Already Have a Citation?
Use this tool to locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation.
Is this journal, Scholarly/Peer Reviewed?
I need to find scholarly/peer reviewed articles for my paper.
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Journal articles written by experts, faculty, or scholars on the topic
- The information has been evaluated by editors or other experts
- Articles most always contain a bibliography documenting sources
If you want to check to see if the journal is scholarly or peer-reviewed, search the journal title in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Question: Is "Ecology" a scholarly/peer reviewed journal?
If you look it up in Ulrich's, this is what you find...

Answer: Yes, Ecology is a refereed journal.
DOI
Do you have a DOI number for a journal citation?
If you do and it looks like this, 10.1037/0003-066X.59.1.29
Add this to the beginning of the DOI to make the DOI
searchable on the web, add:
http://dx.doi.org/
So this example would look like:
http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/0003-066X.59.1.29
check the link live
Learning to Search
These quick tutorials show you tips for search strategies.
- Boolean Basics (useing AND, OR NOT) in database searches Link your search terms together for better results
- Advanced Boolean Power searching ideas
- Truncation (using * ) Wildcard characters such as * give you more searching options. Use wol* to search for wolf, wolves, wolverine
Important Databases for Soil & Crop Sciences
Below are the top ranked and most commonly used databases for this subject area. Most, but not all, of the articles in these databases are scholarly/peer reviewed. For a complete list of databases, see the Find Electronic Resources & Databases page. You may also search by subject on the Databases page.
- Web of Science
Scholarly/peer reviewed journals in all areas of natural resources, agriculture, sciences, and more. Start here for the best scientific articles, but not all journals are indexed in WOS. - CAB Abstracts
Mix of scholarly/peer reviewed journals, book chapters, proceedings in natural resources, forestry, agriculture, more. - Agricola Some overlap with CAB, includes proceedings and some government reports
- Plant Management Network from APS, just a few journals
- Soil Series Classification Database Contains the taxonomic classification of each soil series identified in the United States, Territories, and others served by USDA
- CAB Abstracts Archive
Same content as CAB Abstracts, date coverage 1910-1972.
Good Search Strategies Make a Difference
Searching in the research databases can be a bit tricky. If you keep a few tips in mind, you will create better search strategies.
Boolean logic or boolean searching (named after George Boole) uses logical words/terms (and or not) to combine words or terms.
Truncation symbols, usually the asterisk * symbol, give you extra searching options for the endings of words.
Wildcard symbols, usually the question mark ? symbol, replaces a letter or letters in the middle of a word.
Phrase searching, to keep words together as a phrase, you usually use the quote marks around the phrase "words together"
Boolean Examples
humpback chub AND colorado: articles must have the words humpback chub and also the word colorado
humpback chub OR gila cypha: articles may have EITHER the words humpback chub OR gila cypha
IT is always a good idea to search for both the common name and the scientific name for an animal, plant, organism, etc.
dolphins NOT Miami: articles must have the word dolphins but CAN NOT have the word Miami (NOT is very powerful, be careful how it is used in your searches.)
Truncation Examples
wol* searches for wolf, wolves, wolverine
agricultur* searches for agriculture, agriculturally, agricultural
Wildcard Examples
wom?n searches for woman or women
col?r searches for color or colour
Phrase Examples
"global warming" keeps the words together so articles must have these two words side-by-side, global warming
Searching for Articles in a Specific Journal
Sometimes you may want to search for articles on a topic or subject, but also limit by journal. For example, you may just want articles about food webs in the journal: Ecological Monographs.
The search example below is from CAB Abstracts. To limit your search to journal articles from the journal: Ecological Monographs, you type in the journal name then in the right hand box, select SO Source

In Web of Science, the search looks very similar

--
Subject Guide |
Allison Level132 Morgan Library
970.491.3918
E-mail Allison
Subjects:
Natural Resources, Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, Forest, Rangeland, and Watershed Stewardship, Geosciences, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, CSU Extension, Soil & Crop Sciences, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait