Colorado Agriculture Bibliography

Colorado’s contribution to the Preserving the History of United States Agriculture and Rural Life Project, directing you to information about Colorado's agricultural and rural past.

Organization of the Bibliography

The records that you can access at this site were compiled with the bibliographic software called Endnote. Most records were imported into Endnote from either Worldcat (an OCLC database) or CSU's catalog. In the importation process, these records passed through a filter, sorting the data to conform to Endnote's fields. The Endnote fields utilized by our records are:

  • Author
  • Secondary Author
  • Title
  • Secondary Title
  • Short Title
  • Edition
  • Year
  • Date
  • Publisher
  • Place Published
  • URL
  • Extent of Work
  • Public Information
  • Description
  • Type of Work
  • Reference Type
  • Original Publication
  • Scale
  • ISBN/ISSN
  • Annotation
  • Keywords
  • Accession Number
  • Call Number
  • Abstract
  • Notes
Students cluster around three hogsStudents cluster around three hogs. Colorado State University Libraries, Archives and Special Collections, Historical Photographs Collection.
 

Creating This Searchable Bibliography

As you recall from an earlier section of this page, bibliographic records were imported into an Endnote database. Once the Endnote database was compiled, duplicate records were removed. Next, records from the database were sorted by reference type because (as previously noted) each of the four reference types has its own set of field names. Once broken down into these four groups, the records were imported into an Excel spreadsheet.

The plan was to load the Excel files into a php language database. In order to do this, loader instructions were written for each reference type.

The search screen was developed using HTML code. When you use the search screen, the information you enter is forwarded to a PHP script which searches a MySQL database and retrieves a list of records that match the search criteria...getting you a results page.

Note: Words smaller than three characters-- such as be, an, a, and up-- are not indexed in this database and therefore cannot be searched.

 
Young woman holding wild versus tame beet
Young woman demonstrates the difference between a wild beet and a "tame" beet. Through the Leaves, Great Western Sugar Company, March 1942, 12.
 

 

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/agbib | Print Page