Forestry Research Resources
| Home Print Page |
Selected How-To Guides & Handouts (examples from natural resources, not just forestry)
The documents listed below are selected handouts/guides on topics of interest to researchers. Contact Allison if you have questions about any of the handouts.
Follow me on Twitter
Search, Learn, Explore
Welcome to the research guide for forestry. Most resources linked off this guide are available online for CSU faculty, staff, students, or affiliates. Resources not online are usually located in the CSU Morgan Library. We are moving part of the book collection and the government documents collection due to the rennovation, ask at the information desk if you are having trouble locating the resources.
Visit the Natural Resources Portal for more links to research information.
If you are off-campus, connect to the CSU secure server, then you will have access to library resources, online journals, e-books, databases and more. go to https://secure.colostate.edu ; log-on with your EID, then clickon CSU Libraries under Web Bookmarks
More about Secure Access Gateway SSL VPN
More about EZ Proxy
Do you need to remote in to CNR?
See: http://warnercnr.colostate.edu/home/resources/information-technology
Important Databases for Forestry
Below are the top ranked and most commonly used databases for this subject area. Most, but not all, of the articles in these databases are scholarly/peer reviewed. For a complete list of databases, see the Find Electronic Resources & Databases page. You may also search by subject on the Databases page, select forestry/forest sciences.
Remember if you are connecting from off-campus, you must sign in with your PIN or CSU Secure network to access databases, online journals, and E-books.
- Web of Science Scholarly/peer reviewed journals in all areas of natural resources, agriculture, sciences, and more. Start here for the best scientific articles, but not all journals are indexed in WOS.
- CAB Abstracts Mix of scholarly/peer reviewed journals, book chapters, proceedings in natural resources, forestry, agriculture, more.
- Treesearch (United States Forest Service Database)Online system for locating and delivering publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Includes research monographs, conference proceedings, and some journal articles
- FS Info the National Forest Service Library CatalogThe National Forest Service Library catalog (FS INFO) is an online index of natural resources publications, including Forest Service literature. FS INFO provides citations to forestry and forestry-related natural resource literature, links to full text (pdf) are provided when available
- Forestry CompendiumA global compilation of knowledge on forestry for practical decision-making. Includes information on trees, seed suppliers, pests and countries, and aids for tree species selection
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution ManagementBroader than just forestry, this database includes journals, conference proceedings, reports, and more.
- AGRICOLAContains bibliographic records related to agriculture from the USDA's National Agricultural Library. Indexing can lag behind CAB Abstracts, so also search CAB.
- CAB Abstracts Archive Same content as CAB Abstracts, date coverage 1910-1972.
- Environmental History BibliographyProduced by the Forest History Society, the Environmental History Bibliography covers approximately 40,000 annotated citations to literature dealing with environmental, and forest, history
- University of Minnesota Forestry IndexesThe UM Forestry Library indexes sub-topics within forestry: Social Sciences in Forestry; Trail Planning, Construction and Maintenance; Tropical Conservation and Development; Urban Forestry. Articles are not full-text but CSU may provide access. Find It @ CSU is NOT linked to this database.
- AGRIS and CARISAGRIS is an international cooperative system that provides citations to journal articles, reports, and other documents in the agricultural sciences. CARIS is an international cooperative system that links to forestry, fisheries, and other topics in natural resources and agriculture.
- Forestry Inventory and Analysis National ProgramDatasets from the US Forest Service
Science Cluster Contact |
Contact Info Please email questions and comments to: library_sciencecluster@mail.colostate.edu If you are working on an assignment, please include the class number and a brief description of your project. Send Email |
Welcome
Welcome to the Science Cluster Libguide.
Each librarian within the CSU Libraries Science Cluster serves as the primary library contact for a group of departments and also acts as the College Liaison to a specific College within the University. Science Cluster librarians also share liaison responsibilities for University Colleges and departments currently lacking a primary liaison.
The Science Cluster currently provides the following services for departments and colleges without permanent library liaisons:
- Reference/research support for students, faculty and staff
- Library instruction/classes
- Accepts recommendations for library materials (purchase requests for books, journals, and other resources)
- New program/accreditation reviews
Questions and service requests should be directed to the Science Cluster email address. This email address is being monitored during business hours, Monday-Friday.
Science Cluster Liaison Librarians:
- Mike Culbertson
Librarian, College of Engineering
Government Documents Librarian - Allison Level
Interim Coordinator of Collections
Liaison to Departments of Fish, Wildlife & Conservation Biology and Ecosystem Science & Sustainability
Other WCNR Departments currently shared with the Science Cluster - Michelle Wilde
Librarian, Veterinary Medicine, Biomedical & Physical Sciences.
Liaison to the College of Natural Sciences and the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences


Loading...
