History

This page has information and links to information related to history. See Biographical Research for history of individual people. For specific time periods, places/areas, and/or topics see left-hand side for topics.

Primary Sources for Historical Research Introduction

Historical research encompasses two forms of sources, also know as "evidence": primary and secondary.  "Primary evidence records the actual words of someone who participated in or witnessed the events described.....Secondary evidence records the findings of someone who did not observe the event but who investigated primary evidence."  [Jules R. Benjamin, A Student's Guide to History, 6th edition, (NY: St. Martin's Press, 1994), p. 7.]

Primary evidence can include newspapers, diaries, letters, interviews,  speeches, laws, other official statements, and works written by individuals with first-hand knowledge of an event. When in doubt, check with your professor!

Electronic Resources:  
Databases      Web Sites     Hints for: Searching for Books 

Print Sources: American, Western/Frontier/Native American, Other Areas of the World  

Microfilm/Microfiche Sources: American, Western/Frontier/Native American, Other Areas of the World

Primary Source Documents: Themes (alphabetical) and same list Themes (roughly chronological) with North America separated from rest of the world.

Databases

Linked below are some electronic resources useful for searching historical topics.

America:  History and Life. 

Indexes articles pertaining to American history.  No full text.  For primary sources, try a keyword search with the word "diaries."  For example: frontier women diaries

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries.

Full text database specifically for primary sources.  Follow screen instructions.

American State Papers

Full text database for congressional and executive department reports and documents for 1789-1838.  See also entry for US Congressional Serial Set below.

Black Thought and Culture.  From the eighteenth century forward.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries.  Covers 1500-1900.

Congressional Publications

Indexes House and Senate reports, documents, hearings, and committee prints.  Print volumes must be requested from storage using volume number.

Declassified Documents Reference System. 

These formerly classified government publications are now available to researchers.

Early Encounters in North America

Full text data base specifically for primary sources.

The Gilded Age. Alexander Street Press.

Items in this database range from primary sources that were created in 1865 to contemporary scholarship.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles pertaining to European, Asian, African, and Oceania history after 1500.  No full text.  For primary sources, try a keyword search with the word "diaries."  For example: boer war diaries

New York Times, 1851-2001

Full text coverage of this important newspaper.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories.

Covers immigrants to the US and Canada, 1800-1950.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text database specifically for primary sources.  Follow screen instructions.

US Congressional Serial Set

Provides searchable fulltext in facsimile format, beginning in 1817.  When completed in 2008, this database will encompass 1789-1980.  Included are many congressional committee reports, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, executive department publications, and maps and illustrations.  This is a key resource for primary documents pertaining to American history.  See also the listing for the American State Papers database above.

Web

Use these web resources for research.

American Journeys

Full text eyewitness accounts of North American exploration from the Vikings to the early 1800s.

American Memory

This site at the Library of Congress includes numerous full text collections in many subject areas.  Start  by clicking on either "Collection Finder" or "Search."

American State Papers .

This site at the Library of Congress provides full text searching for the American State Papers, a collection of congressional and executive documents from 1789 to 1838.  NOTE: CSU users have separate access to the American State Papers; see the entry in the database section above.

British History Online

Especially useful for full text primary sources from the British Parliament from 1509 to 1739.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation

Full text Congressional documents and debates, 1774-1873.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Beta).

Library of Congress. Read newspapers from 1900-1910 (from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents (University of Oklahoma). 

Includes full text documents from pre-colonial to the present.

Colorado's Historic Newspapers

Full text of newspapers from 1859 to the early 20th century.

CSU Libraries Archives and Special Collections

Includes Water Resources and Agricultural and Natural Resources Archives; University publications, records and photographs; manuscript and rare book collections.

Douglass: Archives of American Public Address (Northwestern University). 

Full text of speeches from colonial times to the present.

Footnote TM

There is a lot on this site that is not free, but free materials available are selected: US milestone documents, Project Blue Book (UFO reports), and the Pennsylvania archives

Freedom of Information Act FBI Records: The Vault

This FBI site includes primary documents pertaining to investigations from the Al Capone to Zionist Organization of America.

Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives.  Print version at AE1.108.G94/V1-3 Doc Ref.  Indexing only -- no full text.

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights. (Thurgood Marshall Law Library. University of Maryland School of Law). 

Find PDF versions of civil rights documents (coverage varies) from 1957 forward. By title, date, subject, and SuDoc number.

Library of Western Fur Trade Historical Source Documents

Includes full text excerpts from a number of diaries, narratives, and letters.

Making of America

Full text primary sources for most of the 19th-century.

100 Milestone Documents of American History

Includes court cases and Congressional legislation.

PBS-- The West -- Archives

Brief full text resources pertaining to the American West from before 1806 to 1914.

RSAP: Resources for Research: Periodicals

Links to numerous full text sites for historical periodicals. Sites at Cornell University and the University of Michigan are the best starting points.

Schoenberg Center for Electronic Texts & Image (SCETI). University of Pennsylvania Library. 

Has "virtual facsimiles of rare books and manuscripts in the Penn Library's collections."

World War I Document Archive.  Full text primary sources.

Searching for Books

Hints for Searching for Books:
To find books  consisting of primary source material, use the library catalog.  Here are some methods for identifying primary sources:

Search historical persons as authors rather than subjects.  Examples:
King, Martin Luther
Catherine of Cleves
Caesar, Julius

Do a word search that combines your topic with autobiographical sources.  Examples:
slavery and (narratives or diaries or letters or memoirs)
frontier women and (narratives or diaries or letters or memoirs)

Do a word search on your topic, limiting the results to items published during the relevant time frame.
Usually only works with historical episodes and events from 1900 to the present.  Example:
 world war 
[after] 1913 [and before] 1919

See also Identify primary sources in the library catalog for subject terms that identify primary sources.

Print Sources

Printed sources, by category.

Items without a listed location are found in Morgan stacks.

American

American Charters, Constitutions and Organic Laws 1492-1988    Y1.1 731 Doc
American Foreign Policy, 1950-1980    S1.71/2 Doc
American Slave    E444 .A45
American State Papers, 1789-1832    Y1.1/1 Doc
Annals of America [1493-1973]  E173 .A793
Black Abolitionist Papers   E449 .B624
Circular Letters of Congressmen to Their Constituents, 1789-1829   E310 .C55
Colonial Records of North Carolina    F251 .N6
Documentary History of the State of New York    F122 .D64
Documentary History of U.S. Foreign Policy, 1945-1973    E744 .S395 Storage
Documents Illustrative of the History of the Slave Trade to America    E441 .D69
Documents of the American Revolution [21 volumes]  E203 .G68 1972
Documents on American Foreign Relations, 1958-1973    JX231 .D6
Emerging Nation...Foreign Relations...1780-1789   AE1 114/3 N21 Doc
Eyewitness History Series    [call numbers vary]
Foreign Relations of the United States [1862-1968]   S1.1 Doc
Historic Documents [1972 to date]  E839.5 .H57 Ref
History of American Presidential Elections    E183 .S28
I Was Born a Slave    E444 .I18
Lafayette in the Age of the American Revolution    E207 .L2A4 Storage
Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789    LC134 Doc
Makers of America  [1536-1970]  E184 .A1M65 Storage
March of America Facsimile Series [16th--19th centuries]   [call numbers vary]
Massachusetts Historical Society Collections    F61 .M41 Storage
Naval Documents of the American Revolution    D207 I2 Doc
New York Historical Society Collections    F116 N63 Storage
Official Record of the Union and Confederate Navies    W45.5 Doc
[Papers of] Charles Francis Adams, Samuel Adams, Aaron Burr, William Byrd, John C. Calhoun, Salmon P. Chase, Henry Clay, Jefferson Davis, Frederick Douglass, Elizabeth Drinker, Benjamin Franklin, William Lloyd Garrison, Samuel Gompers, Nathanael Green, Alexander Hamilton, John Hays, Patrick Henry, Edward M. House, Martin Luther King, Henry Laurens, John Marshall, Cotton Mather, Robert Morris, William Penn, Chief John Ross, Samuel Sewall, John Smith, Thaddeus Stevens, Adlai Stevenson, Charles Sumner, Booker T. Washington, Daniel Webster, John Winthrop [search these individuals as authors in SAGE to locate these multi-volume sets]
Pearl Harbor...Hearings    Y4 P31 P31 Doc
Plymouth Colony Records    F68 .N55 Storage
Presidential Campaign Activities of 1972    Y4 P92/4 [or P92] Doc
Proceedings... of... Parliament Respecting North America, 1754-1783    E187 .G79
Public Papers of the Presidents...    AE2 113...Doc
Public Records of Connecticut    F97 .C7
Report of the [Ku Klux Klan Conspiracy]    Y1.1.5 42/41 Doc
Rhode Island Colonial Records    F76 .R29
Serial Set of Congressional Publications, 1832?-    
--No call number, request from Storage. Use CIS US Serial Set Index. Y 1.9: Docs Ref to identify.
Slavery, Abolition and Emancipation    E446 .S617
Treaties ... of the United States of America, 1776-1949    S9 12/2 Doc
Travels in New England and New York    F8 .N95
U.S. Army in the [First] World War    D114.8 Doc
U.S. Immigration Commission Reports, 1907-1910    Y3 Im6.2 Im 6 Doc
U.S. Industrial Commission Reports, 1901    Y3 In2/2 R29 Doc
War of the Rebellion: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies    W45.5 Doc
Wisconsin State Historical Society Collections    F576 .W816
Women and Child Wage Earners in the U.S.    Y3 W84/15 1 1910 Doc
 

Western/Frontier/Native American

American Exploration and Travel Series [call numbers vary]
Anza's California Expeditions    F864. B68 Storage
Covered Wagon Women    F591. C79
Early Western Travels [series]    F592. T54
Expeditions of John Charles Fremont    F592. H2
Far West and the Rockies Series    F591. F35
Far Western Frontier [series] [call numbers vary]
First White Women over the Rockies    BV3703 .D7 Storage
Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition    F592.4 1983
Journals of Zebulon Montgomery Pike    F592.P. 63 Special
Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties    I.1.107:6 Doc Ref
Lakeside Classics [series] [call numbers vary]
Mid-American Frontier [series] [call numbers vary]
News of the Plains and Rockies, 1803-1865 [series]   F591  .W67
Papers concerning Robertson's Colony in Texas    F389 .M17
[Schoolcraft's] History of the Indian Tribes of the United States    I20.2:In2 1975 Doc
Southwest Historical Series    F786 .S75 Storage
U.S. Indian Claims Commission Reports    Y3 In2/6 Doc
Western Frontier Library [series] [call numbers vary]
Women in the West [series] [call numbers vary]
 

Other Areas of the World

Ancient Christian Writers    BR60...
Ancient Records of Egypt    DT57.B76
Ante-Nicene Fathers    BR60....
British Documents on Foreign Affairs, 1837-1914    JX632 .B74 Storage
British Documents on the Origins of the War, 1898-1914    D505 .G68
[British Parliamentary Papers Checklist, 1801-1899]    Z2019 .I73 Ref
Documents on British Foreign Policy, 1919-1939    DA566.7 .A18
Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1918-1945    S1 82 Doc
Documents on International Affairs, 1936-1963    D442 .D6
English Historical Documents    DA26 .E55 Ref
Fathers of the Church    BR60.... Storage & Morgan (varies by title)
Hakluyt Society Works [on Exploration]   G161 .H22
History of Al-Tabari  [Islam to 915]    DS38.2 .T313 Storage
Loeb Classical Library [of Greek Authors]    PA3612...
Loeb Classical Library [of Roman Authors]    PA6156....
Marx Engels Collected Works    HX39.5 .A16 Storage
Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers    BR60...
[Papers/Writings of] John Calvin, Jacques Casanova, Winston S. Churchill, Lorenzo De Medici, John Evelyn, Mahatma Gandhi, William Gladstone, Friedrich Von Holstein, V. I. Lenin, Mao Tse-Tung, Daniel O'Connell, Samuel Pepys, St. Augustine, Jan Smuts, Joseph Stalin, Gustav Stresemann, Leon Trotsky [search these individuals as authors in cata log to locate these multi-volume sets]
People's Republic of China, 1949-1979    DS777.55 .P4243
Political Writings of the 1790's    DA520 .P78
Readings in Western Civilization    CB245 .U64 Ref
Source Records of the Great War    D521 .H6
Soviet Military Thought    D301 79 Doc
[Trials of  Nazi War Criminals]    D102/8 Doc

Microfilm/Microfiche Sources

Microfilm/Microfiche Sources by category.
Some microfilm/microfiche sets include printed guides.  These are listed in the library catalog along with the microfilm/microfiche set itself.

American

American Periodicals Series, 18th Century    Z6951 .U7 microfilm
American Women's Diaries (Western Women)    HQ1438 .A17 .A43 1991 microfilm
Americans for Democratic Action Papers, 1932-1965    E743 .A583 microfilm
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865    E449 .B625 1981 microfilm
[Colonial History of the State of New York]    F122 .D66 microfilm
Early American Newspapers    AN .A12 microfilm
New York Times, 1851-    AN1 .N4 microfilm
[Newspapers from Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, and Washington.  To identify specific newspapers, search SAGE, combining "newspapers" and{name of state}.]
Pamphlets in American History, 1775-1783    E173 .P35 1979 microfiche
Papers of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789    E303 .U56 microfilm
Records of...the African Slave Trade    E448 .U53 [and .U532] microfilm
Revolutionary War Prize Cases    E203 .U56 microfilm
Selected Americana from Sabin's Dictionary of Books    Z1201 .S43 1965 microfiche


Western/Frontier/Native American

American Indian Periodicals, 1939-1983    E75 .A543 microfilm/microfiche
Denver Post, 1894-    AN .D4 microfilm
Documents Relating to the Negotiation [of treaties]   I20.2/2:N31 Doc microfilm
Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs 1824-1881    I20.51 Doc microfilm
Letters Sent by the Indian Division...1849-1903    E93 .U66 microfilm
Plains and the Rockies [check SAGE for listing of items]    W5 W22 microfiche
Guide to Survey of Conditions of the Indians....    E93 .U54 1975 microfilm
Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869   I20.2/2:T71 Doc microfilm
Rocky Mountain News, 1859-1947    AN .R6 microfilm
Survey of Indian Reservations, 1935    E78 .S63 S7 microfilm
Territorial Papers [of Arizona, Colorado, etc]    F666 through F826 microfilm

Other Areas of the World

Early English Books, 1641-1700    AC1 .E52 microfilm
Frankfurter Zeitung, 1918-1933    AN .F65 microfilm
Freiheit-Berlin, 1918-1931    AN .F7 microfilm
German Army High Command, 1938-1945    D757.1 .G47 microfilm
German Reparations Papers, 1922-1930    D648 .A57 microfilm
Izvestiia, 1917-1971    AN .I9 microfilm
Japan Times, 1941-1944    AN .J3 microfilm
North China Herald, 1850-1941    AN .N67 microfilm
Observer [London], 1965-    AN .O82 microfilm
O.S.S....Latin America, 1941-1961    F1418 .L3562 microfilm
O.S.S.....Postwar Europe    D824 .P67 1977 microfilm
Pravda, 1917-1953    AN .P7 microfilm
Stresemann Papers, 1887-1929   D231 .S83 A3 microfilm
Times [of London], 1785-    AN .T5 microfilm

These thematic topical collections have historical background that provides context for the primary source documents within each book. Print or online, these are useful resources for finding primary sources. Online ebooks available to CSU affiliates only.

  • The American Environment: Readings in the History of Conservation. S930 .N36 1976 Morgan
  • The American Revolution (1754-1805). E203 .A5727 2013 Morgan & TAROnline
  • American West (1836-1900). F591 .A547 2015 Morgan & AmWOnline
  • Ancient World (2700 B.C.E.- c. 500 C.E). D59 .A53 2015 Morgan & AnWOnline
  • The Ancient World: Extraordinary People in Extraordinary Societies. AnWEPESOnline
  • Asia (500 BCE-1995). A500Online
  • The British Inheritance: A Treasury of Historic Documents. DA32.5 .B69 1999 Reference
  • Charlemagne's Survey of the Holy Land: Wealth, Personnel, and Buildings of a Mediterranean Church between Antiquity and the Middle Ages: With a Critical Edition and Translation of the Original Text. DS111.1 .M38 2011 Morgan
  • The Civil Rights Movement. E185.61 .L519 1998 Morgan
  • Civil Rights (1954-2015). JC599.U5 C58 2015 Morgan & CROnline
  • The Civil War, 1860-1865. E464 .C4384 2014 Morgan & TCW1Online
  • The Civil War in Words and Deeds [database; coverage 1860-1865]. TCWWDOnline
  • The Cold War (1945-1991). E813 .C65 2016 Morgan
  • Cold War Reference Library Vol. 5 Primary Sources. CWRLV5Online
  • Dictionary of Historic Documents. Rev. ed. D9 .D525 2003 Reference
  • Dissent & Protest (1635-2017). HM881 .D57 2017 Morgan & DP1Online
  • A Documentary History of Communism. Upd. rev. ed. HX313 .D64 1984A Storage Access
  • The 18th Century (1701-1800). T18COnline
  • The Emergence of Modern America (1874-1917). E661 .E447 2014 Morgan & TEMAOnline
  • English Historical Documents. DA26 .E55 1979 Reference
  • Environment & Conservation (1791-2015). S930 .E58 2016 Morgan
  • Exploration & Colonial America (1492-1755). E187 .E96 2013 Morgan & ECAmOnline
  • The Great Depression. E806 .G827 2002 Curriculum
  • Great Documents of the World: Milestones of Human Thought. CB5 .G7 Reference
  • Immigration & Immigrant Communities (1650-2016). IICOnline
  • The Israel-Arab Reader: A Documentary History of the Middle East Conflict. DS119.7 .I8256 2016 Morgan
  • The Legacy of 9/11. DS35.74.U6 L44 2018 Morgan & TLo9Online
  • LGBTQ+ (1923-2017). KF4754.5 .L495 2018 Morgan & LGBTQOline
  • Manifest Destiny & the New Nation (1803-1859). E338 .M25 2013 Morgan & MDtNNOnline
  • Memories of the Enslaved: Voices from the Slave Narratives. MEVSNOnline
  • The Middle Ages (476-1500). D113 .M53 2015 Morgan & MAOnline
  • The Middle East (141 BCD-2017). TMEOnline
  • Milestone Documents in African American History. 2nd ed. E184.6 .M55 2017 Morgan & MDAfAHOnline
  • Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped America. E173 .M62 2008 Reference & MDAHOnline
  • Milestone Documents in World History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped the World. D5 .M54 2010 Morgan & MDWHEPOnline
  • Milestone Documents of American Leaders: Exploring the Primary Sources of Notable American Leaders. 1st ed. E173 .M623 2009 Reference; 2nd ed. E173 .M63 2017 Morgan & MDAL2Online
  • Milestone Documents of World Religions. 2nd ed. MDWROnline
  • Nationalism & Populism (320 BCE-2017 CE). JC311 .N38 2017 Morgan & NaPOnline
  • Native Americans (1451-2017). E77 .N38 2017 Morgan &  NAOnline
  • The 1900s (1900-1909.) E756 .A19 2016 Morgan
  • The 19th Century (1801-1900). T19COnline
  • The 1910s (1910-1919). E761 .A19 2016 Morgan & 1910Online
  • The 1920s (1920-1929). 1920Online
  • The 1930s (1930-1939). 1930Online
  • The 1950s (1950-1959). 1950Online
  • The 1960s (1960-1969). 1960Online
  • 1960s Counterculture: Documents Decoded. [Requested 3/22/19]
  • The 1970s (1970-1979). 1970Online
  • Our Documents: 100 Milestone Documents from the National Archives. E173 .U62 2003 Morgan
  • Political Campaigns, Candidates & Debates (1787-2017). JK2281 .P65 2018 Morgan & PCCDOnline
  • Postwar 1940s (1945-1950). 1940Online
  • Reconstruction Era (1865-1877). E668 .R385 2014 Morgan & REraOnline
  • Renaissance & Early Modern Era (1308-1600). REMEOnline
  • Scottish Women: A Documentary History, 1780-1914. HQ1593 .S36 2013 Morgan
  • Secrets, Leaks & Scandals. JF1525.S4 S43 2018 Morgan & SLSOnline
  • Select Historical Documents of the Middle Ages. D113 .H49 1968 Morgan
  • The 17th Century (1601-1700). T17COnline
  • Supreme Court Decisions (1803-2017). KF4550 .S838 2017 Morgan & SCDOnline
  • The 20th Century (1900-1950). D411 .A2 2018 Morgan & 20thCOnline
  • The Vietnam War (1956-1975). DS557.4 .V54 2015 Morgan & VWOnline
  • When Christians First Met Muslims: A Sourcebook of the Earliest Syriac Writings on Islam. BP160 .P46 2015 Morgan & WCFMMOnline
  • Women's Rights (1429-2017). HQ1236 .W65267 2018 Morgan & WoROnline
  • World War I (1914-1919). D742.U5 W66 2015 Morgan & WWIOnline
  • World War II (1939-1946). D742.U5 W66 2015 Morgan & WWIIOnline

Primary Source Documents: Themes (Roughly Chronological)

These thematic topical collections have historical background that provides context for the primary source documents within each book. Print or online, these are useful resources for finding primary sources. Online ebooks available to CSU affiliates only.

Non-North America Parts of the World

  • Ancient World (2700 B.C.E.- c. 500 C.E). D59 .A53 2015 Morgan & AnWOnline
  • The Ancient World: Extraordinary People in Extraordinary Societies. AnWEPESOnline
  • Nationalism & Populism (320 BCE-2017 CE). JC311 .N38 2017 Morgan & NaPOnline
  • Asia (500 BCE-1995). A500Online
  • Charlemagne's Survey of the Holy Land: Wealth, Personnel, and Buildings of a Mediterranean Church between Antiquity and the Middle Ages: With a Critical Edition and Translation of the Original Text. DS111.1 .M38 2011 Morgan
  • Dictionary of Historic Documents. Rev. ed. D9 .D525 2003 Reference
  • English Historical Documents. DA26 .E55 1979 Reference
  • The Israel-Arab Reader: A Documentary History of the Middle East Conflict. DS119.7 .I8256 2016 Morgan
  • The Middle Ages (476-1500). D113 .M53 2015 Morgan & MAOnline
  • The Middle East (141 BCD-2017). TMEOnline
  • Milestone Documents in World History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped the World. D5 .M54 2010 Morgan & MDWHEPOnline
  • Milestone Documents of World Religions. 2nd ed. MDWROnline
  • Renaissance & Early Modern Era (1308-1600). REMEOnline
  • Women's Rights (1429-2017). HQ1236 .W65267 2018 Morgan & WoROnline
  • Scottish Women: A Documentary History, 1780-1914. HQ1593 .S36 2013 Morgan
  • Great Documents of the World: Milestones of Human Thought. CB5 .G7 Reference
  • Select Historical Documents of the Middle Ages. D113 .H49 1968 Morgan
  • The 17th Century (1601-1700). T17COnline
  • When Christians First Met Muslims: A Sourcebook of the Earliest Syriac Writings on Islam. BP160 .P46 2015 Morgan & WCFMMOnline

North America

  • Native Americans (1451-2017). E77 .N38 2017 Morgan & NAOnline
  • Exploration & Colonial America (1492-1755). E187 .E96 2013 Morgan & ECAmOnline
  • Milestone Documents in African American History [1619-2017]. 2nd ed. E184.6 .M55 2017 Morgan & MDAfAHOnline
  • Dissent & Protest (1635-2017). HM881 .D57 2017 Morgan & DP1Online
  • Immigration & Immigrant Communities (1650-2016). IICOnline
  • The 18th Century (1701-1800). T18COnline
  • Milestone Documents of American Leaders: Exploring the Primary Sources of Notable American Leaders. 1st ed. E173 .M623 2009 Reference; 2nd ed. E173 .M63 2017 Morgan & MDAL2Online
  • Our Documents: 100 Milestone Documents from the National Archives. E173 .U62 2003 Morgan
  • Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped America [1763-2017]. E173 .M62 2008 Reference & MDAHOnline
  • Political Campaigns, Candidates & Debates (1787-2017). JK2281 .P65 2018 Morgan & PCCDOnline
  • Environment & Conservation (1791-2015). S930 .E58 2016 Morgan
  • The American Environment: Readings in the History of Conservation. S930 .N36 1976 Morgan
  • The 19th Century (1801-1900). T19COnline
  • Supreme Court Decisions (1803-2017). KF4550 .S838 2017 Morgan & SCDOnline
  • Manifest Destiny & the New Nation (1803-1859). E338 .M25 2013 Morgan & MDtNNOnline
  • American West (1836-1900). F591 .A547 2015 Morgan & AmWOnline
  • The Civil War, 1860-1865. E464 .C4384 2014 Morgan & TCW1Online
  • The Civil War in Words and Deeds [database; coverage 1860-1865]. TCWWDOnline
  • Memories of the Enslaved: Voices from the Slave Narratives. MEVSNOnline
  • Reconstruction Era (1865-1877). E668 .R385 2014 Morgan & REraOnline
  • The Emergence of Modern America (1874-1917). E661 .E447 2014 Morgan & TEMAOnline
  • A Documentary History of Communism. Upd. rev. ed. HX313 .D64 1984A Storage Access
  • The Great Depression. E806 .G827 2002 Curriculum
  • LGBTQ+ (1923-2017). KF4754.5 .L495 2018 Morgan & LGBTQOline
  • The 20th Century (1900-1950). D411 .A2 2018 Morgan & 20thCOnline
  • The 1900s (1900-1909.) E756 .A19 2016 Morgan
  • The 1910s (1910-1919). E761 .A19 2016 Morgan & 1910Online
  • World War I (1914-1919). D742.U5 W66 2015 Morgan & WWIOnline
  • The 1920s (1920-1929). 1920Online
  • The 1930s (1930-1939). 1930Online
  • World War II (1939-1946). D742.U5 W66 2015 Morgan & WWIIOnline
  • Postwar 1940s (1945-1950). 1940Online
  • The Cold War (1945-1991). E813 .C65 2016 Morgan
  • Cold War Reference Library Vol. 5 Primary Sources. CWRLV5Online
  • The Civil Rights Movement. E185.61 .L519 1998 Morgan
  • Civil Rights (1954-2015). JC599.U5 C58 2015 Morgan & CROnline
  • Secrets, Leaks & Scandals. JF1525.S4 S43 2018 Morgan & SLSOnline
  • The 1950s (1950-1959). 1950Online
  • The Vietnam War (1956-1975). DS557.4 .V54 2015 Morgan & VWOnline
  • The 1960s (1960-1969). 1960Online
  • 1960s Counterculture: Documents Decoded. [Requested 3/22/19]
  • The 1970s (1970-1979). 1970Online
  • The Legacy of 9/11. DS35.74.U6 L44 2018 Morgan & TLo9Online

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/History | Print Page