ERHS320 - Environmental Health-Water and Food Safety: Home

Library Research

The projects for EH320 are intense, so start your research ahead of time!  The CSU Library has ample resources to support your research, but in some cases we will need to order information for you from other sources.

Not sure how to plan your research? 

Try the CSU Libraries Assignment Calculator to create a research timeline.

Can't find what you need at the library?  That's no excuse! 

If the library does not have the information you need, you can order it from Interlibrary Loan.  This service is a fast, FREE way to get your resources.

APA Style

Help with Citing Resources in APA

Databases

If you are looking for journal articles about the effects of water quality on the health of humans, search:

  • Medline via PubMed / Medline(EBSCO)(1966-present)
  • Web of Science (1900-present)
    Provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

If you need to find articles about water quality or the environmental effects of a contaminent, try:

  • CAB Abstracts (1973-present) & CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972)
    Covers  literature in the applied life sciences, including human nutrition, agriculture, food science, the environment, and more. Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, theses, some government documents and reports, etc.
  • Web of Science (1900-present)
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Provides indexing and abstracting of journals, conference proceedings, and other publications. Areas of coverage: water resources and supply; engineering; hydrology; agriculture; water planning and management.

To find information about food safety:

  • Academic Search Premier is a good source for information about FSMA(Food Safety Modernization Act) and includes scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Web of Science (1900-present)
  • CAB Abstracts (1973-present) & CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972)
    Covers  literature in the applied life sciences, including human nutrition, agriculture, food science, the environment, and more. Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, theses, some government documents and reports, etc.

To find information about laws and legal opinions, try searching:

  • Lexis Nexis Legal
    Search for laws or look at articles from law reviews, which provide you with information about the legal aspects of water.

If you need information about the toxicity of a substance, try searching:

  • Toxic Substances Portal from the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
    This governmental website will provide you with information about the toxic effects of substances on humans.  (NOT journal articles)

Supporting Class Documents