HIST 476: History of America's National Parks

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for research related history of America's National Parks. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about how you can contact the library for assistance, a brief description of the resources highlighted in this guide, links to the Writing Center, and other useful resources. Use the navigation menu in the left-hand column to navigate to those different resources. They include:

Finding Background Information - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks. A small sample of history-related reference sources are listed on this page. 

Finding Books - This page will give you access to CSU Libraries' catalog. You to search for items in the library's collection including print books, eBooks, streaming media, government documents, primary sources, and much more. 

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for history topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar.

Finding Primary Sources - This tab provides you access to information about search for primary searches in CSU Libraries catalog, an annotated list of the library's subscription primary source databases, and links to primary source repositories. Please feel free to contact me for assistance in locating primary source materials.

Reading History - This tab provides you access to information about historical thinking skills and questions to consider when reading and analyzing a text.

Citing Your Research - This tab will provide you with access to an electronic version of the Chicago Manual of Style.

National Park Service Resources: 

• National Parks Service Website

• Find a Park by State

• Key Events in NPS History

• Historic Photos from the NPS Collection

• Oral histories of the NPS

• National Park Service History Electronic Library

• National Parks Gallery 

• Parks Canada, History e-Library

The Colorado State University Writing Center is a free service open to Colorado State University students, staff, faculty, and alumni as well as the local Fort Collins community. Our goal is to engage our community in conversations about writing; to that end, we provide face-to-face and online consultations for writers in all disciplines working on all types of writing from traditional research papers to electronic texts such as websites and blogs.

Beginning with writers’ needs and concerns, we use our knowledge and expertise to enhance writers’ understanding of a variety of rhetorical issues, such as purpose, audience, style and conventions. Our consultants can assist writers at all stages of the writing process, including brainstorming, drafting, researching, revising, and polishing. We strive to help writers develop the confidence to make effective writing choices in any writing situation. In these ways, we support the shared goal of writing centers everywhere to help create better writers, not just better writing.

For more information about the Writing Center, please see the CSU Writing Center Website.