Slavery & Power in North America Introduction
This page provides links to materials that can be used for doing research on slavery and power in North America. It is not comprehensive. Much useful material for history is found in books. Additional resources (articles, etc.) are identified in the bibliographies of these books. Track these resources down for thorough research. See "identifying books" for subject terms used in library catalogs for materials on this topic. That said, there is a growing amount of useful research material, including primary resources, on the Web and through proprietary (a library purchases them) databases; some of these are linked to here (others can be found ont the US History page under summaries, artifacts & documents, listed just below).
See also United States of America (History) for additional links to Summaries, Artifacts & Documents that relate to American history in general. The topic of slavery will be included in some of the sites.
|Reference Books on US Slavery||Books of Interest (primary and monographs)||Slavery and the Atlantic Slave Trade, Web Sites|
|Primary U.S. Government & Other Documents||Indexes and Abstracts||American Civil War on the Web|
Reference books and atlases on U.S. slavery & African American history
- The African American Experience: An Historiographical and Bibliographical Guide. E184.65 .A37 2001 Reference
- Atlas of African-American History. E185 .C55 2001 Reference South
- Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery. E441 .D53 1988 Reference South
- Dictionary of American History. 3rd ed. 10 vols. E174 .D52 2003 Reference (Also online via the Gale Virtual Reference Library to CSU affiliates.)
- Encyclopedia of Antebellum South. F 213 .V65 2000 Reference
- Historical Dictionary of Slavery and Abolition. HT861 .K54 2002 Reference
- The Longman Companion to Slavery, Emancipation and Civil Rights. HT861 .H37 2001 Reference
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery. 2 vols. HT861 .M24 1998 Reference
- Race Relations in America: A Reference Guide with Primary Documents. E184.A1 D283 2006 Reference
- The Routledge Atlas of African American History. E185 .E125 2000 Reference South & Maps
Primary Government & Other Documents
Primary U.S. Government & other documents available online.
American State Papers, 1789-1838. CSU affiliates only.
Government materials. Shows scanned images of printed materials. View page by page. Under subject find: Slave traders [4 items]; Slaveholders ; Slaves .
Serial Set: U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. CSU affiliates only.
Government materials. Shows scanned images of printed materials. View page by page. Example subjects: Slave codes referred to: Black codes [17 items]; Slave insurrections [12 items]; Slave patrols [68 items]; Slave restitution [75 items]; Slave states and free states [166 items]; Slave trade [231 items]; Slave traders [34 items]; Slave Trade Prohibition Act (1807) ; Slaveholders ; Slavery ; Slavery and the church ; Slavery in U.S. territories ; Slavery justifications ; Slaves ; Slaves in free states and territories . Also (look at related terms on the right-hand side when looking at list of records): Gag rule (Legislative procedure); Abolitionists; Antislavery movements; Underground Railroad; 13th Amendment (U.S. Constitution); Insurgency; Amistad Affair.
Early American Imprints. Series I Evans 1639-1800. CSU affiliates only.
Sponsored by Irene Bostrom Endowment in the College of Liberal Arts. See also the Early American ImprintsSupplement, 1670-1800. Readex. The online collection may be searched by subject and browsed by genre, subjects, author, history of printing, place of publication and language. A search for "slaves" brings up 177 records; "property" brings up 385 records. Under Subjects, Labor, find listings for: Indentured servants [6 items]; Servants [19 items]; Slave records ; Slave trade ; Slavery ; Slaves .
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries. Alexander Street Press. CSU affiliates only. Primary source materials. 1855-1875.
The collection includes approximately 100,000 pages of published memoirs, letters and diaries from individuals.
Black Thought and Culture. Alexander Street Press. CSU affiliates only. Primary source materials. 1700-1975.
Non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. "Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, letters and other fugitive material. The collection also includes biographical essays by leading scholars and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database."
Do a Subject search for these terms in the library catalog (and Prospector). Note the divisions by years and major events. Social conditions are an important part of any historical research. After doing a search for the terms, also look at their subdivisions (i.e. Slavery United States History 19th Century):
To find items on a specific aspect of slavery, do a Keyword search for United States and slavery and that topic. For example:
- United States and slavery and women
Items may be requested from other libraries in Prospector, the Colorado Union Catalog, by Colorado State University affiliates.
- George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. 19 vols. E444 .A45 Morgan
- George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography: Supplement, Series 1. 12 vols. E444 .A45 SUPPL.1 Morgan
- George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography: Supplement, Series 2. 10 vols. E444 .A45 SUPPL.2 Morgan
Books of Interest
Published Primary Sources
- Edward C. L. Adams, Tales of the Congaree. PS3501.D21755 A6 1987 Morgan
- Ira Berlin, Free at Last: A Documentary History of Slavery. E185.2 .F8 1992 Morgan
- Ira Berlin, Ed., Remembering Slavery: African Americans Talk About Their Personal Experiences of Slavery and Freedom . E443 .R46 1998 Morgan and Electronic Media (Tapes)
- Herbert Aptheker, A Documentary History of the Negro People in the United States [1661-1910]. E185.A58 1963 Storage
- Charles Ball, Fifty Years in Chains; or, The life of an American Slave. E444 .B18 1969a Morgan
- Sidney Bechet, Treat It Gentle. ML419.B23 A3 1960aeb TIGOnline to CSU affiliates and 2nd edition: Treat it Gentle: An Autobiography. ML419.B23 A3 2002 Morgan
- Henry Bibb, The Life and Adventures of Henry Bibb: An American Slave. E444 .B58 2001 Morgan
- Henry Bibb, Narrative of the Life and Adventures of Henry Bibb, an American S lave. 3d stereotype edition. E444 .B58 1969 Storage
- Sarah H. Bradford, Harriet Tubman, the Moses of Her People. E444 .T894 1961 Morgan
- Fredrika Bremer, Homes of the New World: Impressions of America . 2 vols . E166 .B84 1968 Storage
- Henry Box Brown, Narrative of Henry Box Brown, W ho Escaped From Slavery Enclosed in a Box 3 Feet Long and 2 Wide . E450 .B873 1969 Morgan
- Sterling Brown, Arthur P. Davis, and Ulysses Lee, ed., Negro Caravan. PS508.N3 N34 1991 Morgan
- William Wells Brown, Narrative of William W. Brown, A Fugitive Slave. E444 B88 1969 Morgan
- Helen Tunnicliff Catterall, Judicial Cases Concerning American Slavery and the Negro. 5 vols. KF4545.S5 C3 1968 Storage
- The Correspondence of the Three William Byrds of Westover, Virginia, 1684-1776 . 2 vols. F229 .C8 Storage
- Elizabeth Donnan. Documents illustrative of the history of the slave trade to America. 4 vols. E441 .D69 Storage (T 9005-T 9008)
- Douglass, Frederick. Life and Times of Frederick Douglass. Facsim. Edition – Citadel Press, 1983: E449 .D738 1983 Morgan and New Revised edition (1895, 1892): Life and Times of Frederick Douglass: His Early Life as a Slave, His Escape From Bondage, and His Complete History to the Present Time, Including His Connection With the Anti-Slavery Movement ... . E449 .D744 1895 Morgan Frederick Douglass. My Bondage and My Freedom. New York: Dover Publications, Inc., 1969. Reprint 1855. Own: Miller, Orton & Mulligan, 1855: E449 .D738eb University of Illinois Press, 1987: E449 .D738 1987 Morgan; Penguin Books, 2003: E449 .D738 2003 Morgan; Unabridged ed., Humanity Books, 2002 (reprint of 1855) E449 .D738 2002 Morgan; Arno Press, 1968: E449 .D738 1968 Morgan; Yale Univ, 2003: E449 .D738 2003b Morgan; Frederick Douglass. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave. Univ of Virginia Library, 1996:2nd edition: St. Martin’s Press, 2003 (edited by David W. Blight): E449 .D74905 2003 Morgan; others
- Drums and Shadows: Survival Studies Among the Georgia Coastal Negroes. E185.93.G4 D78 1986 Morgan
- Olaudah Equiano, Equiano's Travels: The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano or Gustavus Vassa the African. On order. Check catalog to see if has arrived.
- William J. Faulkner, The Days When the Animals Talked: Black American Folktales and How They Came to Be. On order. Check catalog to see if has arrived.
- Louis Hughes, Thirty Years a Slave, from Bondage to Freedom; Autobiography. E444 H89 1969 Morgan
- Harriet Jacobs, Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl : Written By Herself. E444.J17 A3 1987 Morgan and Enlarged edition: E444.J17 A3 2000c Morgan
- Charles Lyell, A Second Visit to the United States of North America. 2 vols. E165 .L98 Storage
- Solomon Northup, Twelve Years a Slave: Narrative of Solomon Northup. On order. Check catalog to see if has arrived.
- Frederick Law Olmsted, A Journey in the Seaboard Slave States, With Remarks on Their Economy . F213 .O52 (1856) Storage (E 5043) and F213 .O523 (1968) Storage (U 3656)
- The Papers of Henry Laurens. 16 vols. E302 .L3 Storage (T 8612-T 8629)
- George Rawick, The American Slave: a Composite Autobiography . 19 vols. E444 .A45 Morgan. ALSO … : Supplement, Series 1 . 12 vols. E444 .A45 SUPPL.1 Morgan and … : Supplement, Series 2 . 10 vols. E444 .A45 SUPPL.2 Morgan
- Janet Schaw, A Journal of a Lady of Quality: Being the Narrative of a Journey from Scotland to the West Indies, North Carolina, and Portugal, in the Years 1774-1776 . F257 .S37 2005 Morgan.
- Mia Bay, The White Image in the Black Mind: African-American Ideas About White People, 1830-1925. E185.61 .B29 2000 Morgan
- Ira Berlin, Many Thousands Gone: The First Two Centuries of Slavery in North America. E446 .B49 1998 Morgan
- Ira Berlin, Generations of Captivity: A History of African-American Slaves. E441 .B47 2003 Morgan
- Robin Blackburn, The Making of New World Slavery: from the Baroque to the Modern, 1492-1800. 1 st edition. HT1048 .B56 1997 Morgan
- John Blassingame, Slave Community: Plantation Life in the Antebellum South . E443 B55 Morgan and revised edition: E443 .B55 1979 Morgan
- Jeffrey Bolster, Black Jacks: African American Seamen in the Age of Sail . VK221 .B65 1997 Morgan
- Breen, T. H. Tobacco Culture: The Mentality of the Great Tidewater Planters on the Eve of Revolution . F229 .B8 1985 Morgan
- Vincent Brown, The Reaper’s Garden: Death and Power in the World of Atlantic Slavery . HQ1073.5.J26 B76 2008 Morgan
- Trevor Burnard, Mastery, Tyranny, and Desire: Thomas Thistlewood and His Slaves in the Anglo-Jamaican World . HT1096 .B86 2004 Morgan
- Judith Carney, Black Rice: The African Origins of R ice Cultivation in the Americas . SB191.R5 C35 2001 Morgan
- Joyce E. Chaplin, An Anxious Pursuit: Agricultural Innovation and Modernity in the Lower South, 1730-1815 . F212 .C47 1993 Morgan
- Margaret Washington Creel, A Peculiar People: Slave Religion and Community-Culture Among the Gullahs (American Social Experience). On order. Check catalog to see if has arrived.
- Steven Deyle, Carry Me Back the Domestic Slave Trade in American Life. E449 .D525 2005eb CMBDSonline to CSU affiliates
- William Dusinberre, Them Dark Days: Slavery in the American Rice Swamps . E445.S7 D87 1996 Morgan
- Stanley Elkins, Slavery: A Problem in American Institutional and Intellectual Life . E441 .E44(1959) Storage (E 4815); 2 nd edition: E441 E44 1968 Storage (E 4816); 3 rd edition: E441 E44 1976 Morgan
- Dena Epstein, Sinful Tunes and Spirituals: Black Folk Music to the Civil War. ML3556 .E8 1977 Morgan
- Leland Ferguson, Uncommon Ground: Archaeology and Early African America, 1650-1800. SI 1.2/2:U 1 Documents (Morgan)
- Robert Fogel, Without Consent or Contract: The Rise and Fall of American Slavery. E441 .F63 1989 Morgan
- Sylvia Frey, Water from the Rock: Black Resistance in a Revolutionary Age. E269.N3 F74 1991 Morgan
- Eugene Genovese, Roll, Jordan, Roll: the World the Slaves Made. E443 G46 Morgan
- Michael Gomez, Exchanging Our Country Marks: the Transformation of African Identities in the Colonial and Antebellum South. E185.18 .G18 1998 Morgan
- Deborah Gray-White, Ar’n’t I a Woman: Female Slaves in the Plantation South . E443 .W58 1985 Morgan and Revised edition: E443 .W58 1999 Morgan
- Gwendolyn Midlo Hall. Africans in Colonial Louisiana: the Development of Afro-Creole Culture in the Eighteenth Century. ACLonline to CSU affiliates
- Gwendolyn Midlo Hall . Slavery and African Ethnicities in the Americas: Restoring the Links. E29.N3 H35 2005 Morgan
- Melville Herskovits, Myth of the Negro Past. HT1581 .H4 1958 Morgan
- Linda M. Heywood and John K. Thornton, Central Africans, Atlantic Creoles and the Foundation of the Americas, 1585-1660. E29.N3 H49 2007 Morgan
- Walter Johnson, Soul by Soul: Life Inside the Antebellum Slave Market. F379.N59 N4 1999 Morgan
- Norrece Jones, Born A Child of Freedom, Yet a Slave: Mechanisms of Control and Strategies of Resistance in Antebellum South Carolina . E445.S7 J66 1990 Morgan
- Charles Joyner, Down by the Riverside: A South Carolina Slave Community . F279.A43 J69 1984 Morgan and F279.A43 J69 1985b Morgan
- Winthrop Jordan, White Over Black: American Attitudes Toward the Negro, 1550-1812 . E185 .J67 1979 Morgan and Storage ( E 4782)
- Wilma King, Stolen Childhood: Slave Youth in Nineteenth-Century America . E441 .K59 1995 Morgan and Online to CSU affiliates
- Daniel C. Littlefield, Rice and Slaves: Ethnicity and the Slave Trade in Colonial South Carolina . E445.S7 L57 Morgan
- Leon Litwack, Been in the Storm So Long: the Aftermath of Slavery . E185.2 L57 1979 Morgan
- Edmund Morgan, American Slavery, American Freedom: the Ordeal of Colonial Virginia. E445.V8 M67 1975 Morgan
- Jennifer Morgan, Laboring Women: Reproduction and Gender in New World Slavery. Missing. Possibly on order. Check the library catalog. Available in Prospector.
- Philip Morgan, Slave Counterpoint: Black Culture in the Eighteenth-Century Chesapeake and Lowcountry . F232.C43 M67 1998 Morgan
- Anthony S. Parent, Foul Means: The Formation of a Slave Society in Virginia, 1660-1740 . E445.V8 P37 2003 Morgan
- U. B. Phillips, Life and Labor in the Old South. F209 .P56 1957 Storage (U 3615)
- George P. Rawick, From Sundown to Sunup; the Making of the Black Community. Not owned by CSU. Available in Prospector. See biographies on this page for extensive multi-volume title CSU does own with this editor.
- Marcus Rediker, The Slave Ship: A Human History. HT1322 .R42 2007 Morgan
- Michel-Rolph Trouillot, Silencing the Past: Power and the Production of History. On order. Check catalog to see if has arrived.
- Adam Rothman, Slave Country: American Expansion and the Origins of the Deep South . E446 .R67 2005 Morgan
- Stephanie Smallwood, Saltwater Slavery: a Middle Passage from Africa to American Diaspora . E441 .S65 2007 Morgan
- Mechal Sobel, The World They Made Together: Black and White Values in Eighteenth-Century Virginia . E185.93.V8 S64 1987 Morgan
- Kenneth Stampp, The Peculiar Institution: Slavery in the Ante-Bellum South . E441 .S8 Morgan and Storage
- Sterling Stuckey, Slave Culture: Nationalist Theory and the Foundations of Black America . E 441 .S97 1987 Morgan
- Sterling Stuckey, Going Through the Storm: The Influence of African American Art in History . NX512.3.A35 S78 1994 Morgan
- Robert Farris Thompson, Flash of the Spirit: African and Afro-American Art and Philosophy . E29.N3 T48 1983 Morgan
- John Thornton, Africa and Africans in the Making of the Atlantic World, 1400-1800. DT31 .T516 1998 Morgan
- John Michael Vlach, The Afro-American Tradition in Decorative Arts. N 6538 N5V57 Morgan
- Lorena S. Walsh, From Calabar to Carter’s Grove. F234.C35 W35 1997 Morgan
- Betty Wood, The Origins of American Slavery: Freedom and Bondage in the English Colonies . E446 .W87 1997 Morgan
- Peter Wood, Black Majority ; Negroes in Colonial South Carolina from 1670 Through the Stono Rebellion . E445.S7 W66 Morgan
- Gavin Wright, Slavery and American Economic Development. E441 .W83 2006 Morgan
Personal Accounts of Events (primary sources)
Personal accounts (primary sources) of events can be identified with the subdivision "Personal Narratives." Some of these are diaries or other forms of journals. Some are memoirs. For example:
- United States History Civil War, 1861-1865 Personal narratives
- United States History Civil War, 1861-1865 Personal narratives Confederate
Letters are found under correspondence. For example:
- Abolitionists United States Correspondence
- Douglass Frederick 1818 1895 Correspondence
Search within these large databases to find books on the topic of slavery and power.
- Digital Archives Initiative. Memorial University (Newfoundland, Canada).
- Digital Book Index. (Not all titles are free, so read carefully. More than 140,000 are free.) Copyright (C) 2000-2010 Digital Book Index. Thomas R. Franklin.
- Ebook and Texts Archive. University of Pittsburgh Library System.
- Gallica. Online Resources through the French National Library.
- The Online Books Page. (Over 1 million free books.) Edited by John Mark Ockerbloom.
- Online Gallery. British National Library.
- Open Library. Internet Archive.
- Project Gutenberg Archive of Online Books.
Note: Google Books is not listed above because many of the titles are not complete (rightly so, due to copyright restrictions). By all means search it, but the full text for a book will not necessarily be available.
Indexes & Abstracts
Identify articles by topic in these sources (these indexes are Step 1 of how to find articles). Some indexes have citations only and others have full text materials. See Truncation and Proximity Operators for advanced searching methods for these and other databases. See also print indexes for important contemporary sources.
America, History & Life. 1954- . AHLonline via "A-Z Databases." Only six CSU users at a time.
America: History & Life is a useful index for identifying articles and books to do with U.S. history.
Congressional Publications. CSU affiliates only.
Find full text of hearings & citations to other materials. Includes Hearings. Has information on U.S. and state government laws, codes, and statues. Find publications, bills, laws, regulations, members, committees, etc. Links to all kinds of governmental information. Four hearings mention "slavery" between 1856-1867; the serial set mentionings are found full text in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (listed above under Primary U.S. Government Documents; CSU affiliates only).
Historical Abstracts. 1954- . Only six CSU users at a time.
History of Asia, Europe, Africa, Oceania after 1500. Subject term for United States is: USA.
Historical Statistics of the United States. 1790 to present.
"The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history." Find data for Population; Work and Welfare; Economic Structure and Performance; Economic Sectors; and Governance and International Relations. Allows for sophisticated gathering of information: downloadable, including to tables in Excel, and create custom tables, among other possibilities. Find 112 related results after a search for "slave," many of them tables. A search for "slavery" brings up a number of essays in PDF. Essays have links to tables with data within the statistical database. For example: "Data newly compiled by Lorena Walsh (2001) show that the number of slaves imported into Virginia and Maryland averaged about 750 per year during 1698–1703, then surged to 1,500 per year after 1720 and remained high until the American Revolution (Table Eg214–216). The shift may also be observed in the composition of colonial populations: in Virginia, the proportion of blacks rose from 7 percent in 1680 to 30 percent in 1720 (Table Eg1–59)."--from the "Slavery" essay.
