This is the "Home" page of the "Scifinder Web Edition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Scifinder Web Edition   Tags: chemistry, scifinder  

Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.colostate.edu/scifinder Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

System Requiremets

Recommended web browsers:

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer, Versions 6.x and 7.x
  • Mozilla FirefoxTM, Version 2.0 and 3.0
  • Apple SafariTM 3.0 and 3.1

JavaScriptTM, JavaTM, and cookies must be enabled. Java runtime environment (JRE) is needed for structure drawing. Additional browser-related information is available in the SciFinder FAQ from the SciFinder help files.

 

Access SciFinder

SciFinder access is restricted to current
Colorado State University faculty staff and students.
Accounts that are not associated with a current CSU affiliate will be deleted.

Registration is required for first time users.


Access SciFinder Web Edition


NOTE: CSU's SciFinder subscription may NOT be used  for patentability research or
for commercial research that is performed under a funding or consultant contract with the intention of delivering results to a for-profit organization.

For details about obtaining SciFinder for commercial research, please contact:
Josh Michaels, CAS Account Representative
Phone: 1-800-848-6538 x3957 jmichaels@cas.org

 

Register for SciFinder Web Edition (Required for first-time users)

ALL first-time users of the SciFinder Web Edition must register and create a user name and password before accessing the database. Registration is restricted to current Colorado State University faculty staff and students and requires:

  1. a valid colostate.edu e-mail address
    Example: first.last@colostate.edu, faculty@lamar.colostate.edu, etc.
  2. a Colorado State University eID
    The eID system is Colorado State University's official electronic ID system. More information about CSU’s eID system, including details about who qualifies for an eID, can be found at: https://eid.colostate.edu/
  3. Users must have a CSU on-campus IP address to register or be logged into the CSU campus VPN. This is a SciFinder requirement that was recently implemented due to problems with unauthorized users accessing SciFinder. 05/08/2009

Once you have registered for SciFinder, you will receive an e-mail message that includes a link and instructions for completing the registration process. You must use the link within 48 hours or you will need to re-register. Users must agree not to use SciFinder for commercial research.

 

By clicking on the registration link below, you agree to the following terms and conditions:

  • I am currently a Colorado State University student or a member of the Colorado State University faculty or staff.
  • I will not share my username and password with any other person.
  • I will search only for myself and not for others or other organizations.
  • I will not use any automated program or script for extracting or downloading CAS (SciFinder) data, or any other systematic retrieval of data.
  • I may retain a maximum of 5,000 Records at any given time for personal use or to share within a Project team for the duration of the Project.
  • I will NOT use SciFinder for commercial research that is performed under a funding or consultant contract with the intention of delivering results to a for-profit organization, or patentability research.
  • Colorado State University's  SciFinder License and the CAS Information Use Policies (http://www.cas.org/legal/infopolicy.html) apply to my use of SciFinder.
  • I will contact Michelle Wilde, Physical Sciences Librarian, if I have questions.

 I accept these terms and conditions.
Register for SciFinder Web Edition.

 

What happened to Print Chemical Abstracts?

In Dec. 2010, the decision was made to withdraw the print version of Chemical Abstracts (CA) from the CSU Libraries.  As the library approached a major renovation, we encountered severe space issues, and CA was on the list of resources slated to be moved to storage.  In making this decision, we asked the question “How do we envision the print Chemical Abstracts would be used in the future?"  The decision to withdraw the print CA was made based on the following:

  • CA is available in its entirety via SciFinder, and this year CAS ceased publishing a print version.
  • The CSU Libraries have a non-duplication policy, and we typically withdraw print indexes that are available online.
  • SciFinder has taken the place of the print CA, and users are very satisfied with the service.
  • Since CAS is no longer producing print volumes,  electronic access is now the standard for SciFinder.
  • Many of the print volumes of CA have been moved to storage, and the in-house print volumes are seldom, if ever, used.
  • Access to Chemical Abstracts is part of the requirement for ACS accreditation, so CSU must continue to provide access to CA in order to maintain accreditation for the undergraduate chemistry program.  CSU Libraries are committed to supporting accreditation requirements.  Plus, SciFinder is so heavily used and the content is so unique, cancelling it is unlikely.
  • New chemists have no idea how to use CA, and the knowledge of how to efficiently use the collection is diminishing rapidly.

Chat with Michelle

Profile Image
Michelle Wilde
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Phone: (970) 491-1860
Send Michelle an Email
Scan this image with a QR code reader to view or import contact info into your smart phone.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip