KEY192 - Global Village Key Learning Community

Resources for the Global Village Key Learning Community

Article Databases

Looking for newspaper, magazine and journal articles? These research databases are your best place to start. (Hint: Can't find a link to the article in full-text? Click on the icon to see if full-text is available in a different database.)

CQ Researcher Online
Coverage: 1991 to present
A collection of reports covering political and social issues, including topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include opposing perspectives, background information on issues, and relevant contacts and further reading.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references.
NewsBank Access World News
Coverage: Varies
Includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Includes fully searchable primary sources.

News Resources
This will take you to the CSU Libraries News and Media Resources Listings for a variety of newspaper and news databases you can use for finding news coverage of your event.

What is a Library Database?

What is a Library Database?
text version | more info | 8:01

Google searches the “open web” – millions of web sites that may or may not contain accurate, authoritative resources that you can cite in your research paper. Library databases, in contrast, are well-organized and contain journal articles and other authoritative resources that you can cite in your paper. Spend a few minutes using a library database, and you’ll save yourself time and effort.