Middle Eastern History & U.S. Foreign Relations Introduction
This page is of interest to students in HIST 350 (US Foreign Relations) and HIST 438 (Modern Middle East). However, anyone doing research or interested in the Middle East should find it useful. The Middle East is generally defined by historians as the territory between the Oxus River and the Nile River East-to-West, and from Anatolia to the Arabian peninsula North-to-South.
Books and journals are listed with CSU call number or lack of ownership noted. Web sites are annotated. Some of the Web sites are journals, newspapers, or other types of news sources.
|Encyclopedias & Atlases||Modern Middle East||Saudi Arabia, US-Saudi Relations, Oil|
|Journals & Newspapers||Israel and the Arab-Israeli Conflict||Web|
|Middle East, General||U.S. Foreign Policy in the Middle East||Books|
|Indexes & Abstracts|
Encyclopedias & Atlases
For background information about the Middle East region, the following sources are recommended:
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East. 4 vols. DS 43 .E53 1996 REF
- Dictionary of Modern Arab History. DS 38.9 .B53 1998 REF
- Encyclopedia of Islam. 11 vols. + indexes DS 35.53 E523 REF
- The Cambridge History of Iran. 7 vols. in 8 DS 272 C34 Morgan
- The Cambridge History of Islam. 2 vols. DS 35.6 .C3 Morgan
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. DS 35.53 .O95 1995 REF
- The Middle East and North Africa. DS 49 .M5 REF DESK
- The Middle East and South Asia 2002 (World Today Series). DS 44 .C55 2002 REF
- Who's Who is the Arab World. DS 37.3 .W5 REF
- Historical Atlas of Islam = Atlas historique de l'Islam. 2nd ed. G1786.S1 H6 MAPS
- Historical Atlas of Islam. G1786.S1 F7 2002 REF
- Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict. 7th ed. G 2236 .S1 G55 2002 REF
- Middle East Maps. Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection. University of Texas at Austin.
Images available online.
Journals & Newspapers
Web sites are going to be a good choice for finding the latest news. Journals will also be a useful resource for keeping up with research on the Middle East. The time from written article to published is generally shorter than for books. Links on journal titles in this section are to records in CSU's library catalog so CSU affiliates may have access to subscribed issues. Online newspapers are weekly or even more frequent. See also Late Breaking News (Web Sites) for links to major news sources, national and local.
- International Journal of Middle East Studies DS 41 .I55
- Middle East Report DS 42 .M47
- Middle East Times. International Edition. London/Cairo.
Top stories and more. Subject categories. Pop up ad(s).
- Middle East Journal DS41 .M53
- Middle Eastern Studies DS 41 .M54
- Diplomatic History E 183.7 .D48 , also DHonline.
- Ahram Online (English). Published in Cairo by AL-AHRAM established in 1875.
Weekly online newspaper. Online archive starts with issue 375 (30 April-6 May 1998).
- Ha'aretz (English) also Hebrew (which may not show up well on English-configured screens). Daily except Saturdays.
"Haaretz is an independent daily newspaper with a broadly liberal outlook both on domestic issues and on international affairs." It "was founded in Jerusalem in 1919." Eight most recent days available from drop box.
- Middle East Daily. World News Network.
By topic, region, and country. Links to other news sites.
- The Media Line: The MidEast News Source™. (TML.)
Audio, video, and text articles. "TML’s mission is to provide credible, unbiased content, background and context to local media outlets throughout the Middle East and around the world, including the United States, Canada, Europe and Australasia." Links to blogs. Archives require login.
- Arts & Letters Daily. Service of the Chronicle of Higher Education.
Wide variety of news from serious to fun. Breaking news, links to newspapers magazines, radio and more.
- Washington Report on Middle Eastern Affairs (WRMEA). Monthly. Archives 1982- .
"100-page magazine published 10 times per year in Washington, DC, that focuses on news and analysis from and about the Middle East and U.S. policy in that region."
