American West Since 1900 Introduction
This page provides links to materials that can be used for doing research on the American West (North America, United States) "since 1900" (although actual coverage date begins around 1860). It is not comprehensive. Much useful material for history is found in books. Additional resources (articles, etc.) are identified in the bibliographies of these books. Track these resources down for thorough research. See "identifying books" for subject terms used in library catalogs for the history of the American West. That said, there is a growing amount of useful research material, including primary resources, on the Web and through proprietary (a library purchases them) databases; a number of these are linked to here.
|Reference Books||Identifying Books||Journals|
|Summaries, Artifacts & Documents (Primary Sources)||Personal Accounts||Bibliographies|
|Web||Indexes and Abstracts||Other|
Use reference materials to do background research. The non-reference items listed in this section may be checked out.
- The Cowboy Encyclopedia. E20 .S56 1994 Reference also CEonline to CSU affiliates
- Dictionary of the American West: Over 5,000 Terms and Expressions from Aarigaa! to Zopilote. PE2970 .W4 B5 2001 Reference
- The Encyclopedia of Colorado. F 776 .E53 1999 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Lawmen, Outlaws, and Gunfighters. F 596 .M48 2003 Reference
- Encyclopedia of the American West. 4 vols. F591 .E485 1996 Reference
- Encyclopedia of the Central West. F 351 .C325 1990 Reference
- Encyclopedia of the Far West. F 591 .C362 1991 Reference
- Encyclopedia of the Great Plains. F 591 .E4856 2004 Reference
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. 3 vols. E169.1 .E626 2001 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Women in the American West. HQ1438.W45 E53 2003 Reference
- The Frontier and the American West [bibliography]. Z1251.W5 P38 1977 Morgan
- The Great Plains. F 591 .G75 2004 Reference
- Handbook of the American Frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships. 5 vols. E76.2 .H43 1987 Morgan
- Handbook of North American Indians. 6 vols. (varies by location) E 77 .H25 Reference; SI1. 20/2: Documents
- A Literary History of the American West. The Western Literature Association. Texas Christian University Press. Fort Worth. 1987. PS271 .L58 1987 Morgan
Chronology of literary West of interest--authors and titles included. Essays explore the American West via literature. Some chapters have selected bibliographies with both primary and secondary sources listed.
- The Midwest. F 351 .M59 2004 Reference
- The New Encyclopedia of the American West. F591 .R38 1998 Reference
- The Pacific Region. F 851 .P1955 2004 Reference
- The Plains & the Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865. Z1251.W5 W2 1982 Morgan Temp (not available; three circulating copies in Prospector)
- The Rocky Mountains. F 721 .R74 2004 Reference
- The Southwest. F 786 .S747 2004 Reference
Reference Books that Include the American West
- American Eras. 6 vols. E 169.1 .A471979 1997 Reference
- Dictionary of American History. 10 vols. E 174 .D52 2003 also DAH online to CSU affiliates
- Milestone Documents in American History. 4 vols. E 173 .M62 2008 Reference
- Native Americans. E 93 .N32 2002 Reference
- Native North American Chronology. E 77 .N359 1995 Reference
Electronic Books (includes multiple subjects)
Summaries, Artifacts & Documents
Of particular interest to the American West (most of these links are not found on the United States of America (History) page):
Archives Unbound. Gale.
Browse collections to see collections of interest: American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian HIstorical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893; Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880; The Civil War in Words and Deeds; and The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South.
A Selection of the Memoirs, Journals, Letters, Reports and Images that went into the Making of The West. PBS. Eight episodes, the first to 1806, the eighth 1887 to 1914. Links on left-hand side go to materials from the episodes. Dates of photographs and writings are provided when known. Images may be copyrighted.
General Maps. Library of Congress.
Statistical atlases from 1870, 1880, and 1890. Read contemporary accounts and reports of the U.S. census.
Photographs. Denver Public Library.
"Over 30,000 photographs, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library. . . . They illustrate Colorado towns and landscape, document the place of mining in the history of Colorado and the West, and show the lives of Native Americans from more than forty tribes living west of the Mississippi River." Search by keyword, browse by subject, or look up a name in the name index (alphabetical).
David Rumsey Map Collection. Cartography Associates.
Search specific areas, e.g. Colorado, California, or Nebraska. View in LUNA to see details. Click on images to enlarge them. Center using the "hand." See Historic Colorado Maps for details of what is in the collection and in others owned by CSU and on the Web.
Search by subjects, personal Names, act names, geographic names (e.g. Colorado, Colorado Springs, Denver, Colorado), and more.
Web material on the American West that may include primary sources.
Categories of information about various aspects of the American West. Links go off to various Web sites, some of better quality than others, so be sure to evaluate what you find. There are links to some really good materials, so it is worth exploring this site.
Forts Across the United States. Legends of America.
Forts are listed state by state; some forts (those with links) have information about them. For example, Fort Collins in Colorado.
WestWeb. Catherine Lavender. Department of History, College of Staten Island, The City University of New York. © Catherine Lavender 1995-2001.
Various headings (right hand side; there is a non-frame version) have "collections of primary and secondary documents, biographical and bibliographical resources, lists of hot links to other sites of interest, and images." Some categories still under development--some of the topics checked have just a few links; a number of links are broken.
Kansas History Web Sites. © 2002-2010, George Laughead. Kansas Heritage Group.
Arranged by: Misc.; Kansas Native Americans; Explorer History; Kansas Trails; Kansas Forts; Kansas Territorial History; Kansas Pioneers; Kansas Cattle Towns; Kansas Railroads; KS 20th Century History; Kansas History Books; and KS General History.
Water Resources Archive. CSU.
The archive contains "collections from individuals and organizations that have been instrumental in the development of water resources in Colorado and the West." Only some of it is from the 19th century, so be careful if seeking only pre-1900 items. Some of the items are available digitally (online). Researchers interested in this topic might also want to visit the Archives for additional resources.
Do a Subject search for these terms in the library catalog (and Prospector). Note the divisions by years and major events. Social conditions are an important part of any historical research. After doing a search for the terms, also look at their subdivisions (i.e. United States History 1933-1945 Sources):
To find items on a specific aspect of American West history, do a Keyword search for West US and that topic or West U S and history and that topic. For example:
- West U S and history and agriculture
- West U S and history and children
Items may be requested from other libraries in Prospector, the Colorado Union Catalog, by Colorado State University affiliates.
Personal accounts (primary sources) of events can be identified with the subdivision "Personal Narratives." Some of these are diaries or other forms of journals. Some are memoirs. For example:
- [state] History Civil War, 1861-1865 Personal narratives
- Little Bighorn, Battle of the, Mont., 1876 Personal narratives
- Wounded Knee Massacre, S.D., 1890 Personal narratives.
Many diaries are found under the name of the individual diarist, but they can also be identified collectively by profession, religious group, or geographical area. For example:
- Mormon women West (U.S.) Diaries
- Pioneers West U S Diaries
- Women pioneers West (U.S.) Diaries
Letters are found under correspondence. For example:
- Pioneers West U S Correspondence
- Women pioneers West (U.S.) Correspondence
Western/Frontier/Native American Primary Sources (Books)
See books Western/Frontier/Native American section on the Primary Sources for Historical Research page.
Western/Frontier/Native American Primary Sources (Microforms)
See microformat Western/Frontier/Native American section on the Primary Sources for Historical Research page.
Indexes & Abstracts
Identify articles by topic in these sources (these indexes are Step 1 of how to find articles). Some indexes have citations only and others have full text materials.
America, History & Life. 1954- . AHLonline via "A-Z Databases." Only six CSU users at a time.
Z 1236 .A48 Reference South (1954-1994). America: History & Life is a useful index for identifying articles and books to do with U.S. history.
Historical Abstracts. 1954- . Only six CSU users at a time. Printed version D 299 .H5 Reference South (covers history in years 1775-1945).
History of Asia, Europe, Africa, Oceania after 1500. Subject term for United States is: USA.
Humanities Index. 1974-March 1999. AI 3 .I495 Reference
Abstracting for core journals in the humanities, including many history titles.
JSTOR. Articles at least 3-5 years old for the most part. CSU affiliates only.
Full text articles from broad range of subject areas, including history. Search for words in title, author, abstract, or full text. Be certain to select area(s) of journals to complete a search. (E.g. History, African-American Studies.)
Legislative Insight. 1953- . Full text of publications supporting bills in Congress.
For example, "Colorado River" (records have Colorado and river) brings up over 130 entries of various acts; the oldest from 1941, the most recent 2013.
Congressional Publications. CIS. Legislative Histories (1969- ). CSU affiliates only.
Has information on U.S. and state government laws, codes, and statues. Find publications, bills, laws, regulations, members, committees, etc. Links to all kinds of governmental information. Hearings 1817 to present. Written and oral statements of witnesses, transcripts question-and-answer session between the committee and witnesses, reports, exhibits, and other materials submitted for the record by witnesses and interested parties. For American West prior to 1900, restrict by date to before 1900 (or to between relevant years for your topic).
New York Times Historical 1851- . CSU affiliates only. Full text newspaper articles.
Use era-appropriate terms to find articles.
Newspaper Source. 1985- . CSU affiliates only.
245 newspapers and other sources.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile. CSU affiliates only.
Over 60 subject indexes in one location. Covers the 19th century and early 20th century.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers. 1800-1899.
Material found is full text.
Project MUSE. Various starting dates. CSU affiliates only.
Full text articles from the humanities and social sciences, including over forty history journals.
See also The History Cooperative. You must be on a CSU computer to access reviews (or via your own library's computer--if it has purchased access). CSU affiliates may validate remotely via one of the title's Sage record. Otherwise you will not be able to see the reviews.
These journals are but a selection of periodicals that include the American West. Online titles available to CSU affiliates.
- The American West. 1967-1990 AP 2. .A64 Bound Journals
- Annals of Wyoming. 1996- F 756 .A67 Current Journals and Bound Journals also 1926-35, 1939-1940,1949-1952,1955-1957,1960-1962,1969-1971,1976-1981,1988-1992
- Arizona and the West. 1959-1986 AatWonline in JSTOR
- Beehive History [Utah]. 1975-2002. F 826 .B43 Morgan
- California History. 2007-2012. F 856 .C24 Current Journals and CHonline 1973- .
- The Denver Westerners Roundup. 1971-1974,1977-1983,1995- F 591 .W5 Current Journals and Bound Journals
- Great Plains Quarterly. 1981- . F 591 .G762 Current Journals and Bound Journals
- Great Plains Research. 1991- . QH 104.5 .G73G74 Current Journals and Bound Journals.
- Heritage of the Great Plains. 1980-82, 1995- . F 676 .H4 Current Journals and Bound Journals
- Journal of Arizona History. 1969-1972,1974,1976-1977,1979- F 806 .J6 Current Journals and Bound Journals and 1965-2010 JAHonline in JSTOR
- Journal of the Southwest. F 806 .A69 Current Journals and JotSonline 1987-2010
- Journal of the West. 1964-1970,1972-1993,1995- F 591 .J6 Current Journals and Bound Journals
- The Kansas Historical Quarterly. 1931-1932,1935-1937,1940,1942-1943,1950-1956,1958-1960 F 676 .K332 Bound Journals
- Kansas History. 1996/97- F 676 .K333 Current Journals and Bound Journals and KHonline 2002-
- Montana. 1955-2010 MTMWHonline in JSTOR
- The Montana Magazine of History. 1951-1955. MMHonline in JSTOR
- Nebraska History. 1947-1948,1951-1959,1961,1963-1966,1968,1971- F 661 .N22 Current Journals and Bound Journals
- The New Mexico Historical Review. 1926- (scattered volumes; not complete) F 791 .N65 Current Journals, Bound Journals, and Storage Microtext film (1957)
- Oregon Historical Quarterly. 1926-2010. OHQonline in JSTOR Complete
- Overland Journal. 1996- F 880 .O84 Current Journals and Bound Journals
- Pacific Historical Review. 1932- online to CSU affiliates.
- The Quarterly of the Oregon Historical Society. 1900-1926 QOHS online in JSTOR
- Reflections [Kansas State Historical Society]. 2007- F 676 .R45 Current Journals and Storage
- The San Luis Valley Historian. 1975-77, 1981-2, 1988-9, 1996-2012 Current Journals and Bound Journals
- The Trail Guide [Kansas City, Mo.]. 1964-78. F 676 .T7 Storage
- Utah Historical Quarterly. 1944,1946-1947,1950,1952-1955,1957-1958,1960-1962,1964-1970,1973-2004 F 821 .U92 Bound Journals.
- Western Historical Quarterly. 1970- online to CSU affiliates
History of Colorado see Colorado History.
American jobs and energy security: domestic oil shale: the status of research, regulation, and roadblocks : oversight field hearing before the Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources of the Committee on Natural Resources, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Twelfth Congress, first session, Wednesday, August 24, 2011, in Grand Junction, Colorado. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 2012. PDF
Shale oils Government policy West (U.S.)
Oil-shale industry Government policy West (U.S.)
Energy development Government policy West (U.S.)