JTC361-Writing for Specialized Magazines

This compilation of the actual writer's guidelines for more than 1,500 publishers is a one-of-a-kind source to browse for article, short story, poetry and book ideas.

Contains complete information to help you improve and expand your contacts and placements, with a wide range of North American print media.

Listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Print media entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Broadcast media entries provide address; phone, fax, and e-mail addresses; key personnel; owner information; hours of operation; networks carried and more. Scope includes U.S., Canadian, and international media.

Listings of book publishers, literary magazines, and online literary journals.

Listing of contact information, submission preferences, and--when offered--payment information. In addition to the listings, Poet's Market offers all-new articles devoted to the craft and business of poetry, featuring advice on the art of finishing a poem, the anatomy of a poetry book, ways to get the most out of your writing residency, homegrown promotions, and more!

Listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents, and professional writing organizations.

Insider's guide to the U.S. book publishing industry, covering every conceivable aspect of the business.

Consider the unique features of Feature and Magazine Writing: Action, Angle and Anecdotes. Its authors have taught magazine writing at universities for a combined 30 years and have earned success and acclaim for magazine writing and editing. Its comprehensive chapters cover the most complete range of topics ever included in a magazine and feature writing text. Its affordability makes it immediately applicable to the hundreds of journalism programs teaching "magazine writing," "feature writing" or similar courses. Authors Sumner and Miller have written a text that genuinely models its message through lively writing, touches of humor and a conversational tone. Coverage includes content too often missing or deficient in existing texts: finding original ideas; developing strong angles; writing for targeted, niche audiences; practical how-to instruction on the many different types of magazine articles; fresh perspective and advice from professional writers and editors; examples, exercises and sample, illustrative articles; glossaries of publishing terms in each chapter; how to find the best Web sites and databases for background research; and how to locate expert sources who are accessible for telephone interviews. Tightly edited, colorfully written, concise, and moderately priced, Feature and Magazine Writing is the textbook of choice for your future feature writers.

At the root of all forms of journalism is the desire to convey a story and a wish to tell it accurately. While news reporting remains the staple of contemporary journalism, increasingly opportunities are opening up for feature writers and even those who aspire to longer forms of journalism and creative non-fiction. Using a step-by-step description of styles and techniques, Feature Writing will show students how to research, structure and write stories, how to navigate legal and ethical issues, and how to market their work: while learning how to tackle different styles of writing, from profiles, to issue-based stories, to columns, to biographies and advertising copy. Along the way they will be introduced to some of Australia's best-known journalists and writers and the hard lessons they have learned from their experience of writing, helping students forge their path to publishing and a career in feature writing.  Key features: Plenty of examples of various writing styles and forms for students to help discern what works and what doesn't and why. Wide ranging topics - interviews, obituaries, reviews, political commentary, sports scandals etc to open students up to the multitude of potential career opportunities. New to this edition: Three new chapters: Sports Writing; Music, theatre, books and art; and Motor vehicles and technology. Updated case studies and practitioner interviews - how a story was written from the writer's perspective - are linked with examples as the writers discuss particular stories they have written and the obstacles they encountered.  

THE Guide to Writing and Selling Magazine Articles! This comprehensive, practical, how-to guide answers all of your questions about writing for magazines. In this all-new second edition of a best-selling classic, today's most successful freelance writers, including Robert Bly, Linda Formichelli, Kelly James-Enger, Jenna Glatzer, and others, provide up-to-date information on e-querying, writing for digital media, knowing your e-rights, and the core topics of magazine article writing. You'll learn how to: find and query article ideas plan your research and interviews identify potential markets structure the most common types of articles work with editors negotiate contracts sell reprint rights be a successful freelance writer Writer's Digest Handbook of Magazine Article Writingcontains everything you need to successfully break into this popular market or to continue developing your magazine writing skills.

A revised and expanded version of a reference showing writers of all kinds how to take full advantage of Internet technologies and resources to improve skills, increase sales, and build recognition. Now including a CD-ROM with more than 2000 online resources for writers, this guide explains how the Internet is changing the writing business and how the Internet itself has changed. Experienced writers should discover how to develop new methods and find new markets, while beginning writers should learn how to use the Internet to build skill and gain expertise. Each chapter highlights a particular aspect of the writing business and shows how it has been affected (or can be improved) by the Internet.