- BBC News UK Edition: Middle East.
Regularly updated source for information on the Middle East.
Middle East, General
Here are some general resources for the Middle East:
- Leila Ahmed. Women and Gender in Islam. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1992. HQ 1784 A67 1992 Morgan
- Michael Cook. Muhammad. New York: Oxford University Press, 1983. BP75 .C66 1983 Morgan
- Sydney Nettleton Fisher and William Ochsenwald. The Middle East: A History. 6th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003. DS62 .F5 2004 Morgan
- Marshall Hodgson. Venture of Islam. 3 vols. University of Chicago Press, 1974. DS36.85 .H63 1977 Morgan
- Albert Hourani. History of the Arab Peoples. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1991. DS 37.7 H67 1991 Morgan
- Norman Itzkowitz. Ottoman Empire and Islamic Tradition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974. DR486 .I89 1980 Morgan. (Reprint of 1972 edition.)
- Ira Lapidus. A History of Islamic Societies. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002. DS35.63 .L37 2002 Morgan
- Middle East Studies Internet Resources. Columbia University Libraries.
An "on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on the Middle East and North Africa (in the broadest sense) . . . organized by region, country and subject." History, economics, food, languages, minorities, music, philately, political violence, religion, water, and women.
- Index Islamicus: New Books, Articles, and Reviews on Islam and the Middle East. 1993- DS 41 .I54223 REF SOUTH
Identify resources written in over ten languages. Arranged by broad topic and geographical areas. Reviews are in alphabetical order by title. Separate subject and name indexes at back.
Modern Middle East
Resources for research on the Middle East in modern times, with a few online resources:
- Nigel Ashton. King Hussein of Jordan: A Political Life. New Haven and London: Yale University Press, 2008. DS154.55 .A84 2008 Morgan
- Hanna Batatu. Old Social Classes and the Revolutionary Movements of Iraq. New ed. London: Saqi Books, 2004. JQ1849.A98 S4934 2004 Morgan
- Hanna Batatu. Syria's Peasantry, the Descendants of Its Lesser Rural Notables, and Their Politics. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1999. DS98.2 .B386 1999 Morgan
- William Cleveland. A History of the Modern Middle East. 2nd ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2000. DS 62.4 .C53 2000 Morgan
- L. Carl Brown. International Politics of the Middle East. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1984. DS 62.8 .B76 1984 Storage
- Albert Hourani. Arabic Thought in the Liberal Age, 1798-1939. London: Oxford University Press, 1970 . JA 84 E3H6 1962 Storage Access
- Phebe Marr. The Modern History of Iraq. Rev. ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2004. DS79.65 .M33 2004 Morgan
- R. Stephen Humphreys. Between Memory and Desire: The Middle East in a Troubled Age. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1999. DS 63.1 .H856 1999 Morgan
- James P. Jankowski. Nasser's Egypt, Arab Nationalism, and the United Arab Republic. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2002. DT 107.827 .J36 2002 Morgan
- Gilles Kepel. Jihad: The Trial of Political Islam. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2002. BP 173.7 .K453 2002 Morgan
- Malcolm Kerr. The Arab Cold War: Gamal 'Abd al-Nasir and His Rivals, 1958-1970. 3d ed. Oxford UP, 1971. DS 38 .K38 1971 Storage
- David McDowall. A Modern History of the Kurds. 3rd ed. rev. and upd. New York: I.B. Tauris, 2004. DS51.K7 M33 2004 Morgan
- Vali Nasr. The Shia Revival: How Conflicts within Islam Will Shape the Future. New York: W.W. Norton, 2006. BP194.185 .N37 2006 Morgan
- Marion Farouk-Sluglett and Peter Sluglett. Iraq since 1958: From Revolution to Dictatorship. London: I.B. Tauris, 2001. DS79.65 .F37 2001 Morgan
- Patrick Seale. The Struggle for Syria: A Study of Post-War Arab Politics, 1945-1958. Rev. Ed. Yale UP, 1986. Available on Prospector (CSU has 1965 edition DS 98.2 .S4 Storage)
- Ray Takeyh. Guardians of the Revolution: Iran and the World in the Age of the Ayatollahs. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. DS318.83 .T36 2009 Morgan
- Charles Tripp. A History of Iraq. 3rd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007. DS79 .T75 2007 Morgan. Also 2000 edition DS 79 .T75 2000 Morgan and 2nd ed. DS79 .T75 2002 Morgan
- Bruce-Maddy Weitzman. The Crystallization of the Arab State System, 1945-1954. Syracuse UP, 1993. DS 63 .M23 1993 Storage
- Foundation for Middle East Peace (FMEP). "Dedicated to informing Americans about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and assisting in a peaceful solution that brings security for both peoples." Articles in English, Arabic, and Hebrew. Reports, analysis, maps, charts, documents, photos, links.
- Middle East Institute. Founded 1946. "[T]he Middle East Institute brings special strengths to the mission of increasing American understanding of this complex and fascinating area." Provides access to online version of M. Cherif Bassiouni's Introduction to Islam (Copyright © 1999 Middle East Institute). Tables of content for The Middle East Journal 1999- (says 1997- , but links not found) DS 41 .M53 Journal Room (CSU owns most years 1949- ; older years in Movable Shelves).
Israel & the Arab-Israeli Conflict
Sources for information about the Arab-Israeli conflict:
- Nigel J. Ashton, ed. The Cold War in the Middle East: Regional Conflict and the Superpowers, 1967-73. New York: Routledge, 2007. Not owned by CSU or Prospector Libraries.
- James L. Gelvin. The Israel-Palestine Conflict: One Hundred Years of War. Cambridge University Press, 2005. DS 119.7 .G3895 2005 Morgan
- Peter L. Hahn. Caught in the Middle East: US Policy toward the Arab-Israeli Conflict, 1945-1961. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2004. DS 119.7 .H335 2004 Morgan
- Charles D. Smith. Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict. 4th ed. New York: Bedford/St. Martin's, 2001. DS 119.7 .S618 2001 Morgan
- Michael Oren. Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. DS 127 .O74 2002 Morgan
- Joel Migdal and Baruch Kimmerling. The Palestinian People : A History. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2003. DS 119.7 .K4943 2003 Morgan
- Walter Laqueur. A History of Zionism. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1972. DS 149 .L256 1972 Storage Access
- Hershel Edelheit. History of Zionism: A Handbook and Dictionary. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2000. DS 149 .E25 2000 Morgan
- Mark Tessler. A History of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1994. DS 119.7 .T443 1994 Morgan
- Noah Lucas. The Modern History of Israel. New York: Praeger, 1975. DS 126.5 .L82 1975 Morgan
- Benny Morris. The Birth of the Palestinian Refugee Problem, 1947-1949. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1987. HV 640.5.A6 M67 1987 Morgan
- Benny Morris. The Birth of the Palestinian Refugee Problem Revisited. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004. HV 640.5.A6 M67 2004 Morgan
- William B. Quandt, “Lyndon B. Johnson and the June 1967 War: What Color Was the Light?” Middle East Journal 46 (1992): 198-228. DS41 .M53 Movable Shelves.
