History

This page has information and links to information related to history. See Biographical Research for history of individual people. For specific time periods, places/areas, and/or topics see left-hand side for topics.

American Studies

This page lists resources related to American Studies. See also American History for suggestions directly related to history of the United States of America.

Indexes

These indexes may also be accessed by CSU affiliates via the "Databases" pages.

Academic Search Premier. Varies by title. 

A broad based indexing service with some applications to American Studies. Some full text.

America: History and Life. 1964- . 

Indexing and abstracting for approximately 100 periodicals dealing with the history of the Americans.

Modern Language Association Bibliography (MLA). 1982- . 

The most thorough source for literature criticism appearing in journals and dissertations.

Web Sites

American Studies at the University of Virginia 

Many links to other relevant sites. Some orientation toward projects at Virginia.

Core Print Sources

Almanac of American Life: Revolutionary America, 1763 to 1800. E162 .P86 1995 Ref

Useful overview for the time frame indicated. Many statistics.

American Decades. E169.12 .A419 Ref

Organized into separate volumes for each of the decades from 1900 through 1989.

American Eras. 6 vols. E169.1 .A47 ...Ref

These volumes provide cultural, political, and social history from 1600 to 1900

Dictionary of American History. 9 vols. E174 .A43 Ref

A standard source for articles on subjects dealing with American history.

Encyclopedia of American Studies.  4 vols.   E169.1 .E625 2001 Ref

An excellent starting point, featuring substantive articles.

Encyclopedia of American Social History. 3 vols. HN57 .E58 Ref

An excellent source for thorough articles on subjects such as gender, ethnicity, and regionalism.

Encyclopedia of the American West. 4 vols. F591 .E485 1996 Ref

Good overview articles encompassing the latest ideas and historical thinking.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the 20th Century. Four volumes. E740.7 .E53 1996 Ref

Thorough articles on topics and issues affecting the United States in the past century.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. E184 .A1G14 2000 Ref

Useful articles on numerous minority and ethnic groups in the U.S.

Handbook of American Popular Culture. 3 vols. E169.1 .H2643 1989 Ref

Detailed articles on the subjects such as the automobile, radio, and sports.

Reader's Guide to American History. E178.1 .R43 1997 Ref

Capsule points of view and reading lists regarding issues in American history.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/History | Print Page