Using experience-driven advice and compelling articles from scores of newspaper and magazine writers,Feature Writing for Newspapers and Magazinesshows how award-winning journalists achieve excellence and national recognition. This book helps readers to cultivate vital journalistic skills with a thorough discussion about creating and refining article ideas, conducting research and interviews, writing, and navigating legal and ethical questions.

Part I: Context Chapter 1: Solutions: Communication is Critical Democracy's Foundation Media Problems and Pressures An Objective Approach Alternatives to an Objective Approach Media Convergence Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 2: News: What It Is and What It's Not New Values Pegs and Angels Purposes of News Types of Content Specialization Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 3: Accuracy: To Err is Awful A Media Scourge Objective Errors Subjective Errors Conscious Slanting Self-editing Your Responsibility Is . . . Part II: Writing Chapter 4: Style: A Multimedia Approach Fundamentals Beyond the Basics Self-editing Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 5: Leads: That Most Formidable Challenge Five W's and the H Summary Lead Narrative Lead Self-editing Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 6: Organization: Structures, Unity, and Background Inverted Pyramid Other Structures Story Unity Background Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 7: Sources: Quotation and Attribution Quotations Attribution Putting It All Together Your Responsibility Is . . . Part III: Information Chapter 8: The Web: Find and Evaluate Information Problems General Information Databases Electronic Mail Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 9: Documents: Directories, Records, and Databases Media Documents Directories Business Information Government Documents Systematic Studies of Records Constructing Databases Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 10: Interviews: Preparation and Problem Pre-interview Research Directive Versus Nondirective Interviews Written Questions Elusive Questions The Interview Recording Information Telephones, Electronic Mail Special Problems Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 11: Events: Meetings, Speeches, and News Conferences Advance Stories Collecting Information Covering a Meeting or Speech News Conferences Special Problems A Suggestion for Public Relations Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 12: Numbers: Statistics and Social Science Techniques Fundamental Concepts Interpreting Numbers Social Sciences Techniques Your Responsibility Is . . . Part IV: Perspectives Chapter 13: Law: Pitfalls and Opportunities The First and 14th Amendments Freedom of Information Libel Privacy Free Press- Fair Trial Confidentail Sources Copyright Law Administrative Regulations Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 14: Ethics: Navigating Through Rough Moral Seas Pollution From Unethical Behavior Avoiding Unethical Behavior Ethics and Personal Gain Collecting, Disseminating Information Other Ethical Quagmires Your Responsibility Is . . . Chapter 15: Careers: Evaluation, Expectations and Goals Skills, Concepts, Arts, Sience What It Means Set Goals Expectations Some Job-Hunting Tips Your Responsibility Is . . . Part V: Appendices Appendix A: Some Common News Beats Appendix B: Selected Rules for English Usage Appendix C: Selected Style Rules Appendix D: Copy-Editing Symbols Appendix E: One Story; Multiple Formats Appendix F: Agenda, Manhattan, Kan. City Comission Appendix G: Hot Web Sites

Getting paid to write is every aspiring scribe's dream, but Writing for Quick Cash gives writers the tools and resources to make it reality. From researching potential clients to negotiating maximum pay rates, writers will learn every conceivable strategy for generating a steady flow of rewarding assignments that pay real money. Oberlin shows experienced and novice writers how to: *Survey opportunities in business and technical writing, online content, periodicals, book projects, greeting cards, newsletters, and much more * Market ideas and services to publishers, corporations, and others * Work with clients and editors smoothly and professionally * Create an efficient home office set-up for maximum productivity * Write like a journalist - without taking journalism classes * Make the most of the latest and best writing software * Augment income through teaching, speaking, and editing jobs Filled with sage advice and savvy strategy, Writing for Quick Cash reveals a wealth of opportunities for full-timers and moonlighters alike." "

Designed with the beginning journalism student in mind, this undergraduate textbook for fledgling reporters is a reference guide and an instructive text full of real-world examples and writing exercises. Conrad C. Fink, a longtime reporter and bureau chief with the Associated Press, leads intro journalism students through the basics of news writing, followed by analytical, interpretive, and opinion writing, including specialty coverage--sports, science, business, technology, and profiles. This text makes use of a wide range of real-world examples and uses a direct, minimalist writing style developed by the author in 45 years of experience in journalism and teaching. Chapters include exercises that introduce students to a writing opportunity or problem, reproduce a real-life example of how a seasoned journalist handled it, then discuss the point made. In this wise and highly usable text, Fink will ease the path toward becoming a better writer--giving students the tools they need to communicate clearly and effectively in an ever-changing world.