- Colin Schindler. A History of Modern Israel. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2008. DS126.5 .S45193 2008 Morgan
U.S. Foreign Policy in the Middle East
Resources about U.S. Foreign policy in regards tot he Middle East:
- Jon B. Alterman, Egypt and American Foreign Assistance, 1952-1956: Hopes Dashed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2002. E 183.8 .E3 A48 2002 Morgan
- Irvine Anderson. Biblical Interpretation and Middle East Policy: The Promised Land, America, and Israel, 1917-2002. University Press of Florida, 2005. BR 115.I7 A53 2005 Morgan
- Warren Bass. Support Any Friend: Kennedy's Middle East and the Making of the US-Israel Alliance. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003. E 183.8 .I75 B37 2003 Morgan
- Clea Lutz Bunch, “Strike at Samu: Jordan, Israel, the United States, and the Origins of the Six-Day War,” Diplomatic History 32 (January 2008): 55-76. Available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Jeffrey James Byrne, “Our Own Special Brand of Socialism: Algeria and the Contest of Modernities in the 1960s,” Diplomatic History 33 (June 2009): 427-448. Available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Paul Chamberlain, “A World Restored: Religion, Counterrevolution, and the Search for Order in the Middle East,” Diplomatic History 32 (June 2008): 441-69. Available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Nathan J. Citino, “The Ottoman Legacy in Cold War Modernization,” International Journal of Middle East Studies 40 (November 2008): 579-97. Available online to CSU affiliates through the record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Juan Cole, “"The United States and Shi'ite Religious Factions in Post-Ba'thist Iraq," Middle East Journal, 57 (Autumn 2003): 543-566. DS 41 .M53 Movable Shelves
- Matthew Connelly, “Taking off the Cold War Lens: Visions of North-South Conflict During the Algerian War for Independence, American Historical Review 105 (June 2000): 739-69. E171 .A57 Movable Shelves. Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- David Farber. Taken Hostage: The Iran Hostage Crisis and America’s First Encounter with Radical Islam. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2005. E 183.8 .I55 F37 2005 Morgan
- "Fifty Years of US-Israeli Relations: A Roundtable." Diplomatic History 22 (Spring 1998): 231-83. E 183.7 .D48 Movable Shelves.
- Mark Gasiorowski. “The 1953 Coup D’Etat in Iran,” International Journal of Middle East Studies 19 (August 1987): 261-86. DS41 .I55 Storage Access. Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Irene Gendzier. Notes from the Minefield: United States Intervention in Lebanon and the Middle East, 1945-1958. New York: Columbia University Press, 1997. DS63.2.U5 G43 1997 Morgan
- James F. Goode. The United States and Iran: In the Shadow of Musaddiq. New York : St. Martin's Press, 1997. E 183.8.I7 G66 1997 Morgan
- Peter L. Hahn. The United States, Great Britain, and Egypt, 1945-1956: Strategy and Diplomacy in the Early Cold War. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1991. E 183.8 E35H26 1991 Morgan
- Matthew F. Jacobs, “The Perils and Promise of Islam: The United States and the Muslim Middle East in the Early Cold War,” Diplomatic History 30 (September 2006): 705-39. E 183.7 .D48 Movable Shelves Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Burton Ira Kaufman. The Arab Middle East and the United States: Inter-Arab Rivalry and Superpower Diplomacy. New York, N.Y.: Twayne Publishers, 1996. DS 63.2 .U5 K38 1996 Morgan
- Bruce Kuniholm. The Origins of the Cold War in the Near East: Great Power Conflict and Diplomacy in Iran, Turkey, and Greece. Princeton: DS 63 K86 Storage; DS 63 .K86 1994 Morgan has epilogue.
- Zach Levey, "Anatomy of an Airlift: United States Military Assistance to Israel during the 1973 War,” Cold War History 8 (November 2008): 481-501. Not currently available directly from CSU. By December 2009 should be available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Douglas Little. American Orientalism: The United States and the Middle East since 1945. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2002. DS63.2.U5 L58 2002 Morgan
- Douglas Little. "Mission Impossible: The CIA and the Cult of Covert Action in the Middle East." Diplomatic History 28 (November 2004): 663-701. E 183.7 .D48 Journal Room (as of 8/5; will go to Movable Shelves) Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- William Roger Louis. The British Empire in the Middle East, 1945-1951: Arab Nationalism, the United States, and Postwar Imperialism. New York: Oxford University Press, 1984. DS 63.2.G7 L68 1984 Morgan
- Ussama Makdisi. "'Anti-Americanism' in the Arab World: An Interpretation of a Brief History." Journal of American History 89 (September 2002): 538-57. F 351 .M69 Journal Room (as of 8/5; will go to Movable Shelves) Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Ussama Makdisi, Artillery of Heaven: American Missionaries and the Failed Conversion of the Middle East. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2007. Not owned by CSU; two Propector libraires own.
- Melani McAlister. Epic Encounters: Culture, Media, and U.S. Interests in the Middle East, 1945-2000. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2001. DS63.2 .M33 2001 Morgan
- Timothy Mitchell, "McJihad: Islam in the U.S. Global Order." Social Text 20 (Winter 2002): 1-18. HN 1 .S59 Movable Shelves. Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Michael B. Oren. Power, Faith, and Fantasy: America in the Middle East 1776 to the Present. New York: Norton, 2007. DS 63.2.U5 O54 2007 Morgan
- Roland Popp, “An Application of Modernization Theory During the Cold War? The Case of Pahlavi Iran,” International History Review 30 (March 2008): 76-98. D 1 .I57 Journal Room; will move to Movable Shelves
- David Ryan and Patrick Kiely, eds. America and Iraq: Policy-Making, Intervention and Regional Politics. New York: Routledge, 2009. E183.8.I57 A54 2009 Morgan
- David Schoenbaum. The United States and the State of Israel. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. E 183.8.I7 S34 1993 Morgan
- Heather J. Sharkey. American Evangelicals in Egypt: Missionary Encounters in the Age of Empire. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2008. BV3570 .S43 2008 Morgan
- April R. Summitt. "For a White Revolution: John F. Kennedy and the Shah of Iran" Middle East Journal 58 (Autumn 2004): 560-75. DS 41 .M53 Movable Shelves. Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Salim Yaqub. Containing Arab Nationalism: The Eisenhower Doctrine and the Middle East. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2004. DS 63.2.U5 Y37 2004 Morgan
- Salim Yaqub. "Imperious Doctrines: U.S.-Arab Relations from Dwight D. Eisenhower to George W. Bush." Diplomatic History 26 (Fall 2002): 571-91. E 183.7 .D48 Movable Shelves. Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
Saudi Arabia, U.S.-Saudi Relations, Oil
Sources for the topic of Saudi Arabia, Saudi Arabian & U.S. relations, & the Oil industry:
- Madawi al-Rasheed. Contesting the Saudi State: Islamic Voices from a New Generation. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007. DS215 .A385 2007 Morgan
- Madawi Al-Rasheed. A History of Saudi Arabia. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
DS 244.52 .A43 2002 Morgan
- Irvine Anderson. Aramco, the United States, and Saudi Arabia: A Study of the Dynamics of Foreign Oil Policy, 1933-1950. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 1981. HD 9576 S35A72 Morgan
- Gawdat Bahgat, "The New Geopolitics of Oil: The United States, Saudi Arabia, and Russia," Orbis 47 (Summer 2003): 447-61. D 839 .O68 Journal Room (as of 10/4; will go to Movable Shelves).
- Anthony Cave Brown. Oil, God, and Gold: The Story of Aramco and the Saudi Kings. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1999. HD 9576.S33 B76 1999 Morgan
- Daryl Champion. The Paradoxical Kingdom: Saudi Arabia and the Moment of Reform. New York: Columbia University Press 2003. HC 415.33.C475 2003 Morgan
- Nathan J. Citino. From Arab Nationalism to OPEC: Eisenhower, King Sa'ud, and the Making of US-Saudi Relations. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2002. E 183.8.S25 C58 2002 Morgan
- David Commins. The Wahhabi Mission and Saudi Arabia. I B Tauris, 2006. Not owned by CSU, but owned by more than one Prospector Library.
- Natana J. DeLong-Bas. Wahhabi Islam: from Revival and Reform to Global Jihad. Oxford University Press, 2004. Available on Prospector.
- Edward Peter Fitzgerald, “The Iraq Petroleum Company, Standard Oil of California, and the Contest for Eastern Arabia, 1930-1933,” International History Review 13 (August 1991): 441-65. D 1 .I57 Movable Shelves
- Steffen Hertog, “Shaping the Saudi State: Human Agency’s Shifting Role in Rentier-State Formation,” International Journal of Middle East Studies 39 (November 2007): 539-63. Available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Toby Jones, “Rebellion on the Saudi Periphery: Modernity, Marginalization, and the Shi‘a Uprising of 1979,” International Journal of Middle East Studies 38 (May 2006): 213-233. Available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- Robert Lacey. The Kingdom: Arabia and the House of Sa'ud. New York: Avon Books, 1981. One Prospector library owns.
- Steve Marsh. Anglo-American Relations and Cold War Oil: Crisis in Iran. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003. E 183.8 .G7 M34 2003 Morgan
- Aaron David Miller. Search for Security: Saudi Arabian Oil and American Foreign Policy, 1939-1949. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1980. HD 9576 .S33 M54 1980 Morgan
- David Painter. Oil and the American Century: The Political Economy of U.S. Foreign Oil Policy, 1941-1954. Baltimore: Johns-Hopkins University Press, 1986. Five Prospector libraries own.
- Madawi al-Rasheed. Contesting the Saudi State: Islamic Voices from a New Generation. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007. DS215 .A385 2007 Morgan
- Nadav Safran. Saudi Arabia: The Ceaseless Quest for Security. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1985. UA 853.S33 S24 1985 Movable Shelves
- A.M. (Aleksei Mikhailovich) Vasilev [Alexei Vassiliev]. The History of Saudi Arabia. New York: New York University Press, 1998. DS244 .V37 1998 Morgan
- Robert Vitalis. America's Kingdom: Mythmaking on the Saudi Oil Frontier. Stanford University Press, 2007. HD 9576.S334 A738 2007 Morgan
- ___________. "Black Gold, White Crude: An Essay on American Exceptionalism, Hierarchy, and Hegemony in the Gulf." Diplomatic History 26 (Spring 2002): 185-213. E 183.7 .D48 Movable Shelves. Also available online to CSU affiliates through record of the journal or via Citation Linker.
- ___________. "Crossing Exceptionalism's Frontiers to Discover America's Kingdom." Arab Studies Journal 6 (Spring 1998): 10-31. Not available locally.
- Daniel Yergin, The Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil, Money, and Power. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1992. HD9560.6 .Y47 1991 Morgan
Sites are divided by relating to the Middle East and U.S. foreign relations.
Middle East Studies Association (MESA). The University of Arizona.
"The Middle East Studies Association (MESA) is a non-profit association that fosters the study of the Middle East, promotes high standards of scholarship and teaching, and encourages public understanding of the region and its peoples through programs, publications and services that enhance education, further intellectual exchange, recognize professional distinction, and defend academic freedom in accordance with its status as a 501(c)(3) scientific, educational, literary, and charitable organization."
Middle East Research and Information Project (MERIP). CSU owns affiliated journal Middle East Report, call number DS 42 .M47 and online via JSTOR for back issues at least five years old: link to via MERIPonline.
"Since 1996, MERIP has maintained one of the most informative websites on Middle East politics, culture and society." . . . "[Solicits] writings and views from authors from the Middle East not often read in the West." Signed and dated articles.
"[A]n academic discussion forum where substantive information and analysis can be presented of Middle East current affairs and of its relevance to the foreign policy of states outside the region. The list takes the entire area from Morocco to Malaysia and from Kazakhstan to Somalia as its purview. The emphasis is on contemporary politics." Web site has recent messages and discussion logs.
* Informed Comment *: Juan Cole's Blog on Current Events. Juan Cole. Professor of Modern Middle East and South Asian History at the University of Michigan.
"Thoughts on the Middle East, History, Islam, and Religion." Comments and essays on current events. Archives of selected postings and topics. Includes feedback and replies.
American Diplomacy: Foreign Service Dispatches and Periodical Reports on United States Foreign Policy. American Diplomacy Publishers. Chapel Hill, NC.
Includes Commentary and Analysis (statements and interviews), Special Reports, Book Reviews, and more. Established in 1996. Click on Journal Archives to browse by topic, author/contributor, year, department, and special sections. May be searched by names or keywords.
"H-DIPLO is dedicated to the study of diplomatic and international history, broadly defined." Web site has recent messages and discussion logs. Book reviews, bibliographies (a start), and anticipated other resources.
U.S. Department of State. Bureau of Public Affairs, U.S. Department of State.
Biographical information for Ambassadors/Chiefs of Mission overseas. Information on organization and mission, bureaus and offices, and much more.
"The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent Federal agency that preserves our nation's history and defines us as a people by overseeing the management of all Federal records." Twelve Presidential libraries can be accessed from this site (all 20th century) and these include primary sources for original research on U.S. foreign policy. Includes digital images of key charter documents from U.S. history. Links to primary Congressional documents.
National Security Archive. The George Washington University.
"[A] research institute on international affairs, a library and archive of declassified U.S. documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, a public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information through the FOIA, and an indexer and publisher of the documents in books, microfiche, and electronic formats." News, documents, and publications. Archive projects include: Chile; China and the United States; China and the Bomb; Cuba; Guatemala; Honduras; India-Pakistan; Intelligence Policy; Iran; Israel; Japan; Mexico; Nuclear History; and Openness in Russia and Eastern Europe. Kind and extent of information varies.
Council on Foreign Relations. Slow to load.
"The Council on Foreign Relations is dedicated to increasing America’s understanding of the world and contributing ideas to U.S. foreign policy." Publishes Foreign Affairs (D 410 .F6 Journal Room). Covers wide variety of topics: economics, finance, and trade; energy, resources and environment; globalization; governance and human rights; homeland security; international law; international organizations; media and public opinion; national security and defense; peace and conflict; science and technology; social and cultural issues; terrorism; and U.S. policy and politics. Links to these pages not working on day visited. Foreign Affairs journal has current and back issue table of contents (certain back issues for sale). Table of contents a useful way to track issues of the day from October 1973 to the present.
Prof. Richard Immerman's Bibliography. Department of History. Temple University.
"A Far from Inclusive but Still Rather Intimidating Bibliography on U.S. Diplomatic History from 1918 to 1975, Give or Take a Few Years." Lengthy list of sources.
"The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States." Carnegie Programs includes a link for the Middle East. Off of the Middle East page there are tab sections for news, program events, publications (by date, type, author, title, and topic).
Iraq Wars Bibliography. Edwin E. Moïse. Clemson University.
Extensive list of books, with a few Web sites and other types of publications (scattered). Books are arranged topically by: General and Miscellaneous; U.S. Policy: Overall; Iraq; The Iran-Iraq War, and U.S. Involvement in It; The First U.S. - Iraq War: Desert Shield and Desert Storm: Overall Desert Storm and Miscellaneous, Air Power Desert Storm, Friendly Fire, Ground War Desert Storm, Covert & Special Ops Desert Storm, Media Desert Storm, Medical Consequences of Desert Storm, Navy Desert Storm, and Iraq Between the Two American Wars; WMDs and Accusations about Iraqi Links with al Qaeda; The Second U.S. - Iraq War (2003- ): General and Miscellanous, U.S. Policy, On the Ground, Post 2003 (Military, British Military, Abu Ghraib and Related Issues), Contractors and Contracting, Media, and Medical Consequences.
The CIA in Iran. James Risen. New York Time Special Report.
Report that gives an overview (with details) of the "secret history of [the Central Intelligence Agency's] covert operation to overthrow Iran's government in 1953." The document discussed is available in PDF.
The following subject terms are recommended for identifying items on the Middle East and U.S. foreign relations in the library catalog, and Prospector (the Colorado Union Catalog). Books may be requested from Prospector by CSU library card holders. To identify recent titles only (or older titles only), limit your search by year; click on the limit/sort button and type in years in the boxes after YEAR of publication. And/or use the sort mechanism to list title by year or reverse year.
These subject headings should work in any library catalog which uses Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Egypt -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Iran -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Iraq -- History -- 1921-
Islam -- History.
Islam and politics -- Middle East
Islamic Empire -- History.
Israel -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Israel -- History.
Israel-Arab War, 1967.
Jewish-Arab relations -- History -- 1917-1948.
Middle East -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Middle East -- History -- 1517-
Middle East -- History -- 20th century.
Middle East -- Politics and government -- 1945-
Middle East -- Relations -- United States.
Nationalism -- Middle East.
Palestine -- History -- 1917-1948.
Palestinian Arabs. Petroleum industry and trade -- Saudi Arabia.
Petroleum industry and trade -- United States.
Saudi Arabia -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Turkey -- History -- Ottoman Empire, 1288-1918
United States -- Foreign relations -- Egypt.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Iran.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Israel.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Middle East.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Saudi Arabia.
United States -- Relations -- Middle East.
Women -- Arab countries -- Social conditions.
Zionism -- History.
Indexes & Abstracts
Use indexes and abstracts to identify articles by subject. These online indexes are available to CSU affiliates only.
Academic Search Premier. Coverage varies by title. Updated 6 times a year.
Select articles are available full text (it is possible to search exclusively for full text articles only, but this is not recommended for serious research). Use SFX for others. Some subject headings (do a search using the most specific one related to your topic of interest and then combine with other term(s) if still have more result than you want to look at):
|Arab-Israeli conflict -- 1993- -- Peace
Iraq War, 2003
Israel-Arab Border Conflicts, 1949-
Israel-Arab War, 1973
Israel -- Foreign relations
Middle East -- History
Middle East -- History -- 20th century
Petroleum industry & trade
Political crimes & offenses
United States -- Foreign relations -- Middle East
JSTOR. Articles 3-5 years old and older; all full text and most or all starting with volume 1.
Search Middle East Studies journals: Journal of the American Oriental Society, International Journal of Middle East Studies, Journal of Near Eastern Studies, Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, MERIP Reports, Hebraica, Bulletin (British Society for Middle Eastern Studies), Pakistan Forum, Journal of Palestine Studies, MERIP Middle East Report, Middle East Report, American Journal of Semitic Languages and Literatures, Alif: Journal of Comparative Poetics, British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies, and Bulletin of the School of Oriental Studies, University of London. Also other areas: History, Geography, Economics, Policital Science, etc. Select the journal area(s) of most interest before doing your search (required). Can limit by year and for articles, reviews, opinions, and other items.
PAIS International. 1982- .
Covers a wide range of subjects, including culture, religion, economic conditions, economic policy, environmental policy, government, health conditions, health policy, human rights, international relations, labor conditions, labor policy, and ethics. Some subject headings (do a search using the most specific one related to your topic of interest):
|Anti-Semitism -- Middle East
Arab states -- Government and politics
Conflict -- Middle East
Jews -- Public opinion
Iraq -- Reconstruction
Iraq war, 2003
Islam and politics -- International aspects
Israel -- Military policy
Middle East -- Foreign relations -- United States
Middle East -- Government and politics
|Military occupation -- Iraq
Muslims -- Political attitudes
Negotiation -- Middle East
Peace -- Middle East
Persian gulf conflict, 1991
Petroleum industry -- Iraq
Prejudice -- Middle East
September 11, 2001 attacks
United States -- Armed forces -- Forces in Iraq
United States -- Defenses
United States -- Foreign relations -- Iraq
United States -- Foreign relations -- Middle East
See also Medieval Middle East History.
Colorado State University
1019 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019