History

This page has information and links to information related to history. See Biographical Research for history of individual people. For specific time periods, places/areas, and/or topics see left-hand side for topics.

Roman Republic Introduction

This page provides links and suggested resources that can be used for doing research on the Roman Republic. The emphasis is on the topic for Prof. Gaughan's history courses, this page having a focus on Cultural and Social Values in the Roman Republic. However, there are also items of interest to the topics of Transition from Republic to Empire (44 BC - 14 AD) and women in ancient history.

Reference Books                Web               Identifying Books               Indexes & Abstracts                Journals

Reference Books

Reference materials can be an extremely useful resource when conducting research. Depending upon your specific topic, you might consult one at the beginning, middle, or near the end of your research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library. GVRLonline to CSU affiliates.

Roman History

Atlas of the Roman World. DG 77 .C597 1982 REF
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. 14 vols. DE 5 .N4813 2002 REF
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition. 4 vols. DE 5 .P33213 REF
Cambridge Ancient History. 14 vols. (& parts) D 57 .C252 REF SOUTH
Chronicle of Roman Emperors. DG 274 .S28 1995 REF
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. DG 270 .B86 1994 REF
Who's Who in the Roman World. DG 203 .H39 2001 REF
World Eras: Roman Republic and Empire 264 B.C.E. -- 476 C.E. D 20 .W67 2001 v. 3 REF

Warfare (Includes Roman)

Battles of the Greek and Roman Worlds: A Chronological Compendium of 667 Battles to 31 BC from the Historians of the Ancient World. D 25 .A2 M66 2000 REF
Ground Warfare: An International Encyclopedia. 3 vols. D 25 A2 G76 2002 REF
Harper Encyclopedia of Military History. D 25 .D86 1993 REF
Invasions and Conquests from Ancient Times to the Present. D 25 .A2 D38 1996 REF
Oxford Companion to Military History. D 25 .A2 O94 2001 REF
100 Decisive Battles from Ancient Times to the Present. D 25 .D365 1999 REF

Women

Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Greek and Roman Women: Notable Women from Sappho to Helena. HQ1136 .L54 2000 Reference South
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World. HQ1127 .S25 2001 Reference South
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History. OEWWHonline to CSU affiliates. [e.g. Ancient Greece]

Web

The links in the first part of this section are taken directly from Prof. Gaughan's primary Web page (no longer available).

Ancient Sources

The Avalon Project Pre-18th Century Documents. Yale Law School. 

Approximately 120 documents, listed alphabetically. A heavy proportion of these have to do with early US charters, declarations, and grants, along with a large number of 17th century European documents. There are a few Roman documents; thus the link here. (For example, Agrarian Law; 111 B.C.) Source for documents is supplied near foot of each page.

Lacus Curtius: Into the Roman World. Bill Thayer. 

Greek and Latin texts (sometimes in English). Links to electronic reference-type books on Rome; these are annotated.

The Latin Library. Ad Fontes Academy. Multiple submitters (see credits). 

These are only texts in Latin, not in English. Alphabetical by name: Ammianus, Apuleius, Augustus, Aurelius Victor, Caesar, Cato, Catullus, Cicero, Claudian, Curtius Rufus, Ennius, Eutropius, Florus, Frontinus, Gellius, Historia Augusta, Horace, Justin, Juvenal, Livy, Lucan, Lucretius, Martial, Nepos, Ovid, Persius, Petronius, Phaedrus, Plautus, Pliny Maior, Pliny Minor, Propertius, Quintilian, Sallust, Seneca Maior, Seneca Minor, Silius Italicus, Statius, Suetonius, Sulpicia, Tacitus, Terence, Tibullus, Valerius Flaccus, Valerius Maximus, Varro, Velleius, Vergil, Vitruvius, Ius Romanum.(Miscellany, Christian, Medieval, Neo-Latin listed last.)

Perseus: The Classics Page at The Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. 

Texts (in modern translations and ancient original languages) and images from the classical world, as well as modern essays and arguments.

Rome. The Internet Ancient History Sourcebook. Paul Halsall. Fordham University. 

Links to selections on specific topics.

The Internet Classics Archive at MIT. 

This site had a meltdown recently, but they are trying to get everything up again.

Women

Diotima: Materials for the Study in Women and Gender in the Ancient World. 

"Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world. This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images."

Maps

Ancient World Mapping Center. Ancient World Mapping Center. 

Free maps for students. Site has link to Pleiades Web site ("historical geographic information about the Greek and Roman World in digital form").

Roman Empire. Ancient World Mapping Center. Free Maps. 

Links to maps. Maps have more than one version.

Romans (Information about)

Augustus (31 B.C. - 14 A.D.) Garrett G. Fagan. Pennsylvania State University. De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers

Background to and details of Augustus's biography. Has end notes and an extensive bibliography.

Augustus, Emperor of Rome, 63 B.C.-14 A.D. Open Library. 

Link goes to five books about Augustus that are available to read online. Click on the red [x] next to "Available" on the left-hand side to see a complete listing of titles.

Appian of Alexandria. Jona Lendering. LIVIUS.  Life and literature.

Cicero (c. 106-43 B.C.). Edward Clayton. Central Michigan University. Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  Lengthy article about Marcus Tullius Cicero.

Cicero. By Plutarch. Written 75 A.C.E. Translated by John Dryden.  Biography.

Livy. Walter Englert. Reed College. 

"This page is designed to provide a brief introduction to the Roman Historian Livy, and to provide tools for further research on his History, Ab Urbe Condita (From the Founding of the City)."

Plutarch (about 66 AD). Lives of Noble Grecians. Project Gutenberg. 

Full text of many of Plutarch's Lives of the Noble Grecians and Romans.

Valerius Maximus. Online Encyclopedia (1911). Copyright © 2007.  Biography.

Articles/Resources on the Web

The Classics Page at Ad Fontes Academy. Author not directly identifiable except for e-mail address. 

A lot of material in Latin. Search by author (drop down menu) or on listed page. Latin texts, Classical links of general interest, Classical associations and groups, Classical journals, Specials sites and home pages, Discussion lists, Images of the Ancient World, Latin Resources, etc. "The texts are not intended for research purposes nor as substitutes for critical editions. Despite constant effort to remove "scanner artifact" and other typographical errors, many such errors remain." "There are no translations at this site. Please don't ask."

Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum. David Camden. Copyright © 2003. 

Browse by author last name, title, genre, or date. A lot of material in Latin, but some translations into English (Italian, French). Lists secondary sources.

LIVIUS: Articles on Ancient History. Jona Lendering © 1996-2004. Dutch historian. 

Website on ancient history. See Ancient Rome: People, Magistracies, and Other Subjects.

Pressure Groups in Ancient Rome II—I B.C. Professor John Paul Adams. Modern and Classical Languages & Literatures. California State University Northridge. 

Gives overview of groups--who they were and what were their complaints .

Roman Army: Bibliography. Professor John Paul Adams. Modern and Classical Languages & Literatures. California State University Northridge. 

Extensive. General Works, Texts, Legions, Auxilia, Officers, Centurions, Optiones, Recruitment, Finance, Campaigns, Battles, and Military Areas, Army Life, Logistics, Training, The Roman Navy, Discharge, III Century Crisis, and Later, Other Items.

Identifying Books

Items may be requested from other libraries in Prospector, the Colorado Union Catalog, by Colorado State University affiliates and library card holder. Do a LC Subject (Subject) search for these terms in the library catalog (and Prospector) to identify books about the late Roman Republic:

  • Caesar, Julius.
  • Criminal law (Roman law)
  • Law enforcement -- Rome. [one title]
  • Rome -- Army.
  • Rome -- History -- Republic, 265-30 B.C.
  • Rome -- History -- Republic, 510-30 B.C.
  • Rome -- Army -- Political activity.
  • Rome -- Politics and Government -- 510-30 B.C.
  • Rome -- Politics and government -- 30 B.C.-476 A.D.
  • Rome -- History, Military.
  • Rome -- History, Military -- 265-30 B.C.
  • Rome -- History, Military -- 30 B.C.-476 A.D.

Be sure to look at subdivisions of these LCSH terms. For example: Rome -- Army -- Political Activity.

Here are some terms that focus on ancient history (not just Rome) and women (note: subject terms with "sources" at the end indicate primary sources); some of these terms will bring up items related to more contemporary (even 20th century) history as well as ancient history:

  • Civilization Classical
  • Greece History To 146 B C
  • History, Ancient
  • History, Ancient Maps
  • History, Ancient Sources
  • Rome Italy History To 476
  • Women Biography To 500
  • Women Greece
  • Women Greece History
  • Women Greece History Sources
  • Women Greece Social Conditions
  • Women History Chronology
  • Women History To 500
  • Women History To 500 Sources
  • Women Rome
  • Women Rome Biography
  • Women Rome History
  • Women Rome History Sources
  • Women Rome Social Conditions

Titles of interest to the topic of women in ancient history (see also reference books above)

Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks. DF78 .G276 2009 Morgan
The Female Portrait Statue in the Greek World. NB1296.3 .D56 2010 Morgan
Great Women of Imperial Rome: Mothers and Wives of the Caesars. DG203 .B87 2007 Morgan

Here are some terms for the transition to the Roman Empire (note: subject terms with "sources" at the end indicate primary sources):

  • Augustus Emperor of Rome 63 B C 14 A D
  • Rome -- History -- Augustus, 30 B.C.-14 A.D.
  • Rome History Augustus 30 B C 14 A D Sources
  • Rome -- Politics and government -- 30 B.C.-284 A.D.
  • Rome -- Politics and government -- Sources [2]
  • Rome Social Life and Customs

Loeb Classical Series
Are in the basement (lower level) of Morgan Library at PA 6156.

For example: (#152) Compendium of Roman history: Res gestae divi Augusti. With an English translation by Frederick W. Shipley. PA6156 .V3 Morgan (& 2 copies in Storage)

Other Library Catalog

Melvyl Catalogue. University of California.

Indexes & Abstracts

See How to Find Articles in Journals & Magazines for an overview of how to find articles. Indexes listed below would be identified as part of Step 1.

Print Index

Humanities Index. AI 3 .I495 Reference South 1974-98.  Do a subject search for Rome -- History, Military; Livy; Rome--Army.

CSU Indexes (Databases). Affiliates only.

Academic Search Premier. Years vary. 

Do a subject search for: Augustus, 30 B.C.-14 A.D.; Rome -- History; Plutarch; Livy; Rome--Army; Cicero, Marcus Tullius. Note: there are a number of book reviews in this index.

JSTOR. Years vary. 

History and Classical Studies journals are both recommended. Articles older than 3-5 years (varies) are all full text.

Project Muse

Search, for example: Augustus, Emperor of Rome, 63 B.C.-14 A.D.

Web Indexes (Databases)

L'annee philologique. Requires a subscription. CSU owns some years of the printed version. Z 7016 .M35A Moveable Shelves or Storage. Vols. 1-37 (1924-1966) are in Storage; Vols. 38, 39, 41, 44, 47, and 48 (1967-1977, scattered years) are in the Moveable Shelves. 

There are lists of abbreviations of ancient sources and journals that may be useful for researchers at the beginning of the printed volumes.

Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists (TOCS-IN)

"TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%)." Extensive. See inform.html (link not working Nov. 2009) for journals covered and the abbreviation used in TOCS-IN.

Journals

Classical Journals available in the library at CSU:
JRS = Journal of Roman Studies
(in regular stacks, and searchable via "Title," not "Journal Title")
Historia = Historia; Zeitschrift für alte Geschichte.
GRBS = Greek, Roman and Byzantine Studies
G&R = Greece and Rome
AJAH = American Journal of Ancient History
CA = Classical Antiquity
CQ = Classical Quarterly
CJ = The Classical Journal
CP = Classical Philology
CR = The Classical Review
CW = The Classical World

As in all research, be sure to evaluate what you find, be it an article, book, or Web page.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/History | Print Page