History

This page has information and links to information related to history. See Biographical Research for history of individual people. For specific time periods, places/areas, and/or topics see left-hand side for topics.

World History Introduction

This is only a partial list of the resources that are available at Morgan Library, so it is really important to ask for help if you are not finding what you need. Ask at the Help Desk if you need additional help. The World Wide Web resources fall under the Libraries' and University's Disclaimers.

Print Resources             Web Resources

Print Resources

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias can be a great place to start your research, get an overview of your topic, or help you narrow your area of focus. Morgan Library has a number of encyclopedia sets that may be useful to you as you begin your research. Encyclopedias are located in the Reference collection, so they may not be checked out. General encyclopedias can also be extremely useful.

  • Collins Australian Encyclopedia DU90 .C64 1984Reference
  • Encyclopedia Iranica DS253 .E53 1985 Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara. DT351 .E53 1997 Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Indians of the Americas E54.5 .E52 Reference
  • Information China DS706 .I5 1989 Reference
  • Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan DS805 .K633 1983 Reference
  • The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian And Soviet History DK 14 M6 Reference

Other Reference Books

  • Worldmark Chronology of the Nations D11 .W93 1999 Reference
    Organized by continent, this set gives chronologies of individual countries.
  • Chronicle of the World D11 .C56 1996 Reference
    Chronology of major world events.
  • Chronology of European History: 15,000 B.C. to 1997 D11 .C57 1997 Reference
  • Chronology of World History D11 .M39 1999 Reference

Web

Click here for information about evaluating Web sites.

General Sources

These pages have multiple links to resources on the Web.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Internet African History Sourcebook
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Byzantine & Medieval Links Index
Africa: South of the Sahara
Asia History and Cultural Guide.. The History Beat...
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe: Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
ArabNet
Native American Nations

Africa Americas Asia
Middle East Europe Pacific

Africa

Afghanistan
Afghanistan Online: History. QAZICO
Afghana: History

Mali
Mali

Morocco
Morocco's home page

Zimbabwe
Zimbabwe

Egypt
History of Egypt

Americas

Aztec
Nahuatl Language of Aztecs
Aztec Calendar

Middle East

Middle East Links

ASIA

Mongolia
Realm of the Mongols
Genghis Khan

Japan
Kamakura Period (1185 - 1333).
Muromachi Period (1333 - 1573).

Japanese history
National Museum of Japanese History

Kamakura Period
Muromachi Period

China
History Timeline
China Education and Research Network (in Chinese)-- English Version

Cambodia
Empire of Khmer
Historical Summary Cambodia
Cambodian Information Center (links)

EUROPE

Eurodocs, Primary Historical Documents (primary sources)

France
History of France--Primary Documents

Spain
History of Spain--Primary Documents

England
History of United Kingdom--Primary Documents

Russia
History of Russia
Russian History. Bucknell University.

PACIFIC

Australia
Academic Info Australian History
Sandra's Home Page, Australian History

Indonesia
Destination Indonesia
Indonesia WWW Virtual Library: Society and Culture. Edited by: Dr T. Matthew Ciolek. Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, at the Australian National University.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/History | Print Page