IACUC Alternatives Search Help
CSU Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) website.
| Home Print Page |
Animal Alternative Requirement
If your protocol involves procedures at Pain Categories D and E, you must conduct a literature search in a minimum of two databases which demonstrates:
- the work is not unnecessarily duplicative of previously documented work
- the fewest number of the lowest order of animals will be used to obtain valid results
- alternatives to EACH potentially painful/distressful procedure proposed have been sought.
Databases
Key databases for searching for animal alternatives.
- CAB Abstracts (1973-present)Life & biological sciences, agriculture, environmental science, forestry, human nutrition, & veterinary medicine. Also available: CAB Abstracts Archive(1910-1972)
- Medline via Pubmed Users also have access to
Medline (OVID) which offers an enhanced searching interface. - Web of Science
- SciFinder Scholar Before using SciFinder Web Edition, you must register for SciFinder Web Edition
SciFinder finds references to biomedical research using the CAplusSM and MEDLINE databases and allows you to search by chemical or substance.
Databases by Subject
The CSU Libraries provide access to many databases that can help fulfill the search requirement for animal alternatives. To help you get started, here is a list of the most relevant library databases for some important categories of animal research.
Please Note: PubMed is a free version of Medline. You may use either Medline or PubMed for your search, not both. Accessing PubMed from the links below will activate the FindIt@CSU button and provide you with complete access to the CSU Libraries' online journals and ILL services.
Agricultural Animal Husbandry & Production Techniques Instruction
Primary: CAB Abstracts, Agricola, Web of Science
Secondary: Biological Sciences, Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
Animal Science Research: Includes Feed Trials, Production Efficiency, Herd Health, Metabolism
Primary: CAB Abstracts, Agricola, Web of Science
Secondary: Biological Sciences, Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
Basic Biology
Primary: CAB Abstracts, Web of Science, Medline via PubMed or Medline (OVID), Biological Sciences
Secondary: Biological Sciences, Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
Biomedical Sciences Basic & Applied Research for Human & Animal Health: Includes Oncology, Infectious Disease, Reproduction, Physiology, Neurology, Orthopedics, Cardiology, Endocrinology, Opthalmology
Primary: Medline via PubMed or Medline (OVID), Web of Science, CAB Abstracts,
ALTBIB (Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research & Testing)
Secondary: Biological Sciences, Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
Clinical Trials—veterinary and human
Primary: Medline via PubMed or Medline (OVID), Web of Science, CAB Abstracts
Secondary: Biological Sciences, Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
Drug Discovery
Primary: Medline via PubMed or Medline (OVID), Web of Science,
ALTBIB (Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research & Testing)
SciFinder (SciFinder offers searching of Chemical Abstracts by chemical, structure, reaction - includes Medline records)
Veterinary Teaching/Laboratory Animal Personnel Teaching
Primary: Medline via PubMed or Medline (OVID), Web of Science, CAB Abstracts, NORINA (Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives), ERIC (education database)
Secondary: Biological Sciences, Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
Wildlife Management - reptiles, amphibians, and fish
Primary: Web of Science, CAB Abstracts, Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts All Sections (ASFA), Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Secondary: Biological Sciences, Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
Wildlife Management – birds and mammals
Primary: Web of Science, CAB Abstracts, Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Secondary: Biological Sciences,Medline via PubMed or Medline (OVID), Biological Abstracts (1969-2009 not updated)
A complete list of library databases by subject can be found on the Find Electronic Resources & Databases page.
Animal Alternatives Training
April 18 & 21, 2011 Animal Alternatives Training by Kristina Adams, USDA, NAL, Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC)
Contact Information
For help constructing a research strategy, contact:
Michelle Wilde
Librarian, Veterinary Medicine, Biomedical & Physical Sciences
(970) 491-1860
Michelle.Wilde@colostate.edu
Dennis Sylvain
Veterinary Medical Center Library Manager
(970) 297-1213
dennis.sylvain@colostate.edu
For help navigating eProtocol or questions regarding the alternatives search requirements and the IACUC protocol review process, please feel free to contact:
Bill Moseley, MA, CPIA
Senior IACUC Coordinator
(970) 491-8060
Elaine Kim
IACUC Coordinator
(970) 491-0236

Loading...
