databases and more. go to https://secure.colostate.edu ; log-on with your EID, then clickon CSU Libraries under Web Bookmarks

More about Secure Access Gateway SSL VPN

ORCID ID and Altmetrics and more...

Researcher disambiguation, alternative metrics to scholarly output, and publications in Open Access journals are three topics on the scholarly research horizon...

Important Databases for Forestry

Below are the top ranked and most commonly used databases for this subject area. Most, but not all, of the articles in these databases are scholarly/peer reviewed.  For a complete list of databases, see the Find Electronic Resources & Databases page. You may also search by subject on the Databases page, select forestry/forest sciences.

Remember if you are connecting from off-campus, you must sign in with CSU Secure network  to access databases, online journals, and E-books.

  • Web of Science  
      
    Scholarly/peer reviewed journals in all areas of natural resources, agriculture, sciences, and more. Start here for the best scientific articles, but not all journals are indexed in WOS.
  • CAB Abstracts  
      
    Mix of scholarly/peer reviewed journals, book chapters, proceedings in natural resources, forestry, agriculture, more.
  • Treesearch (United States Forest Service Database)
    Online system for locating and delivering publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Includes research monographs, conference proceedings, and some journal articles
  • FS Info the National Forest Service Library Catalog
    The National Forest Service Library catalog (FS INFO) is an online index of natural resources publications, including Forest Service literature. FS INFO provides citations to forestry and forestry-related natural resource literature, links to full text (pdf) are provided when available
  • Forestry Compendium
    A global compilation of knowledge on forestry for practical decision-making. Includes information on trees, seed suppliers, pests and countries, and aids for tree species selection
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
    Broader than just forestry, this database includes journals, conference proceedings, reports, and more.
  • AGRICOLA
    Contains bibliographic records related to agriculture from the USDA's National Agricultural Library. Indexing can lag behind CAB Abstracts, so also search CAB.
  • CAB Abstracts Archive  
      
    Same content as CAB Abstracts, date coverage 1910-1972.
  • Environmental History Bibliography
    Produced by the Forest History Society, the Environmental History Bibliography covers approximately 40,000 annotated citations to literature dealing with environmental, and forest, history
  • University of Minnesota Forestry Indexes
    The UM Forestry Library indexes sub-topics within forestry: Social Sciences in Forestry; Trail Planning, Construction and Maintenance; Tropical Conservation and Development; Urban Forestry. Articles are not full-text but CSU may provide access. Find It @ CSU is NOT linked to this database.
  • AGRIS and CARIS
    AGRIS is an international cooperative system that provides citations to journal articles, reports, and other documents in the agricultural sciences. CARIS is an international cooperative system that links to forestry, fisheries, and other topics in natural resources and agriculture.
  • Forestry Inventory and Analysis National Program
    Datasets from the US Forest Service

Contact

Profile Image
Jocelyn Boice
Contact Info
970-491-3882
Send Email

Office Hours:
By Appointment
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip