History

This page has information and links to information related to history. See Biographical Research for history of individual people. For specific time periods, places/areas, and/or topics see left-hand side for topics.

Heritage Resource Management/ Public History Introduction

This page provides links to materials that can be used for doing research on heritage resource management and public history; the emphasis is on cultural resource management.  It is not comprehensive. Much useful material for history is found in books. Additional resources (articles, etc.) are identified in the bibliographies of these books. Track these resources down for thorough research. See "identifying books" for subject terms used in library catalogs for materials on this topic. That said, there is a growing amount of useful research material, including primary resources, on the Web and through proprietary (a library purchases them) databases.

See also:

Reference Books Indexes and Abstracts Web Sites 
Identifying Books Essential Print Index National Park Services Resources
    Colorado-Focused Resources

 

Reference Books

Reference & other useful titles.  All (or nearly all) ebooks will require a CSU eID to access, even if not indicated for an individual title.

  • Anthropological Perspectives on Intangible Cultural Heritage. 2013. ebook APOICH PDF
  • Arts & Economics: Analysis & Cultural Policy. 2003. NX634 .F74 2003 Morgan
  • The Conservation of Cultural Landscapes. GF90 .C66 2006 Morgan
  • Cultural Heritage in the Crosshairs: Protecting Cultural Property during Conflict. 2013. ebook CHCPCPDC
  • Cultural Property Security: Protecting Museums, Historic Sites, Archives, and Libraries. 2013. CC135 .B468 2013 and ebook CPS (requires Adobe Digital Editions and CSU eID)
  • Cultural Resources Laws and Practice. 2013. ebook CRLP requires Adobe Digital Editions and CSU eID
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library. Online to CSU affiliates
  • Heritage: Critical Approaches. 2013. ebook HCA requires Adobe Digital Editions and CSU eID
  • The Heritage Reader. 2008. CC135 .H4633 2008 Morgan
  • Is the Sacred for Sale? Tourism and Indigenous Peoples. 2006. GN380 .J64 2006 Morgan
  • Letting Go?: Sharing Historical Authority in a User-Generated World. 2011. ebook LGSAUGW ebrary reader
  • Museums, Monuments, and National Parks: Toward a New Genealogy of Public History. 2012
  • Our Unprotected Heritage: Whitewashing the Destruction of Our Cultural and Natural Environment. 2009. ebook OUHWDONCE requires Adobe Digital Editions and CSU eID
  • Speaking for the Enslaved: Heritage Interpretation at Antebellum Plantation Sites. 2012. F 210 .J33 2012 Morgan
  • Stewardship of the Built Environment: Sustainability, Preservation, and Reuse. 2012. ebook SBESPR PDF
  • Who Owns Native Culture? 2003. K1401 .B79 2003 Morgan

Identifying Books

Do a Subject search for these terms in the library catalog (and Prospector). These are LOC (Library of Congress) Subject Headings. After doing a search for a term, look for its subdivisions.

  • Archaeology
  • Archaeology United States
  • Architecture Conservation and Restoration
  • Cultural Property
  • Cultural Property Protection
  • Cultural Property Repatriation
  • Cultural Policy
  • Antiquities
  • Antiquities Collection and Preservation
  • [group/place/type/geographic area] Antiquities
  • Heritage Tourism
  • Historic Buildings United States Conservation and Restoration
  • Historic Sites
  • Historic Sites Colorado
  • Historic Sites Conservation and Restoration
  • Historic Sites Conservation and Restoration Colorado
  • Historic Sites Conservation and Restoration United States
  • Historic buildings Conservation and Restoration
  • Historic Preservation
  • History Modern 1945 1989 Sources *
  • Indigenous Peoples Legal Status Laws Etc
  • Intellectual Property
  • Natural Areas
  • Natural Areas Colorado
  • Natural Areas Colorado Fort Collins
  • United States Antiquities
  • United States Civilization 1945 Sources *
  • World Heritage Areas

* primary sources; “sources” at the end of a subject term means that the item includes primary sources

Indexes & Abstracts

Listed are indexes, abstracts and other databases of interest. 

Identify articles by topic in these sources (these indexes are Step 1 of how to find articles).   Some indexes have citations only and others have full text materials. Databases can be found on A-Z Databases. CSU affiliates only may access databases remotely using their eIDs. Use FindIt@CSU to see if there is an electronic version of journal articles not full text within a specific database. If an item looks to be particularly valuable, but is not locally available, request it from InterLibrary Loan.

Jump down to Web Sites

Academic Search Premier. Varies. 

General database with information on a wide range of topics. Nearly all or all topics will find some useful citations here.

America, History & Life. 1954- . 1964- online. Only six CSU users at a time.  

America: History & Life is a useful index for identifying articles and books to do with U.S. history.

Anthropology Plus. 1890- .  Indexes core journals, reports, and commentaries in anthropology and archeology.

"Cultural resource Management" is a subject in this database, identifying over 2,000 items. "Cultural property -- Protection" identifies over 450 items.

AnthroSource. American Anthropological Association. Varies. 

Anthropology scholarship and related topics. After doing a search focus by publication or author.

Art Abstracts (1984- ) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984).  Identify articles in the arts.

Congressional Publications . 1817 to present. CSU affiliates only. 

Find full text of hearings & citations to other materials. Limit to years/dates or Congress of interest. The serial set mentionings are found full text in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (CSU affiliates only). Has information on U.S. and state government laws, codes, and statues.  Find publications, bills, laws, regulations, members, committees, etc.  Links to all kinds of governmental information.

Historical Abstracts. 1954- . Only six CSU users at a time.  History of Asia, Europe, Africa, Oceania after 1500.

Subject term for United States is: USA.

Historical Statistics of the United States. 1790 to present. 

"The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history." Find data for Population; Work and Welfare; Economic Structure and Performance; Economic Sectors; and Governance and International Relations. Allows for sophisticated gathering of information: downloadable, including to tables in Excel, and create custom tables, among other possibilities.

JSTOR. Articles at least 3-5 years old. CSU affiliates only.

Links out to select other resources with more recent content.  Full text articles from broad range of subject areas, including history. Search for words in title, author, abstract, or full text. Be certain to select area(s) of journals to complete a search. (E.g. History, African-American Studies.)

Legislative Insight. 1953- . 

Provides the legislative history--Public Law, enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, etc. Also includes background materials from various sources.

New York Times Historical 1851- (current years not available here). 

Newspaper of record. See full text. Some articles not found on online version due to copyright restrictions. See microfilm for the complete NYT.

Newspaper Source. 1985 to present. 

Covers 389 regional newspapers with selective full text. 40 full-text U.S. and international newspapers.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile. 1800-1930. 

60 subject indexes in one place.Identifies items in "periodicals, newspapers, books, patents, image archives, government documents and more."

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers. 1800-1899. 

Search newspapers from newspapers all over the growing nation. Take note: the default searches include two other sets of news: Sunday Times (London), and Times (London) Digital Archive. Deselect their boxes to search 19th Century U.S. Newspapers only.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International. 1915- . 

Search for "journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more."

Project MUSE. Various starting dates. CSU affiliates only. 

Full text articles from the humanities and social sciences, including over forty history journals.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set. 1817-1994. CSU affiliates only. 

Full text of U.S. Congress (House and Senate) activity.

Web of Science. Varies. 

Includes Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Refine searches to specific subject areas (e.g. archaeology, art, anthropology, history, area studies, folklore, cultural studies, etc.).

WorldCat. Varies. 

Book, archival, microformat, periodical, and other types of holdings in thousands of libraries from around the world. When searched through the CSU's A-Z Databases, CSU holdings are indicated (check catalog for availability); items not owned by CSU can be searched in Prospector (and requested), or if not in Prospector, can be requested from InterLibrary Loan through the same  button.

Essential Print Index

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. AI3 .R48 Reference.  The only resource that identifies articles from major magazines and journals from the middle years of the 20th century. All historians should make use of this valuable resource. Items may be in Storage or need to be requested from InterLibrary Loan, so plan ahead (as you should anyway--you need to read and think about what you have read before you can pull your project together!).

Web

Bibliographies

Check the library catalog for local holdings of books; check Prospector for those not owned. Use  to see if there is an electronic version of journal articles. If an item looks to be particularly valuable, but is not locally or regionally available, request it from InterLibrary Loan. At least one bibliography links out to material of interest.

  • Bibliography ArchaeoHeritage. Institute of Archaeology, Romanian Academy.
  • Conservation and Management of Archaeological Sites. The Getty Conservation Institute Project Bibliographies Series. PDF 125 pages. September 2003. Or link to PDF off of here.
  • Heritage Management. Ricardo Elia, Marta E. Ostovich. Oxford Bibliographies.
  • Museum Management Bibliography. Museum Management Program. National Park Service. 5 parts.
  • Public Archeology in the United States-A Timeline. Link is to 1990-2004 bibliography, but there are sections for 1784-1905, 1906-1929, 1930-1944, 1945-1969, and 1970-1989 also.
    • Link sections have related resources.
  • NUCMC National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Library of Congress.
    • Describes archival and manuscript collections found throughout the United States and its territories. Records are added to WorldCat (CSU affiliates have access to WorldCat).
  • UNESDOC. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.
    • Search for topics of interest and find the full text. Documents in one or multiple languages. A search for "cultural heritage" (without quotes) identified over 6700 documents; widened to include document contents, it found over 13,000 items. Some of the documents are difficulat to read because they have blurry text. The UNESCO Thesaurus provides useful terms. For example, Cultural property preservation [3321]; Terme français: Sauvegarde des biens culturels; Término español: Conservación de los bienes culturales; Русский термин : Охрана культурной собственности.

Example Plans

  • Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area Management Plan. March 2006. PDF 160 pages.
  • Bobcat Ridge Natural Area Management Plan. City of Fort Collins, CO. May 2005. PDF 150 pages.
  • Cultural Heritage Tourism. Find PDF links on right hand side under Management Plans
    • Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail CMP, Maryland, DC and Virginia
    • Journey Through Hallowed Ground Corridor Management Plan, Monticello to Gettysburg, Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania
    • Walton Road Historic Byway, Tennessee
    • Michener's Chesapeake Country Scenic Byway, Maryland's Eastern Shore
    • Bayshore Heritage Byway
    • Maryland Historic National Road Corridor Partnership Plan
    • Delaware River Valley Scenic Byway Corridor Management Plan, Pennsylvania
    • Religious Freedom Byway Management Plan, Maryland
    • Brandywine Valley Scenic Byway Corridor Management Plan, Delaware
  • Fairfax County Park Authority Cultural Resource Management Plan. April 2012. PDF 112 pages.

Links to Primary Sources

Do visit Summaries, Artifacts & Documents, mentioned near the very top of this page for links to items that relate to American history in general; scroll through to find sites that related to this time period.

Water Resources Archive. CSU Libraries.  Collections from individuals and organizations. Multiple types of documents are represented.

National Parks Services Resources

The items listed below are but a small selection of items found via the National Park Service Publications page. Find additional items of interest via that page.

Conserve O Grams. Museum Management Program. National Park Services. U.S. Department of the Interior. 

These "are short, focused leaflets about caring for museum objects." "[L]earn specific procedures, techniques and materials to care for your objects." Date accessed found items dating from 1993 to 2011. Conserve O Grams are in PDF. Topics,selected from 22 categories include "Preservation of Museum Collections" 1/1; "How to Select Gloves" 1/12; "Choosing UV-Filtering Window Films" 3/10; "Storage Supports for Basket Collections" 5/1; and "Identification and Care of Amber" 11/17.

Curatorial Safely Messages. Museum Management Program. National Park Service. 

The visitor and employee safety section is probably of most interest, but the other section on fire safety will also be important.

Managing Archeological Collections. Archeology Program. National Park Service. U.S. Department of the Interior. 

Online program that with 10 sections on various topics. [A course certificate can be obtained for the"Archeology for Interpreters." ("Successfully complete the course and receive a snazzy certificate.") A DOI account is required. Disclaimer]

Laws and Legislation

This bulleted items were selected verbatim from the Museum Handbook Quick Reference (2010), a 2499 page PDF document, linked from the NPS Museum Handbook page. This useful handbook has three parts.

Some laws related to National Park Service management of museum collections:

  • Act for the Preservation of American Antiquities, June 8, l906 (“The Antiquities Act”) (16 USC 431-433)
  • Organic Act of 1916 (16 USC 1 et seq.)
  • Historic Sites Act of 1935 (16 USC 461-467)
  • Museum Properties Management Act of 1955, as amended (16 USC, Sect. 18
  • Archeological and Historic Preservation Act of 1974 (16 USC 469- 469C)
  • National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, as amended (16 USC 470 - 470t, Sect. 110)
  • Archaeological Resources Protection Act of 1979 (ARPA) (16 USC 470aa-mm)
  • American Indian Religious Freedom Act of 1978 (42 USC 1996)
  • Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act of 1990 (NAGPRA) (25 USC 3001-13)
  • National Parks Omnibus Management Act of 1998 (16 USC 5937) Sec. 5937

See also these regulations (and others):

  • 43 CFR Part 3 “Preservation of American Antiquities” (implementing regulations for the Antiquities Act)
  • 43 CFR Part 7 “Protection of Archeological Resources: Uniform Regulations”
  • 36 CFR Part 79 “Curation of Federally-Owned and Administered Archeological Collections”

International Convention:

  • 1970 UNESCO Convention on the Means of Prohibiting and Preventing the Illicit Import, Export, and Transfer of Ownership of Cultural Property (implemented in the United States by P.L. 97-446 in 1983, 19 USC 260l). Signatory nations agree to work to prevent the import of and trade in archeological and ethnographic materials (when requested) and in stolen cultural collections.

U.S. Government (direct and indirect links)

Colorado-Focused Resources

These sources focus on Colorado Communities.  N.B. The city of Denver was in Arapahoe County until 1902.

City of Fort Collins. FC Maps of Grandview and Roselawn Cemeteries

Zoom in, search for individual gravemarkers using the Cemetery Plot Locating Tool (image of gravestone with RIP on it). You can: create a printable map; create a report; draw on the map; measure distance; share current map; trun map data on/off; and add a map layer, among other tasks. First time takes a minute or so to upload on a fast connection. Search by last name (required) and first name if known. External mapping opens new tab.

Fort Collins History Connection. Fort Collins Museum of Discovery and the Poudre River Public Library District. 

Locate and identify photographs, artifacts, maps, and more. Online exhibits feature various topics of local historical interest. Mystery Photos features items that could use some identification. Quick facts list quick summaries of useful information such as who was mayor when, population, newspapers, and more. Important note: maps were not created for public use, so users should not have unrealistic expectations regarding their content, accuracy, or relevance.

Landmark Preservation. Community Planning and Development. Denver, CO. 

"There are 6,600 buildings in Denver’s 51 historic districts. In addition, Denver has 332 historic landmarks." See also Historic Designations. Find a list of individual landmarks and a separate PDF document with photos and descriptions of the first 99 designated locations.

Obituaries, Cemeteries & The Dead. James Jeffrey. April 26, 2014. 

Introduction and links to multiple PDF resources of potential interest. Scroll down to Denver Obituary Project to find obituaries and funeral notics that appeared in the Denver Post or Rocky Mountain News. Scatter years 1922-2014 as of January 2016.

Online Colorado Death Records & Indexes: A Genealogy Records Guide. © 2003-2014 Joe Beine. 

Arranged by recent, by county, Colorado Cemeteries & Military Cemeteries, Colorado Wills & Probate Indexes. Has link to where to oreder Colorado Vital Records.

Western History and Genealogy. Denver Public Library. 

Browse print and digital collections arranged by subject. For example: Geneaology; Western History; Conservation; Denver Parks; Rocky Mountain News, GLBT; Mining and Agriculture; and Peoples and Cultures. Link to Digital Collections finds an extensive digital collection of historical photographs, documents, art objects, maps, and more. Browse by subject or format. Search by keyword.

Poudre River Public Library (PRLD) databases (require a PRLD library card or link to RAM card)

These are found via the PRLD eResources page. Some databases are only available in a library or at only one specific library branch.

  • Ancestry® Library Edition. "billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more." Not available for at-home use.
  • HeritageQuest. "Family histories, genealogical serials, local history, and primary sources."
  • Sanborn Maps. "Fire insurance maps that show locations of businesses and residences in downtown areas of major towns in Colorado. Maps depict the size and footprints of the buildings."

Journals of Interest

  • CRM: Journal of Heritage Stewardship. National Center for Cultural Resources (U.S.). JHSonline 1991- (not available early February 2014; unknown if and when it will be). Subtitle added in fall 2003. Print 2003- I29. 86/2: Documents
  • Landscape Architecture. Not owned by CSU. Identify articles of interest in Art Abstracts (Dec. 2011 to present; selective 1984- ; selective coverage 1928-1984 in Art Index Retrospective) and request them from InterLibrary Loan.

Journal Articles of Interest

Available to CSU affiliates.

It is essential that you carefully evaluate whatever you might find, no matter the format. See: How to Evaluate Journal Articles, How to Evaluate Books, How to Evaluate a Web Page, and How to Evaluate a Movie, Video, or Film Clip.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/History | Print Page