Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
 
Research Guides - Allison Level

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Allison Level
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info:
Morgan Library
970.491.3918

E-mail Allison

Guides

BrowZine for CSU
by Allison Level - Last Updated Nov 2, 2013
A browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals. Not all CSU journals are available via BrowZine.
Tags: collections, journals
CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive Database Information
by Allison Level - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
This guide provides handouts and search tips and help for the CAB Abstracts and CAB Archive databases provided by the CSU Libraries
Collaborative Conservation
by Allison Level - Last Updated Aug 17, 2013
A library research guide for the WCNR Center for Collaborative Conservation fellows and researchers interested in conservation or related topics.
CSU Leadership for Public Lands and Cultural Heritage Classes
by Allison Level - Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
library guide for students in the Colorado State University leadership for public lands and cultural heritage program.
Tags: natural resources
Data Curation Profile (DCP) Workshop by Purdue University Libraries
by Allison Level - Last Updated Apr 18, 2011
This workshop will run from 8:30am-5pm on April 29, 2011 at Morgan Library in Fort Collins, CO.
Ecology
by Jocelyn Boice, Jessie Council, Michael Culbertson, Allison Level - Last Updated Jan 14, 2014
ecology and environmental resources
ESS 130 Systems Theory and Information
by Allison Level - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
guide for the ESS 130 System Theory and Information Management class
Fish & Fisheries Research Resources
by Allison Level - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
A guide to fish and aquatic research resources for Colorado State University faculty, staff, students, and researchers.
Tags: aquatic, fish, natural_resources
FW204 - Introduction to Fish Biology
by Allison Level - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
This library research guide was created for the CSU FW204 class.
Tags: aquatic, fish, natural_resources
FW696 - FWCB Graduate Research
by Allison Level - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
A guide created for the FW696 class.
Tags: fish, natural_resources, wildlife_biology
NR622 - Analysis of Environmental Impacts
by Allison Level - Last Updated Sep 12, 2013
Guide for the NR 622 class.
Tags: eis, environmental_impact_statements, law, legal, natural_resources
PDI Searching the Scientific Literature
by Allison Level - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
Guide for the PDI session on searching the scientific literature for non-scientists
Research, Impact Measures, and Scholarship (RIMS)
by Allison Level - Last Updated Jan 23, 2014
A guide for research and scholarship metrics including traditional metrics (Web of Science, H-index) and altmetrics (new alternative metrics).
Tags: atlmetrics, h_index, impact_factor, jcr, metrics, research_scholarship
Wildlife Biology Research Resources
by Allison Level - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
A guide to wildlife biology research information for Colorado State University faculty, students, staff, and researchers. There is another guide for biology.
Tags: biology, natural_resources
WR440 - Watershed Problem Analysis
by Allison Level - Last Updated Aug 15, 2013
Library guide for a class by Dr. Steven Fassnacht
 

Allison's Departments

College Liaison

Departments

 

Instruction at CSU Libraries

Allison teaches library instruction sessions for the following classes and more.

  • Undergraduate natural resources
  • Graduate classes, orientation sessions, and Research Rocks Workshops
  • ...and others by request.
  • Email or call Allison if you would like to arrange a library research presentation

Selected Current Projects

  • AgNIC Colorado Rangelands
  • AgNIC Wildlife Damage Management
  • ARL e-Science Institute
  • Metadata Best Practices Task Force
  • Morgan Library Science Reference
  • AgNIC Coordinating Council
  • AgNIC Mentoring Program
  • USAIN Past President

Research Interests

  • Scholarly Communication and Information Seeking Behavior
  • New forms of collaborative communication such as blogs and wikis
  • Information Literacy in the Sciences
  • BANR Blog (library resources for the biological sciences, agriculture, natural resources)
  • Colorado Agriculture and Rural Life Bibliography Project 1820-1945 (NEH grant)

Education

Current Publications

  • Allison V. Level and Sierra Standish, 2007. "Standing on the Shoulders of Others: Taking an Agricultural Bibliography Project into the Twenty-First Century” Journal of Agricultural and Food Information 8(1) pp.15- 33.
  • Allison V. Level and Joanna Blair, 2006. “Holding On To Our Own: Factors Affecting the Recruitment and Retention of Science Librarians” Science and Technology Libraries 27(1/2) pp. 185-202.
  • Allison V. Level, 2006, “Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.” In Information Literacy Instruction That Works: a guide to teaching by discipline and student population. (ed. Patrick Ragains) Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc, pp.221-231.
  • Catherine Cranston and Allison V. Level, 2006. “Forward Progress One-step at a Time: Instruction Workshops, Assessment, and the Reference Connection” Public Services Quarterly 2(2/3), pp.19-32.
  • Tamera Jahnke and Allison V. Level, 2005 “Expanding your Horizons: A model for Engaging Middle School Girls in Science and Mathematics” Journal of Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering 11(2), 171-180.
  • Allison V. Level and Michelle Mach, 2005. “Peer Mentoring: One Institution’s Approach to Mentoring Academic Librarians” Library Management 26 (6-7), pp. 301-310.
  • Douglas J. Ernest, Allison V. Level, Michael Culbertson, 2005. “Information Seeking Behavior For Recreational Activities and its Implications for Libraries" Reference Services Review 33(1), pp. 88-103.
  • Allison V. Level and Keith Gresham, 2004. Introduction, ACRL Instruction Section. Information Literacy and the Technological Transformation of Higher Education: Papers and Documents for the ACRL Instruction Section Think Tank III. Ann Arbor, MI: Pierian Press, 2004. pp. vii-ix.
  • Allison V. Level and Catherine L. Cranston, 2003, “Enticing Faculty to Library Instruction Workshops”, Academic Exchange Quarterly Winter 2003 7(4), pp. 176-179.
  • Allison Level and Sarah Myers, 2003, “Creating Internal Web Tools for Collection Development.” Collection Building 22(4), pp.162-166 .
 
 
Description

  Loading...