Humanities Index. 1974-March 1999. AI 3 .I495 Reference
Abstracting for core journals in the humanities, including many history titles.
JSTOR. Articles at least 3-5 years old. CSU affiliates only.
Full text articles from broad range of subject areas, including history. Search for words in title, author, abstract, or full text. Be certain to select area(s) of journals to complete a search. (E.g. History, African-American Studies.)
Project MUSE. Various starting dates. CSU affiliates only.
Full text articles from the humanities and social sciences, including over forty history journals.
New York Times Historical 1851- (5-6 most recent years not available).
Newspaper of record. See full text. Some articles not found on online version due to copyright restrictions. See microfilm for the complete NYT.
- London Times Index (various titles: Palmer's, etc.) AI 21 T51 & AI21 .T46 Reference & others nearby 1785- ; the newspaper itself is on microfilm in the Journal Room, call number AN .T5 (current issues in print in newspaper area).
- Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899; with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922. AI3 .R496 Reference
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. AI3 .P6 Reference 1802-1901
- Agricultural History. S 1 .A16 1927-1981,1983-2004 Movable Shelves and Storage. S1 .A16ej AHOnline 1927- to CSU affiliates.
- The American Historical Review. E171 .A57 1906/1907,1917/1918,1919/1920,1921/1922-1922/1923,1925/1926,1932/1933-2002 Movable Shelves. AHROnline 1895- to CSU affiliates.
- The Journal of African History. DT1 .J65 1960-1965,1975-1978,1980-1981,1985-1997 Storage. JAHOnline 1960- to CSU affiliates.
- The Journal of African American History (formerly Journal of Negro History). JAAHOnline 2002- to CSU affiliates.
- Journal of Negro History. E 185 .J86 1916-1961 Microfilm and 1962-1966,1968-1978,1981,1983-1986,1988-1995 Storage (will be withdrawn). JNHOnline 1916-2001 to CSU affiliates.
- The Journal of American History. JAHOnline 1964- to CSU affiliates.
- The Journal of Black Studies. E 185.5 .J8 1970/1971-1973/1974 Microfilm. JBSOnline 1970- to CSU affiliates.
- Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History. JCCHOnline 2000- to CSU affiliates.
- The Journal of Social History. JSHOnline 1967- to CSU affiliates.
- The North Carolina Historical Review. F 251 .N82 1965-1967,1969-1971,1973-1978,1980-1981,1983,1985,1988- Journal Room (current) & Movable Shelves; 1924-1964 Microfilm. NCHROnline 2001- to CSU affiliates.
- Past and Present. PaPOnline 1952- to CSU affiliates.
- Reviews in American History. Z 1236 .R47 1973-1974,1976-1980,1987-2003 Movable Shelves. RAHOnline 1973- to CSU affiliates.
- Slavery and Abolition. SAOnline 2004- to CSU affiliates (most recent year not available).
- The South Carolina Historical Magazine. F266 .S55 Journal Room (current). SCHMOnline 1952- up to 6-7 years ago to CSU affiliates. Continues: South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine. SCHGMOnline 1900-1951 to CSU affiliates.
- Virginia Magazine of History and Biography. F221 .V91 Journal Room (current). F221 .V91ej VMHBOnline 1893- to CSU affiliates.
- William and Mary Quarterly. F 221 .W71 Journal Room (current) WMQOnline 1892- to CSU affiliate
Slavery and the Atlantic Slave Trade, Web Sites
This section focuses on resources about slavery and the Atlantic slave trade.
Africans in America. PBS online.
Four parts: the terrible transformation, revolution, brotherly love, and judgment day. For each section there is "a historical Narrative, a Resource Bank of images, documents, stories, biographies, and commentaries, and a Teacher's Guide."
American Memory. Library of Congress.
Key site for primary sources to do with U.S. history. Linked to also from Summaries, Artifacts & Documents section on United States of America (History) page listed at top of this Web page. A search for "slaves" brings up 5000 items. Also "slavery"; "antebellum" brings up 89 items. One subset of the site brings together material about Frederick Douglass, in The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress. See The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture for Library of Congress exhibits, such as ex-slave narratives, and the Abolition movement. Another subset is From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection 1822-1909.
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record. Jerome S. Handler and Michael L. Tuite Jr. Library of Congress.
1,280 images. From the previous (was at Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and University of Virginia) site: "little effort is made to interpret the images and establish the historical authenticity or accuracy of what they display. To accomplish this would constitute a major and different research effort. Individual users of this collection must decide such issues for themselves. However, we have made every effort to ensure bibliographic accuracy and the correct identification of both primary and secondary sources from which the images have been obtained, as well as correct identification of the area, country, or region to which the image refers. The dates we assign may refer to the date an image was published, at other times to when an author visited an area." Explore the collection by keyword or category.
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slavery in America: Sources and Selected Links. Neil A. Frankel. © 2007, 2008.
Links to 88 primary sources and much more. Last updated in 2009, so some of the links might not still be active. Relevancy may vary ("NASA, Astronomy Picture of the Day, Earth at Night, 2000 November 27"?).
Brown University Steering Committee on Slavery and Justice. Repository of Historical Documents. Brown University Library.
Over 150 historical documents. Browse by date (1753-1835), name, or type of document.
Digital Library on American Slavery. © 2000-2009 All rights reserved. The University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
A combined resources of the Race and Slavery Petitions Project and the Electronic Resources and Information Technology Department of University Libraries at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro, contains "detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color." Search by state, filing years, and keywords. Other tabs offer a browse by subject and search by name options.
"Disunion. One-hundred-and-fifty years ago, Americans went to war with themselves. Disunion revisits and reconsiders America's most perilous period -- using contemporary accounts, diaries, images and historical assessments to follow the Civil War as it unfolded." Articles related to the war are written by different authors. Some have an accompanying photograph. Click on Read more for complete article. Click on "Older Entries" at foot of page to find additional articles.
Web site with varying kinds of information to do with American history. Issue 26 from December 2010 of History Now (linked to from the site) is on new interpretations of the Civil War.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. New York Public Library.
Online exhibitions, books, images, audio/visuals, and links. The "Center has collected, preserved, and provided access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent."
Third Person, First Person: Slave Voices From The Special Collections Library. Alex Byrd, Marion Hirsch, and Janie Morris. Paolo Mangiafico, October 1995.
Broadside Collection, Special Collections Library, Duke University. Sections are: Introduction; Caesar; Forced Migration - The Slave Trade and the Nature of Chattel Slavery; Plantation America - The Work of Slaves; The Age of Revolutions - Two Kinds of Freedom; Black Southerners in the Old South - The Slave Community; The Problem of Freedom - The Destruction of American Slavery, and Freedom's Strange Fruit.
Character spotlight, voices of slavery, slave life; time and place, slave memories, resources, and the slave experience. Explore by subject (drop down menu).
Timeline of Atlantic Slave Trade: A Brief Timeline of the Brutal Trade. ABC News. July 2.
1502 to the 1860s.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database. Copyright 2019. Emory University.
Information on over 35,000 slaving voyages (1526-1866). Create charts from information found. Look up names. Glossary with paragraph-length definitions of terms. Maps, timelines, and chronology.
Voyage of the Slave Ship Sally. Brown University Library.
Links to resources, one also listed in this section.
American Civil War on the Web
This has a mixture of free Web sources and proprietary resources available only to CSU affiliates (so noted).
American Civil War Reference Library. 5 vols. Detroit: U*X*L, 2000. Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library to CSU affiliates.
Americans at War. 4 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library to CSU affiliates.
Slavery Elsewhere & Other
Documenting the American South. © Copyright 2004 by the University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
"Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture."
Note: there are a lot of Web sites out there trying to sell essays on topics related to this Web page. Any student who purchases one of these is guilty of plagiarism and should flunk his/her course, and probably be removed from college or university. See TILT's Academic Integrity Program Web site for additional information.
It is essential that you carefully evaluate whatever you might find, no matter the format. See: How to Evaluate Journal Articles, How to Evaluate Books, How to Evaluate a Web Page, and How to Evaluate a Movie, Video, or Film Clip.
Colorado State University
1019 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019