Skip to main content

Primo Help: Getting Started

What is Primo?

Primo is our new library catalog and search tool, allowing you to search print and e-books, electronic resources, digital collections and more, all in one place.

Why should I sign in?

Signing in will allow you to:

  • View more complete search results
  • Request books and articles from other libraries (InterLibrary Loan)
  • Renew books and other library materials
  • Create favorites lists
  • Export citations to EndNote Web and other citation management tools

Faculty member?

Try this quick guide created to meet your common needs.

Have Primo feedback?

How do I start searching?

Screenshot of Primo search box on CSU Libraries' homepage with arrow pointing to search scopes dropdown menu

Choose Your Search Option

Choose what you're searching in Primo by using the dropdown menu next to the search box. Then, type in your keywords or search terms and press Enter to start searching.

Click through the remaining images to learn about your search options.

Screenshot of Primo search box on CSU Libraries' homepage with Almost Everything scope selected

Almost Everything

Search millions* of our resources, including print books, e-books, articles, media, maps, and more.

*Millions, yes, but you won’t find everything. To find additional resources, or for more focused searching, use our specialized databases.

Screenshot of Primo search box on CSU Libraries' homepage with Books and More scope selected

Books and more

Search our physical (on site), e-book, digital repository, and Semester at Sea collections.

Screenshot of Primo search box on CSU Libraries' homepage with Articles and More scope selected

Articles and more

Search articles in selected databases indexed by Primo. You will search more databases at once, but not all of the databases to which CSU Libraries provides access.

Screenshot of Primo search box on CSU Libraries' homepage with EBSCO Databases scope selected

EBSCO databases

Search articles in databases indexed by EBSCO, including Academic Search Premier.

Screenshot of Primo search box on CSU Libraries' homepage with Course Reserves scope selected

Course Reserves

Search by course name, instructor, number, or department to find physical/print materials placed on reserve.

I started my search. Now what?

Searching will bring you to the results page of Primo. From this page, you have the option to sign in to your library account, narrow your search in multiple ways using Tweak My Results, click on titles to see full details, pin items to your Favorites, and more.

Primo search results page with limits, title, location information, and more options noted.

chat loading...

What am I searching?

Venn diagram of Primo search scopes coverage

Creative Commons License Original content in this Colorado State University Primo Help Guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Off-Campus Access Ask Us!