Natural Resources Research
| Home Print Page |
Selected How-To Guides & Handouts
The documents listed below are selected handouts/guides on topics of interest to researchers. Contact Allison if you have questions about any of the handouts.
Acuna-Allesina-Kording Citation Formula
In late September there was a new citation metric discussed in Nature. The Acuna-Allesina-Kording formula builds on the h-index.
Future impact: Predicting scientific success
Daniel E. Acuna,,Stefano Allesina & Konrad P. Kording
Nature 489,201–202(13 September 2012)doi:10.1038/489201a
http://quicklinks.library.colostate.edu/?q=sbzrzu (link works for CSU)
DOI 10.1038/489201a
New Formula Beats Citation Index and Can Predict Success, 3 scientists say
http://chronicle.com/blogs/percolator/scientists-offer-new-formula-to-predict-career-success/30912
Search, Learn, & Explore
Welcome to a collection of research guides on a variety of topics. Most resources linked on the guides are available online for Colorado State University faculty, staff, students, or affiliates. Resources not online are located in CSU Morgan Library.
If you are off-campus, connect to the CSU secure server, then you will have access to library resources, online journals, e-books, databases and more. go to https://secure.colostate.edu ; log-on with your EID, then clickon CSU Libraries under Web Bookmarks
More about Secure Access Gateway SSL VPN
More about EZ Proxy
Printing information. You will need money on your RamCard/CSU ID in order to print. More printing information
Are you in the library or off campus and do you need to remote in to WCNR?
See: http://warnercnr.colostate.edu/home/resources/information-technology
Finding Journal Articles Using Databases
Search these Natural Resources Databases for journal articles (most articles in these databases are scholarly/peer reviewed). For a complete list of databases,
see the Find Electronic Resources & Databases page
- Web of Science Scholarly/peer reviewed journals in all areas of natural resources, agriculture, sciences, and more. Start here for the best scientific articles, but not all journals are indexed in WOS.
- CAB Abstracts Mix of scholarly/peer reviewed journals, book chapters, proceedings in natural resources, forestry, agriculture, more.
- CAB Abstracts Archive Same content as CAB Abstracts, date coverage 1910-1972.
- GeoRef Most but not all journals are scholarly/peer reviewed, some conference proceedings and more. Subject focus of geology & geosciences.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts Aquatic resources and fisheries articles are indexed. Some scholarly journals, some general aquatic articles and also some government reports.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide Ecological subjects covered with a mix of scholarly journals, general articles, and conference proceedings.
- AGRICOLA A subject focus of agriculture with a mix of scholarly journals, general/trade publications, and USDA reports. Some content overlap with CAB Abstracts.
Science Cluster Contact |
Contact Info Please email questions and comments to: library_sciencecluster@mail.colostate.edu If you are working on an assignment, please include the class number and a brief description of your project. Send Email |
Welcome
Welcome to the Science Cluster Libguide.
Each librarian within the CSU Libraries Science Cluster serves as the primary library contact for a group of departments and also acts as the College Liaison to a specific College within the University. Science Cluster librarians also share liaison responsibilities for University Colleges and departments currently lacking a primary liaison.
The Science Cluster currently provides the following services for departments and colleges without permanent library liaisons:
- Reference/research support for students, faculty and staff
- Library instruction/classes
- Accepts recommendations for library materials (purchase requests for books, journals, and other resources)
- New program/accreditation reviews
Questions and service requests should be directed to the Science Cluster email address. This email address is being monitored during business hours, Monday-Friday.
Science Cluster Liaison Librarians:
- Mike Culbertson
Librarian, College of Engineering
Government Documents Librarian - Allison Level
Interim Coordinator of Collections
Liaison to Departments of Fish, Wildlife & Conservation Biology and Ecosystem Science & Sustainability
Other WCNR Departments currently shared with the Science Cluster - Michelle Wilde
Librarian, Veterinary Medicine, Biomedical & Physical Sciences.
Liaison to the College of Natural Sciences and the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences


Loading...
