E-Reference Top Picks
Instead of wikipedia, use the following online sources for science topics and credible references.
- Access Science
McGraw-Hill science and technology online encyclopedia - Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology More than just chemistry, articles on environmental, materials science, and other areas
- Knovel Library Search earth sciences, sustainable energy, biochemistry/biology, and other science areas
- Gale Virtual Reference, includes some science Ecology and some science reference books included
- CHEMnetBASE Data, tables, and more from CRC's premier chemistry references including a chemical dictionary, chemical properties, etc.
Reference/Encyclopedia Resources for Soil & Crop Sciences
Reference Books
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Most of these books are located in the Morgan Library Reference collection:
- AGRICOLA Subject Category Codes useful for more advanced searching in the database
- Dictionary of agriculture / editor, Alan Stephens. 2nd ed. S411 .D573 1998 REFERENCE SOUTH
- Dictionary of agriculture : from abaca to zoonosis / Kathryn L. Lipton. S411 .L55 1995 REFERENCE
Online - Dictionary of agriculture: from abaca to zoonosis - Dictionary of soils = Dictionnaire des sols / G. Plaisance and A. Cailleux. A 1.2:S 683/3 DOCUMENTS
- Glossary of crop science terms / [Robert F. Barnes and James B.Beard, ed.] SB45 .G57 1992 REFERENCE SOUTH
- Handbook of plant and crop stress / edited by Mohammad Pessa. 2nd ed. SB112.5 .H363 1999 REFERENCE
- Handbook of soil science / editor-in-chief, Malcolm E. Sumner. S591.H23 2000 REFERENCE
- Nutrient deficiencies and toxicities in crop plants / edited by William F. Bennett. SB742 .N86 1993 REFERENCE
- Practical pedology : studying soils in the field / Stuart G. McRae. S591 .M38 1988
- Full text from Natural Resources Conservation Service (in PDF format)
- Soil Taxonomy, 2nd. ed.
- Keys to Soil Taxonomy, 9th ed, 2003
- Errata Sheet for "Keys to Soil Taxonomy", 1998
Books & Other Key Natural Resources Reference Sources
Morgan Library Reference books may be used in the library. Below is a list of a few selected titles.
- Encyclopedia of hydrological sciences GB655 .E527 2005 REF.
- Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences. GC9 .E58 2001 REF. 6 vol set
- Encyclopedia of Environmetrics. GE45.S73 E53 2002 REF. 4 vols.
- Encyclopedia of the Biosphere : a guide to the world's ecosystems. GF75.B5613 1999 REF
- Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change. GE149 .E443 2002 REF 5 vols.
- Great events from history II. Ecology and the environment series. GE150 .G72 1995 REF
- Encyclopedia of geology. QE5 .E516 2005 REF 5 vol.
- Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America / edited by Walton Beacham, Frank V. Castronova, Suzanne Sessine. QH77.N56 B43 2001.REF
- Rivers of North America QH102 .R58 2005 REF
- Encyclopedia of biodiversity / editor-in-chief, Simon Asher Levin. QH541.15.B56 E53 2001. REF
- Insects and diseases of woody plants of the Central Rockies. Colorado State University Cooperative Extension. S41 .Z22 no.506A 2000 REF
- Encyclopedia of water science. Edited by B.A. Stewart, Terry A. Howell. S494.5.W3 E54 2003 REF also electronic.
- North American wildland plants : a field guide. James Stubbendieck, Stephan L. Hatch, L.M. Landholt. SB193.3.N67S88 2003
- North American Range Plants / James Stubbendieck, Stephan L. Hatch, and Charles H. Butterfield. ; illustrated by Kelly L. Rhodes, Bellamy Parks Jansen, and Debra Meier. 5th ed. SB193.3.N67 S88 1997 REF
- Range Plant Handbook / prepared by United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service. SB193.3.U5 R36 1988 REF
- Weeds of the West / [authors, Tom D. Whitson, editor ; Larry C. Burrill ... [et al.] SB612.W3 W44 2000 REF
Subject Guide |
Allison LevelContact Info:
132 Morgan Library
970.491.3918
E-mail Allison
Subjects:
Natural Resources, Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, Forest, Rangeland, and Watershed Stewardship, Geosciences, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, CSU Extension, Soil & Crop Sciences, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management
132 Morgan Library
970.491.3918
E-mail Allison
Subjects:
Natural Resources, Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, Forest, Rangeland, and Watershed Stewardship, Geosciences, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, CSU Extension, Soil & Crop Sciences, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait