Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts: Articles

Databases

The following databases are the ones that are most likely to be helpful to the Liberal Arts major. However, there are literally hundreds of additional databases, so you could use additional databases for every assignment.

Academic Search Ultimate Coverage: Varies Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references.
America: History & Life Maximum Concurrent Users: 6 Coverage: 1954 to present Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American Film Scripts Online Coverage:Varies American Film Scripts Online contains more than 1,000 scripts of American cinema's greatest classic films. This collection contains detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays
Anthropology Plus Coverage:1890 to present A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research under the subject area: Humanities.
Art Abstracts Maximum Concurrent Users: 4 Coverage:1972 to present Abstracts from national and international publications, covering a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, film, and architecture. A tool for Art researchers indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals dating back to 1972, including peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it provides indexing for art dissertations and art reproductions.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) Coverage: 1975 to present Included in the Web of Science Core Collection, Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Coverage: Varies Full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Ethnic NewsWatch Coverage: 1959 to present A comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Gale Literature Criticism Coverage: 1400 to present Contains scholarly and popular commentary of literature from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
JSTOR Coverage: Varies A digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Access more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Temporary access to: JSTOR Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sights: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Ends July 1, 2021
MLA International Bibliography Coverage: 1920s to present Index of international journal articles, books and dissertations on literature; language and linguistics; folklore; literary theory & criticism; dramatic arts; historical aspects of printing and publishing; rhetoric and composition; and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature.
Naxos Music Library Coverage: Varies Online library of classical music. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels.
Philosopher's Index Maximum Concurrent Users: 4 Coverage: 1940 to present Provides access to scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
Project Muse Coverage: Varies Full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Includes literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Women Writers Online Coverage: 1526 to 1850 Sponsored By: CSU Department of English Wentworth Funds A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English. Full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, a wide range of genres and topics, providing a view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period. Introductory essays written by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics.