Open Access Strategic Initiative: Open Access Websites

Open Access Websites

Alliance for Taxpayer Access

A coalition of patient groups, physicians, researchers, educational institutions, publishers, and health promotion organizations that support barrier-free access to taxpayer-funded research.

Create Change

This website will help you understand the changing landscape and how it affects you and your research. It also offers practical ways to look out for your own interests as a researcher

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Harvard Open Access Project (HOAP)

HOAP launched in 2011 to foster OA within Harvard, foster OA beyond Harvard, undertake research and policy analysis on OA, and provide OA to timely and accurate information about OA itself.

OAIster ® database

A union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 30 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,500 contributors. Additionally, the OAIster records are included in search results for those libraries with WorldCat Local and WorldCat Local "quick start."

Open Access Directory (OAD) 

A compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large. By bringing many OA-related lists together in one place, OAD makes it easier for everyone to discover them, use them for reference, and update them.

Open Access Week

An opportunity for the academic and research community to continue to learn about the potential benefits of Open Access, to share what they’ve learned with colleagues, and to help inspire wider participation in helping to make Open Access a new norm in scholarship and research.

Open Knowledge International

A global non-profit network that promotes and shares information at no charge, including both content and data.

PLOS: Public Library of Science

A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

SHERPA/RoMEO

RoMEO is part of SHERPA Services based at the University of Nottingham. RoMEO has collaborative relationships with many international partners, who contribute time and effort to developing and maintaining the service. Current RoMEO development is funded by JISC. Past funders have included JISC, the Wellcome Trust and RLUK. We thank all our funders and contributors.

SPARC

A global coalition committed to making Open the default for research and education. SPARC empowers people to solve big problems and make new discoveries through the adoption of policies and practices that advance Open Access, Open Data, and Open Education.

The Right to Research Coalition (for students)

The coalition believes, "that no student should be denied access to research they need because their institution cannot afford the often high cost of access."
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.openaccessweek.org/

Open Access Web Links