Newspaper and News Sources
|Home Print Page|
The purpose of this guide is to highlight the print and electronic news resources of Colorado State University Libraries and to provide links to selected internet news websites.
Did you know...? The Collegiate Readership Program at CSU provides FREE daily print newspapers to CSU students. http://www.ascsu.colostate.edu/collegiatereadership.aspx
News Databases and Online Sources of News
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) - Indexes only the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and Christian Science Monitor newspapers.
Academic Universe (Lexis Nexis) - Search General News, Today's News, U. S. News, World News, News Wires, News Transcripts, Arts and Sports News, Non-English Language News, Business News, Legal News, University News, and Medical News.
SEARCH HINT: Use the "Guided News Tab" and click on tips for search help.
American Journalism Review - The American Journalism Review provides links to a wide variety of nationwide media resources including newspapers, news/wire services, television affiliates, television networks, radio, and media companies nationwide.
Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection - A project with a goal of indexing 44 Colorado newspapers dating from 1859 to 1880.
Ethnic News Watch - A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Kidon Media Links - Provides links to over 12000 national and international newspapers and other news sources.
Late Breaking News - Link to a web page of resources for late-breaking news.
New York Times Historical - Full-text images covering 1851-2001.
NewsVoyager - A service of the Newspaper Association of America. Provides links to national and international newspapers.
Rocky Mountain Collegian - Online full-text 1990-present.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) - Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current
Wyoming Newspaper Project - A searchable archive of Wyoming's historical newspapers, this database contains approximately 340 different newspapers dating from 1849 to 1922.
Association of Alternative NewsWeeklies - "The Association of Alternative Newsweeklies (AAN) is the trade organization for the alternative newspaper business. AAN is a diverse group of 125 non-daily free-circulation papers that are distributed in all of the major metropolitan areas of North America. Each paper has a distinct, local identity that sets it apart from the mainstream press in its market."
Third World Traveler - puts up magazine articles and book excerpts that offer an alternative view to the corporate media
Center for Media and Public Affairs - The Center for Media and Public Affairs (CMPA) is a nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of the news and entertainment media.
CJR Daily - Media analysis from Columbia Journalilsm Review.
Media Studies - A site from Buffalo State College Communication Department, provides resource links for conducting critical research in Media Studies and American Studies.