This page provides links to and lists of materials that can be used for doing research on memory. Memory is private, public, collective, and faulty. This page focuses on memory in the context of historical memory in the public sphere, but other aspects are mentioned.
A good place to start research is a History of Memory from the New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (available to CSU affiliates). Sections cover ancient and modern memory, the social frameworks of collective memory, and more. Collective Memory in Learning and Memory (also CSU affiliates) provides a definition and context. The section on collective remembering versus history is particularly recommended. A definition of the contemporary usage of the term Collective Memory is found in the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (ditto CSU).
Memorials as a way to have tangible reminders of a memory or historical events and express their builders' memories. Read about Memorials and Monuments in the Encyclopedia of Death & the Human Experience (CSU affiliates). Reading about Social Memory Processes in Learning and Memory provides an interesting perspective.
|Reference Books||Indexes and Abstracts||Web Sites|
|Identifying Books||Essential Print Index||Memories--Sharing|
|Journals||Articles of Potential Interest|
Annotated Bibliography Guide
An annotated bibliography (final say goes to the person grading or publishing your work) contains useful information about each entry in it. Whether it is a book, journal article, Web page or site, or film, it needs to be placed contextually among the larger body of annotations. Each annotation will have a different emphasis--in some cases it may be the author, others the argument, content, tables/graphs/bibliography, or other aspect that makes the individual item noteworthy. If an item does not have any useful attributes it does not belong on the bibliography. After reading an annotated bibliography, the person who read it should have a decent understanding of the topic and where to look first for more general or more in depth information.
Useful guides for writing an annotation can be found in Evaluation Guides. While not every single potential source of commentary needs to be included, every aspect ought to be considered, even if only briefly.
All (or nearly all) ebooks will require a CSU eID to access, even if not indicated for an individual title.
- The Arab-Israeli Conflict in the Media: Producing Shared Memory and National Identity in the Global Television Era. 2010. DS119.7 .A85 2010 Morgan
- Archives Power: Memory, Accountability, and Social Justice. CD971 .J56 2009 Morgan
- The Changing Place of Europe in Global Memory Cultures: Usable Pasts and Futures. 2017. CPEGMCUPFebook
- Chase's . . . Calendar of Events. D 11.5 .C48 Reference (current year) also CCE ebook (older than print)
- Commemorations: The Politics of National Identity. 1994. CB197 .C66 1994 Morgan
- Cultural Memory and Western Civilization: Functions, Media, Archives. PN704 .A8713 2011 Morgan
- Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations: A Country-by-Country-Guide. 3 vols. 2006. GT3930 .E53 2006 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory. 1992. BF318 .E53 1992 Morgan
- Festivals of Freedom: Memory and Meaning in African American Emancipation Celebrations, 1808-1915. 2003. E453 .K33 2003 Morgan
- Figures of Memory: The Rhetoric of Displacement at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. D804.175.W18 B47 2016 Morgan
- Getting History Right: East and West German Collective Memories of the Holocaust and War. 2011. D804.45.G47 W65 2011 Morgan
- History and Memory. 2007. D16.9 .C82 2007 Morgan
- History in Images: Pictures and Public Space in Modern China. 2012. DS773.94 .H47 2012 Morgan
- Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Holidays 2000. JWEWHebook.
- Learning & Memory. 2003. LMebook.
- Memory and Violence in the Middle East and North Africa. 2006. HM886 .M46 2006 Morgan
- Memory from A to Z: Keywords, Concepts, and Beyond. 2002. QP406 .D843 2002 Morgan
- Memory in Historical Perspective: The Literature before Ebbinghaus. [primary sources] 1988. BF371 .H48 1988 Morgan
- The My Lai Massacre in American History and Memory. 2006. DS559.2 .O45 2006 Morgan
- Museum Politics: Power Plays at the Exhibition. 2002. AM151 .L85 2002 Morgan
- Race and Reunion: The Civil War in American Memory. 2001. E468.9 .B58 2001 Morgan
- (Re)constructing Memory: Education, Identity, and Conflict. 2017. RCMEICebook
- Routledge Handbook of Memory and Reconciliation in East Asia. DS518.1 .R73 2016 Morgan
- Sites of Memory in Spain and Latin America: Trauma, Politics, and Resistance. DP63 .S58 2015 Morgan
- Statecraft in the Middle East: Oil, Historical Memory, and Popular Culture. JQ1850.A91 S73 1991 Morgan
- The Third Reich in History and Memory. DD256.48 .E93 2015 Morgan
- War, Memory, and the Politics of Humor: The Canard Enchaîné and World War I. D526.3 .D68 2002 Morgan
- Women and the Historical Enterprise in America: Gender, Race, and the Politics of Memory, 1880-1945. 2003. E175 .D47 2003 Morgan
Do a Subject search for these terms in the library catalog (and Prospector). These are LC (Library of Congress) Subject Headings. After doing a search for a term, look for its subdivisions.
Journals beneficial to use when searching for topics about memory.
- History & Memory. 1989- . H&Monline to CSU affiliates.
- Journal of Experimental Pscyhology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition. 1975- . JEPLMConline to CSU affiliates.
- Journal of Memory and Language. 1985- . JMLonline to CSU affiliates.
- Learning & Memory. 1994- with most recent year not available. LMonline to CSU affiliates.
- Memory. 1996- with most recent 18 months not available in ASP. Memonline to CSU affiliates.
- Memory & Cognition. 1997- . MConline to CSU affiliates.
- Memory Studies. 2008- . MSonline to CSU affiliates.
Indexes & Abstracts
Identify articles by topic in these sources (these indexes are Step 1 of how to find articles). Some indexes have citations only and others have full text materials. Databases can be found on A-Z Database page from the library website. CSU affiliates only may access databases remotely using their eIDs. Use to see if there is an electronic version of journal articles not full text within a specific database. If an item looks to be particularly valuable, but is not locally available, request it from InterLibrary Loan.
- Academic Search Premier. Varies.
- General database with information on a wide range of topics. Nearly all or all topics will find some useful citations here.
- America, History & Life. 1954- . 1964- online. Only six CSU users at a time.
- America: History & Life is a useful index for identifying articles and books to do with U.S. history.
- Anthropology Plus. 1890- .
- Indexes core journals, reports, and commentaries in anthropology and archaeology. "Cultural resource Management" is a subject in this database, identifying over 2,000 items. "Cultural property -- Protection" identifies over 450 items.
- AnthroSource. American Anthropological Association. Varies.
- Anthropology scholarship and related topics. After doing a search focus by publication or author.
- Art Abstracts (1984- ) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984).
- Identify articles in the arts.
- Historical Abstracts. 1954- . Only six CSU users at a time.
- History of Asia, Europe, Africa, Oceania after 1500. Subject term for United States is: USA.
- JSTOR. Articles at least 3-5 years old. CSU affiliates only.
- Links out to select other resources with more recent content. Full text articles from broad range of subject areas, including history. Search for words in title, author, abstract, or full text. Be certain to select area(s) of journals to complete a search. (E.g. History, African-American Studies.)
- New York Times Historical 1851- (current years not available here; see New York Times ProQuest Digital Microfilm for up to most recent month).
- Newspaper of record. See full text. Some articles not found on online version due to copyright restrictions. See microfilm for the complete NYT.
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile. 1800-1930.
- 60 subject indexes in one place. Identifies items in "periodicals, newspapers, books, patents, image archives, government documents and more."
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers. 1800-1899.
- Search newspapers from newspapers all over the growing nation. Take note: the default searches include two other sets of news: Sunday Times (London), and Times (London) Digital Archive. Deselect their boxes to search 19th Century U.S. Newspapers only.
- Project MUSE. Various starting dates.
- Full text articles from the humanities and social sciences, including over forty history journals.
- PsycINFO. 1887- .
- Psychology topics. Journal articles, book chapters, and more. See also PsycArticles 1894- .
- Sociological Abstracts. 1952- . Sociology topics.
- US. Major Dailies. 1980- .
- The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Reportage in different locations around the country (and from different newspapers) can shape local memory.
- Web of Science. Varies.
- Includes Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Refine searches to specific subject areas (e.g. archaeology, art, anthropology, history, area studies, folklore, cultural studies, etc.).
- WorldCat. Varies.
- Book, archival, microformat, periodical, and other types of holdings in thousands of libraries from around the world. When searched through the CSU's Articles & Databases, CSU holdings are indicated (check catalog for availability); items not owned by CSU can be searched in Prospector (and requested), or if not in Prospector, can be requested from InterLibrary Loan through the same button. Subject heading that work in CSU's catalog and Prospector also work in WorldCat.
Essential Print Index
This is the only resource that identifies articles from major magazines and journals from the middle years of the 20th century.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. AI3 .R48 Reference. All historians should make use of this valuable resource. Items may be in Storage or need to be requested from InterLibrary Loan, so plan ahead (as you should anyway--you need to read and think about what you have read before you can pull your project together!).
Articles of Potential Interest
Articles of Potential Interest (Online); Some available to CSU affiliates only
- "Between Archive and Participation: Public Memory in a Digital Age." Ekaterina Haskins. Rhetoric Society Quarterly 37.4 (Fall 2007): 401-422.
- "Building a Postcolonial Archive? Gender, Collective Memory and Citizenship in Post-Apartheid South Africa." Cheryl McEwan. Journal of Southern African Studies 29.3 (September 2003): 739-757.
- "Collective Memory and Cultural Identity." Jan Assmann and John Czaplicka. New German Critique 65 (Spring-Summer 1995): 125-133.
- "Collective Memory from a Psycholocial Perspective." Alin Coman et al. International Journal of Politics, Cuture, and Society 22.2 (June 2009): 125-141.
- "Enshrinement and Persistency of Japanese Religion." K. Peter Takayama. Journal of Church and State 32.3 (Summer 1990): 527-547. [Yasakuni shrine in Japan.]
- "Flowers for Homestead: A Case Study in Archives and Memory." Jeannette A. Bastian. The American Archivist 72.1 (Spring-Summer 2009): 113-132.
- "Journalistic Uses of Collective Memory." Jill A. Edy. Journal of Communication 49.2 (2006): 71-85.
- "Memory's Malleability: Its Role in Shaping Collective Memory and Social Identity." Adam D. Brown,1, Nicole Kouri, and William Hirst. Frontiers in Psychology. July 2012.
- "Propaganda and the Web War." Philip M. Taylor. The World Today 55.6 (June 1999): 10-12.
- "Public History and Memory: A Museum Perspective." Barbar Franco. The Public Historian 19.2 (Spring 1997): 65-7.
- "To Remember and Forget: Archives, Memory, and Culture." Kenneth E. Foote. The American Archivist 53.3 (Summer 1990): 378-392.
- "Transformations between History and Memory." Aleida Assmann. Social Research 75.1 Collective Memory and Collective Identity (Spring 2008): 49-72.
A few popular Web sites regarding memory.
Memories can be shared in multiples ways across multiple genres and activities. For example: poetry, short story, podcast, story map, documentary, museum, ritual/ceremony/festival, scholarly essay, scholarly article, children's book, Web site, clothing/apparel, speech, photograph, novel, play, movie, music, letter, autobiography, painting, sculpture, poster, etc.
Colorado State University
1019 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019