Open Access Research & Scholarship (OARS) Fund
Choosing an Open Access Journal
The open access journal landscape is rapidly changing, and new journals seem to be launched each week. Selecting a journal for publication can be a confusing process, so here are some tools that may help.
Basic Screening Tools
These tools can be used to confirm the existance of a journal and may provide some insight into journals that may be suspect.
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) http://doaj.org/
DOAJ is a service that indexes and provides access to quality-controlled Open Access Journals and their articles. The criteria for inclusion is very basic, however one of the criteria is that journals must support peer /editorial review.
- Beall’s List: Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers
This is a list of questionable, scholarly open-access publishers, as determined by Jeffrey Beall. The website recommends that scholars read the available reviews, assessments and descriptions provided here, and then decide for themselves whether they want to submit articles, serve as editors or on editorial boards.
"Ulrich's™ is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters and more from around the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and that are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription."
- BioMedCentral's Choosing a Target Journal
The Journal Selector uses semantic technology to help you quickly choose the open access journal published by BioMed Central, Chemistry Central, and SpringerOpen that is right for your manuscript. Matches to a journal are based on already published articles that are similar to your research, allowing you to match to similar articles from a database of over 300,000 articles.
- Web of Science
Web of Science indexes over 1,200 open access, peer-reviewed journals. Web of Science indexes over 12,000 high impact, peer-reviewed journals, 1,200 of which are open access.
To discover which open access journals are most relevant to your research, search for a topic in Web of Science. From the search results page, click on the "Open Access" limiter on the left hand side of the screen. You can analyze your search results to see which open access journals are most popular within your area of research.
To look at lists of the journals in Web of Science, see the files on the left hand side of this page.
- SCImago Journal Rank (SJR indicator) http://www.scimagojr.com/
This free resource is powered by data from Elsevier's Scopus, SCImago and seeks to calculate a journal's prestige. It also includes information about research output from countries and journals.
Where is a Journal Indexed?
How do I find out where a journal is indexed?
Indexing information can be found in the library database “Ulrichsweb.”
- Go to Ulrichsweb
- Search using the title or ISSN
- Once you have located the journal, click on the journal title.
Open Access Titles in Web of Science
Web of Science indexes over 12,000 high impact peer-reviewed journals, 1,200+ of which are open access. The following files outline the open access journals in Web of Science for 2012. These files are for internal use only by Colorado State University affiliates, and you will need your CSU EID and Password to view the files.
Open Access Journals in Web of Science:
About Web of Science:
Web of Science, the world’s leading citation database, indexes multidisciplinary information from over 12,000 high impact journals and over 160,000 conference proceedings from around the world. Journals indexed in Web of Science have been subject to a rigourous evaluation process , and inclusion in Web of Science means that a journal can be assigned an impact factor in Journal Citation Reports.
Questions about the OARS Fund or the application process?
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019