Get Full Text

LibKey Nomad is a free browser extension that streamlines and simplifies access to the CSU Libraries’ collection of over 50,000 electronic journals and over 1.4 million ebooks.  LibKey Nomad features:

• One-click access to CSU’s subscriptions from publisher websites, PubMed, Amazon, Wikipedia, and more. When you land on a web page for an article or book, LibKey Nomad checks the Libraries' subscriptions and provides a link in the lower left hand corner of the web page.
• If direct access is not available, LibKey Nomad automatically loads and fills out the Interlibrary Loan request form for you.
• No personal account is needed and LibKey Nomad does not ask for or store user credentials. When resources are behind a paywall,  CSU's existing system will prompt you to log in with your netID and password.
• Currently available for the following browsers: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, Vivaldi, and Brave

1. Go to the LibKey Nomad web page at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ and click the download icon next to your browser.
2. Follow the directions for adding the extension to your browser.
   Note: You will see a message that LibKey Nomad can read and change data for the websites you visit. This permission allows LibKey Nomad to offer you full text services. LibKey Nomad does not cache user credentials; it simply forwards links to CSU's netID login. LibKey Nomad is active only on specific domains, such as supported publisher pages and websites with scholarly content, such as PubMed and Wikipedia.
3. Once you have added the LibKey Nomad Extension, set your organization to "Colorado State University."

Once you have the browser extension installed, all you need to do is search for articles and books using your normal workflows, and LibKey Nomad takes care of the rest!

When you land on a web page for an article or book, LibKey Nomad checks the Libraries' subscriptions and provides a link in the lower left hand corner of the web page. The button's appearance will change depending on the services that LibKey Nomad can provide. Here are some examples of buttons that you might see:

For some databases, LibKey Nomad can provide enhanced access:

• PubMed - Displays links on the results page
  

• Wikipedia - Displays links in the bibliography
  

• Does LibKey Nomad work for every article and ebook?

No. LibKey Nomad uses persistent identifiers to provide services for an articles (DOI, PMID) or ebooks (ISBN). It cannot provide services for web pages that do not display a DOI/PMID/ISBN. Fortunately, the majority of publishers include this key information in their records, but some vendors, such as JSTOR, are not compatible with LibKey Nomad. JSTOR articles can be accessed from the publisher link in the A-Z Database list.

• Does LibKey Nomad work with every website and library database?

LibKey Nomad is currently configured to work only with selected scholarly websites, and not on the web in general. The LibKey Nomad FAQ provides the most up to date information on site compatibility:

• Journal Publisher websites
• Ebook platforms and publishers

• Does using LibKey Nomad mean I won't have to log in to access articles anymore?

LibKey Nomad will prompt you to authenticate with the CSU Libraries the first time you use it (each session), but after that it should authenticate automatically until you start a new browser session

Once you have installed LibKey Nomad, you can see how it works by visiting the following links:

Articles

Books