Learning to Search
These quick tutorials show you tips for search strategies.
- Boolean Basics (useing AND, OR NOT) in database searches Link your search terms together for better results
- Advanced Boolean Power searching ideas
- Truncation (using * ) Wildcard characters such as * give you more searching options. Use wol* to search for wolf, wolves, wolverine
Boolean Search Example
Example: I am looking for articles that talk about the control of the spread of whirling disease.
Bad search strategy: typing in all of this... I want scholarly articles on whirling disease spread
Good search strategy: (whirling disease OR myxobolus cerebralis) AND (control OR spread)
For scholarly articles on whirling disease: search these databases
1. Web of Science or
2. Aquatic Science & Fisheries
Is this journal, Scholarly/Peer Reviewed?
I need to find scholarly/peer reviewed articles for my paper.
What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?
- Journal articles written by experts, faculty, or scholars on the topic
- The information has been evaluated by editors or other experts
- Articles most always contain a bibliography documenting sources
If you want to check to see if the journal is scholarly or peer-reviewed, search the journal title in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Question: Is "Ecology" a scholarly/peer reviewed journal?
If you look it up in Ulrich's, this is what you find...

Answer: Yes, Ecology is a refereed journal.
Getting Started Looking for Journal Articles
WAIT-don't just search Google. If you're looking for articles, use Research Databases .
When you are in the databases, click on the
button to find articles with full-text.
Look at the list of Frequently Used Databases below to get started. There are tutorials if you would like more help. Contact your librarian for more assistance.
The Databases & Scholarly Journals page will also provide good information.
Frequently Used Databases
Search these Natural Resources Databases for journal articles (most articles in these databases are scholarly/peer reviewed). For a complete list of databases,
see the Find Electronic Resources & Databases page
- Web of Science
Scholarly/peer reviewed journals in all areas of natural resources, agriculture, sciences, and more. Start here for the best scientific articles, but not all journals are indexed in WOS. - CAB Abstracts
Mix of scholarly/peer reviewed journals, book chapters, proceedings in natural resources, forestry, agriculture, more. - Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts
Aquatic resources and fisheries articles are indexed. Some scholarly journals, some general aquatic articles and also some government reports. - Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Ecological subjects covered with a mix of scholarly journals, general articles, and conference proceedings.
Find It @ CSU
Most CSU databases have an icon of Find It @ CSU, with the list of journal articles. You can click on the icon to see if we have an online version of the journal.
Find It looks like: 
Question: I found this article citation in Web of Science, is the article online?

To find out, when you are in the Web of Science database, click on the Find It @ CSU icon, you then see this page.
Click on the red "go" button to

The "go" takes you to a Webpage table of contents and you now can select to view the article:
abstract, full-text, or PDF (if you have these 3 options, select to view the article in PDF)

Answer: YES the article you want is available online for CSU faculty, staff, or affiliates.
Here is a sneak peek of the PDF article:

Good Search Strategies Make a Difference
Searching in the research databases can be a bit tricky. If you keep a few tips in mind, you will create better search strategies.
Boolean logic or boolean searching (named after George Boole) uses logical words/terms (and or not) to combine words or terms.
Truncation symbols, usually the asterik * symbol, give you extra searching options for the endings of words.
Wildcard symbols, usually the question mark ? symbol, replaces a letter or letters in the middle of a word.
Phrase searching, to keep words together as a phrase, you usually use the quote marks around the phrase "words together"
Searching by author, sometimes you search by last name, then use ONLY initials; other times you can use lastname, first name. Web of Science uses author lastname, FI MI (last name, first initial middle initial: Wilson, AB)
Boolean Examples
humpback chub AND colorado: articles must have the words humpback chub and also the word colorado
humpback chub OR gila cypha: articles may have EITHER the words humpback chub OR gila cypha
IT is always a good idea to search for both the common name and the scientific name for an animal, plant, organism, etc.
dolphins NOT Miami: articles must have the word dolphins but CAN NOT have the word Miami (NOT is very powerful, be careful how it is used in your searches.)
Truncation Examples
wol* searches for wolf, wolves, wolverine
agricultur* searches for agriculture, agriculturally, agricultural
Wildcard Examples
wom?n searches for woman or women
col?r searches for color or colour
Phrase Examples
"global warming" keeps the words together so articles must have these two words side-by-side, global warming
Author Examples
Be careful when you search databases for an author. Sometimes the databases use last name and first name, sometimes they use last name and just the first initial and middle initial. For example if you are searching for articles by Dr. Barry Noon you might search by:
Noon, Barry
Noon B
Noon B* (the * is if you don't know the middle initial of their name, the * acts as a "wild card")
Subject Guide |
Allison Level132 Morgan Library
970.491.3918
E-mail Allison
Subjects:
Natural Resources, Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, Forest, Rangeland, and Watershed Stewardship, Geosciences, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, CSU Extension, Soil & Crop Sciences, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait