- Colorado State University Libraries
- Research Guides
- HIST 348: UNITED STATES, 1917-1945
- Finding Background Information
HIST 348: UNITED STATES, 1917-1945
Finding Background Information
For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. All print materials are located in the Reference Collection on the ground floor of Morgan Library. Reference items are for use only in the library. History materials can be found in the C - F sections of the collection. Ask a librarian for help, if needed.
Online Reference Resources
- Cambridge CompanionsA series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Subjects covered include American Studies, Culture, Law, Literature, Management, Music, Philosophy, Religion, and the Ancient World.
- Gale eBooks (Encyclopedias & more)Coverage: Varies
Provides access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford ReferenceCoverage: Varies
Online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
- American Women During World War II by Doris WeatherfordISBN: 9780415994750Publication Date: 2009-10-12American Women during World War documents the lives and stories of women who contributed directly to the war effort via official and semi-official military organizations, as well as the millions of women who worked in civilian defense industries, ranging from aircraft maintenance to munitions manufacturing and much more.
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression by Robert S. McElvaine (Editor)ISBN: 9780028664088Publication Date: 2003-11-04This 2-vol. set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelts New Deal and World War II. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture. While its main focus is on the Great Depression within the United States, the global impact of the economic slow-down is also examined through articles on Canada, Mexico, Australia, Europe, Africa and Asia.
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression and the New Deal by James CimentISBN: 0765680335Publication Date: 2001-02-28This is the first encyclopedia devoted exclusively to the Great Depression and the New Deal. Covering the years 1929 to 1941, it traces all the major political, economic, social, and cultural movements, as well as the principal events and people, during the longest and most severe economic crisis in American history.
- The Encyclopedia of World War I by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor); John D. Eisenhower (Foreword by); Priscilla Mary Roberts (Editor)ISBN: 9781851094202Publication Date: 2005-09-27Featuring a wealth of new information and the work of acclaimed scholars from around the world, this monumental resource is the new standard reference on the 20th century's most influential conflict. The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History treats its monumental subject with the scope and insight it deserves. Its lavishly illustrated volumes, produced by an international team of experts, offer a deeper, more richly researched presentation of the battles, campaigns, and weapons technologies of the Great War than any previous work.
- The Pacific War Encyclopedia by James F. Dunnigan; Albert A. NofiISBN: 0816034397Publication Date: 1998-06-01Providing a reference on training for all those involved in the food supply chain, this volume shows staff training to be an essential prerequisite to food safety, and therefore crucial to the success of a food company. Food safety and quality management systems are only as good as the people who develop and implement them and the difference between successful and unsuccessful companies often relates to training and behaviour control.
- World War II by Norman Polmar; Thomas B. AllenISBN: 0679770399Publication Date: 1996-07-02Here is the authoritative and comprehensive reference work on the last world war, from an American perspective.
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Anthropology, Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Company Information, Computer Information Systems, Computer Science, Construction Management, Design & Merchandising, Diversity & Inclusion, Economics, Education, Engineering, English, Environmental Sciences & Sustainability, Ethnic Studies, Finance, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forestry & Rangeland Science, Geosciences, Government Publications (US), Grants, Health & Exercise Science, History, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Industry Information, International Business, International Development, Investments, Languages & Linguistics, Law, Marketing, Math/Statistics, Medical & Health Sciences, Music, Theater & Dance, Natural Resources, Newspapers & News Sources, Occupational Therapy, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociology, Statistical & Data Sources, Taxation, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's Studies
URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/c.php?g=1168650 | Print Page