Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Skip to content

Admin Sign In 

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Resources  Tags: biochemistry molecular_biology chemistry proteomics metabolomics bioinformatics  

Guide to information resources
Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/biochemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Databases             Print Page
  
 

Primary Databases

Web of Science (1900-present)
Provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

 

Medline via PubMed / Medline (OVID) (1966-present)
MEDLINE encompasses information from the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. More than 8.7 million records from more than 3,600 journals are indexed, and abstracts are included for about 67% of the records. Also indexed in SciFinder.  Using this link to PubMed will enable the FindIt@CSU button, which will link users directly to CSU's online subscriptions (even if they are off-campus) and ILL form.  Medline(OVID) provides an enhanced searching scheme.

Biological Sciences (1982-present)

This interdisciplinary database is comprised of over 20 smaller niche databases and offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Databases searched include:

  • Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C)
  • Animal Behavior Abstracts
  • ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources
  • ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts
  • ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts
  • Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
  • Biological Sciences
  • Biotechnology Research Abstracts
  • Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts
  • Chemoreception Abstracts
  • CSA Neurosciences Abstracts
  • Ecology Abstracts  
  • Endocrinology Abstracts
  • Genetics Abstracts
  • Human Genome Abstracts
  • Immunology Abstracts
  • Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
  • Nucleic Acids Abstracts
  • Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts
  • Toxicology Abstracts
  • Virology and AIDS Abstracts   

SciFinder Scholar Web Edition (1907-present)

SciFinder is provides online access to the information contained in Chemical Abstracts and is the premier database for chemists. The CSU Libraries have three 24-hour simultaneous users, so only three people at a time can use SciFinder. Since there are a limited number of users, you may occasionally be denied access. If this happens, wait awhile and try again. You must register for an account from an on-campus computer before you can use SciFinder.

 

 

Secondary Databases

Beilstein
As the cornerstone database to organic chemistry, the CrossFire Beilstein database is essential for generating new leads, planning synthetic routes (including starting materials and intermediates), determining bioactivity and physical properties, and ascertaining the environmental fates of compounds.   Provides comprehensive coverage of reactions, structures, and properties in organic chemistry  and contains information on over 8 million compounds and more than 5 million chemical reactions.

 

 

Chat with Michelle

Profile ImageMichelle Wilde


Contact Info:
Physical Sciences Librarian
Associate Professor
Colorado State University Libraries
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019
(970) 491-1860
Email

My Twitter Updates


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait