Apparel & Design

Research Sources @ CSU:

Highlight: WGSN news/info/fashion images. (First time and users who haven't logged into the WGSN database for 90 days need to activate an account on https://www.wgsn.com/accounts/edu/.)

Other pages on this page, also linked on the left:

• CSU Department of Design and Merchandising Website
• Interior Design
• Lighting Design
• Pathfinder for AM250
• Historic Costume (1900-1975)
• Key Journals for Design & Merchandising and Quick & Dirty APA reference & citation within text examples (PDF)

American Apparel and Footware Association (AAFA)

American Marketing Association (AMA)

American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works

Costume Society of America

Canadian Apparel Federation

International Association of Clothing Designers and Executives

International Textile and Apparel Association

United States Association of Importers of Textiles and Apparel

Fairchild Books

From the publishers of Women's Wear Daily, and a number of trade periodicals, an extensive database of book titles on fashion and merchandising.

Fashiondex

Publications in the areas of retailing and textile & apparel technology.

Textile Museum Shop

Online database of over 500 titles on textiles and related subjects sponsored by the Textile Museum, Washington, D.C.

FashionSchools.com

Directory of Fashion Design Schools in the United States

Academy of Art University 

California

Colorado State University Department of Design and Merchandising

Cornell University Department of Fiber Science & Apparel Design

Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising

FIT- SUNY Fashion Institute of Technology

Indiana University Bloomington Dept. of Apparel Merchandising and Interior Design

Iowa State University Dept. of Apparel, Educational Studies & Hospitality Management

Michigan State University Dept. of Human Environment and Design

North Carolina State University College of Textiles

North Dakota State University at Fargo Dept. of Apparel, Design, Facility and Hospitality Management

Ohio University Family and Consumer Science Education

Rhode Island School of Design Apparel Design

Savannah College of Art and Design Fashion Dept.

Missouri State University Clothing, Textiles & Fashion Merchandising

Texas Women's University Dept. of Fashion and Textiles

University of Delaware Dept. of Fashion and Apparel Studies

University of Minnesota Design, Housing & Apparel

University of Missouri Textile & Apparel Management Dept.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro Dept. of Consumer, Apparel, & Retail Studies

University of North Texas School of Visual Arts

University of Wisconsin at Stout Dept. of Apparel Design and Development

WGSN.

Forecasting and trend services. Starting Nov. 1, 2017 a CSU ID will be required to use this database. See WGSN Education Guide below for details.  First time and users who haven't logged into the database for 90 days need to activate an account on https://www.wgsn.com/accounts/edu/

WWD (Women's Wear Daily).

Fashion.net

Updated postings usually for the current month. Also includes a section on getting a job in fashion.

Women's Wear Daily

Fashion industry classified advertisements from the WWD Website- you will need to register for free to access the classified ads.

Art and Life in Africa (ALA)

thorough site in content and in indexing, from the University of Iowa Dept. of Art and Art History with information on peoples and countries of the continent.

Bata Shoe Museum, Tornonto

Includes images, maps, background and history of footwear through the ages. See the Ethnological, Circumpolar, and North American Indian sections, available from the Collections Page.

Costumer's Manifesto

Personal wiki with extensive links to sources for dress and costume history. Tara Maginnis.

Fashion Encyclopedia (© 2016 Advameg, Inc.)

Has topics listed in groupings from A-Z, time periods, and listings of models.

History of the Kimono

Kimono Hypertext from JPNET (Japanese Language and Culture Network) at MIT includes extensive images of the male, female, and child kimono.

Designers A-Z Women's Fashions

(About.com) has an A-Z index of designers and well as Fashion Design Photo Gallery.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

(updated biannually) Comprehensive index to 12 million biographical sketches. Check Morgan Library holdings for individual sources. Available on campus or remotely to CSU faculty, staff and students.

Garment Collection.

Columbia College Chicago. Image of clothes. Search by designer, origin, keyword, origin, from between specific years, and type (hat, etc.); this may bring up only one item.

Historical Clothing Collection.

ScholarsArchive at Brigham Young University. "The collection is organized by period as well as gender, and other identification. Visual images, accompanied by written descriptions, have been electronically archived under five main categories: Women, Men, Children, Intimate Clothing, and Accessories. The dates of clothing artifacts are registered from the late eighteenth century through the 1990’s."

American Apparel and Footware Association (AAFA)

Lists numerous links to industry news and information, consumer information and events calendar.

Census Bureau

Retail and wholesale trade data, foreign trade, economic census and population census, all full text, mainly in .pdf files.

Fashion Windows

Includes numerous sources for visual merchandising, display and designer information, sponsored by a private company of the same name.

National Retail Federation

Includes background, membership and current news for the organization as well as industry news, links to relevant government publications and sources for the independent retailer.

Office of Textiles and Apparel (OTEXA)

Trade news and data from the U.S. Department of Commerce - International Trade Administration.

American Textile History Museum

CSU Gustafson Gallery

CSU Historic Costume and Textile Museum

Metropolitan Museum of Art (do a search for textiles)

Museum at FIT [Fashion Institute of Technology, NY]

Fashion Museum Bath [England]

Philadelphia Museum of Art

Texas Fashion Collection at the University of North Texas

The Textile Museum

Caring for Your Treasures

From the American Institute for the Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works, provides detailed instructions for decorative and plastic arts as well as a specific section on textiles (link to html, also in PDF).

Caring for Your Textiles

From Victoria & Albert Museum.

Caring for Your Textile Heirlooms (PDF)

From University of Kentucy-College of Agriculture 12 pages. Detailed with images and bibliography.

Fabriclink

Includes an entire Fabric Care Center as well as a Consumer Guides (e.g. 10 Tips to Make Your Clothes Last), and an online Textile Dictionary, Performance Term Glossary, and Fabric-isms.

Costume Gallery

Costume Page

Costumer's Manifesto

Digital Fashion Collections [University of Washington Libraries]

Fashion-Era [Fashion History & Costume History Eras, Victorians to Haute Couture]

Fashion Net

FIT Library Internet Guides [Fashion Institute of Technology]

Textile Institute

Textile Source

Textile Web

Academic Search Premier (Date coverage varies by title)

Large database with subject specific and general/interdisciplinary sources on a broad range of topics. Includes images and a number of full text publications in text-only format or PDF format.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (1983-present; updated monthly)

Over 1 million records from 600 research publications, including civil and architectural engineering and textile science.

Art Abstracts (1984-present)

Covers apparel design, design and merchandising, interoir design, and textiles.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (updated biannually)

Comprehensive index to 12 million biographical sketches. Check Morgan Library holdings for individual sources.

Business Source Premier (coverage varies)

Database to citations and 2,710 full text scholarly journals and periodicals in business and related fields such as advertising, economics, finance, marketing, management, merchandising and consumer sciences.

Contemporary Authors (Updates correspond to print edition).

Culled from the print Contemporary Authors Series. Over 100,000 modern authors active prior to 1960 are indexed. Information is drawn from the entire Contemporary Authors print series (see: Z1224 .C613 REF). Select a Subject/Genre search to narrow search to Art, Architecture, Crafts, or Fashion.

Fabric Marketing Research Database

Free online database divided by apparel and fabric for company listings in the United States and Canada. Quick Search and Advanced Search options are available.

ThomasNet

Online version of the print source (see: T12 .T6 REF) for locating manufacturers in the United States and Canada.It includes brand name listings, product headings, and direct links to online suppliers.

Contemporary designers / editor, Sara Pendergast ; advisers, Arnold Aronson ... [et al.]. Publisher Detroit : St. James Press. Edition 3rd ed. REF NK1166 .C66 1997

Contemporary Fashion Contemporary fashion / editor, Richard Martin. Publisher New York : St. James Press. 1st ed. REF TT505.A1 C66 1995

Costume language : a dictionary of dress terms / compiled and illustrated by Stephanie Curtis Davies. Malvern : Cressrelles, REF GT507 .D38 1994.

The costume timeline : 5000 years of fashion history / Claudia Müller. New York, N.Y. : Thames and Hudson. REF GT513 .M85 1993.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion/ Valerie Steele. Farmington Hills, MI: Charles Schribner & Sons. REF GT 507 .E53 2005.

Garment and textile dictionary / George L. Conway. Albany : Delmar Publishers. REF TT494 .C66 1997.

Fairchild's dictionary of fashion / Charlotte Mankey Calasibetta. New York : Fairchild Books. REF TT503 .C34 2003.

Reference book of men's vintage clothing, 1900-1919 / Kathleen M. La Barre, Kay D. La Barre. IMPRINT Portland, OR : La Barre Books. REF GT615 .L28 1992.

Reference book of women's vintage clothing, 1920-1929 / Kathleen M. La Barre, Kay D. La Barre. Portland (7136 SE 87th, Portland 97266) : La Barre Books. REF GT615 .L33 1994.

SGMA sport apparel dictionary of performance fibers, fabrics and finishes. North Palm Beach, FL : Sporting Goods Manufacturers Association. REF TS1767 .S56 1997.

St. James fashion encyclopedia : a survey of style from 1945 to the present / [editor], Richard Martin. Publisher Detroit : Visible Ink. REF TT505.A1 S7 1997.

Thames and Hudson dictionary of fashion and fashion designers / Georgina O'Hara Callan. New York : Thames and Hudson. REF GT507 .O53 1998.

Apparel contractors, manufacturers, importers & exporters. New Providence, NJ : International Reference Guide Pub., REF HD9940.A2 A66.

Directory of apparel specialty stores. Tampa, FL : Business Guides, 2002. REF HD9940.U3 D459.

Fairchild's textile & apparel financial directory. New York, Fairchild Publications. REF HD9853 .F2 1999.

National register of apparel manufacturers. Men's and boy's wear. latest ed. in REF HD 9940 .U3 N315.

National register of apparel manufacturers. Women's and children's wear. latest ed. in REF HD9940.U3 N316.

SGMA sport apparel dictionary of performance fibers, fabrics and finishes. North Palm Beach, FL : Sporting Goods Manufacturers Association, c1997. TS1767 .S56 1997.

Sheldon's major stores & chains & resident buying offices. Fairview, N.J. : Phelon, Sheldon & Marsar, c1994- REF HF5429.3 .S52.

Design history : a students' handbook / edited by Hazel Conway. Publisher London ; Boston : Allen & Unwin, 1987. NK1510 .D473 1987.

Handbook of textile marketing / compiled and edited by Jean L. Woodruff and J. Michael McDonald. Publisher New York : Fairchild Publications, c1982. HD 9855 H36.

Made in America : the business of apparel and sewn products manufacturing / Sue Pekarsky Gary and Connie Ulasewicz. Publisher Sebastopol, Calif. : GarmentoSpeak, c1998. 2nd ed. TT496.U6 G36 1998

The textile conservator's manual / Sheila Landi. Publisher Oxford ; Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, 1992. NK8804.5 .L36.

Textile industry : an information sourcebook / by J. Thomas Vogel and Barbara W. Lowry. Publisher Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1989. REF Z7914.T3 V63 1989.

Textiles : a handbook for designers / Marypaul Yates. Publisher New York : W.W. Norton, c1996. Edition Rev. ed. TS1475 .Y37 1996.

1. America's textiles international. TS 1300 .A566
2. Apparel industry magazine. HD 9940 .U3A635
3. Apparel international. TT 490 .A66
4. Ars textrina. TS 1490 .A77
5. Brandweek. HF 5801 .A48
6. Canadian home economics journal. TX 1 .C36
7. Clothing and textiles research journal. TX 340 .C57
8. Colorado city retail sales by Standard Industrial Classification. HF 5429.4 .C6C62a 17340 4
9. Colorado state and county retail sales by Standard. HF 5429.4 .C6C62b
10. CSA news. (Costume Society of America) GT 605 .C6a
11. Discount merchandiser. HF 5001 .D2
12. Dress. GT 500 .D7
13. DSN retailing today. HF 5001 .D47
14. Family and consumer sciences research journal. TX 1 .H625
15. Fashion theory. TT 500 .F37
16. Fiberarts. TT 697 .F52
17. Fiber organon. HD 9929.5 .U6T4
18. Gentlemen's quarterly. TT 570 .A6
19. Glamour. TT 500 .G46
20. Good housekeeping (New York, N.Y.). TX 1 .G7
21. Harper's bazaar. TT 500 .H3 GGG-S
22. Human ecology. HM 206 .H8
23. International Journal of Market Research. HF 5415.2 .M334a
24. ITAA newsletter. TS 1300 .A112
25. Journal of customer service in marketing & management. HF 5415.5 .J68
26. Journal of consumer studies and home economics. TX 1 .J68
27. Journal of family and consumer sciences. TX 1 .J7
28. Journal of international consumer marketing. HF 5415.2 .J655
29. Journal of marketing research. HF 5415 .A2J62
30. Journal of retailing. HF 5001 .J65
31. Juvenile merchandising. HD 9999 .I473U54
32. Mirabella. TT 500 .M37
33. Ornament. TT 860 .B3
34. Retailing today. HF 5429.3 .R5
35. Sporting goods business. HD 9992 .U5S65
36. Stores. HF 5429 .S82
37. Textile Asia. TS 1399 .T44
38. Textile history. HD 9850.1 .T52
39. Textile horizons (London, England). TS 1300 .T2166
40. Textiles magazine. TS 1300 .T5
41. Textile progress. TS 1300 .T28
42. Textile research journal. TS 1300 .T42
43. Textile world. TS 1300 .T36
44. Textilforum. TT 699 .D48
45. Visual merchandising & store design. HF 5845 .D5
46. Vogue. TT 500 .V7
47. Vogue patterns. TT 500 .V718
48. Women's wear daily. HD 9940 .U4W