Poster Art

Archives and Special Collections holds about 5,000 posters across multiple collections. The focus is on modern, international art posters. Viewing is available onsite.

International Poster Collection

• Posters from the Colorado International Invitational Poster Exhibition (CIIPE)
• Posters address social concerns, cultural events, advertisements and other topics
• Date range: 1979-2017
• Over 2,700 posters (most online with some restricted)
• Exhibition catalogs online (link above) and in library (search catalog)

Kluge Collection

• Collected by communications entrepreneur John Kluge, the collection is comprised of a selection from Graphis poster catalogs, posters from China, and other posters
• The collection includes advertisements, cultural and social posters
• Date range: 1980s-1990s
• 1,156 posters

Sorbie Collection

• Posters by Colorado artist John Sorbie, one of the founders of the Colorado International Invitational Poster Exhibition
• The posters mainly advertise local Colorado and Colorado State University cultural events
• Date range: 1960s-1990s
• 122 posters

Risbeck Collection

• Posters by CSU art professor and artist Phil Risbeck, one of the founders of the Colorado International Invitational Poster Exhibition
• Posters created to advertise campus and local cultural events
• Date range: 1973-2017
• 103 posters

Coonts Collection

• Posters by Colorado artist Bob Coonts, one of the founders of the Colorado International Invitational Poster Exhibition
• Posters mainly advertise local Colorado cultural and social events, including the popular American West series
• Date range: 1973-2001
• 32 posters
• Learn more: The American West Program at Colorado State University

Drueding-Scorsone Collection

• The work of American artists Alice Drueding and Joe Scorsone was displayed in a satellite exhibit in connection with the 2017 CIIPE show, and their work has appeared in a number of other CIIPE exhibitions
• Posters generally concern social topics
• Date range: 1995-2016
• 25 posters

Kath Collection

• The work of Danish artist Gitte Kath was displayed in a satellite exhibit in connection with the 2013 CIIPE show, and her work has appeared in a number of other CIIPE exhibitions
• Posters are generally collage-type images for cultural institutions or events
• Date range: 1995-2012
• 54 posters

Katsui Collection

• Posters by Japanese artist Mitsuo Katsui, a frequent participant in the CIIPE exhibitions
• Posters created for exhibitions, galleries, and various companies
• Date range: 1967-2012
• 114 posters

Taborda Collection

• The work of Brazilian artist Felipe Taborda was exhibited at the Fort Collins Museum of Contemporary Art in connection with the 2005 CIIPE show, and his work has appeared in a number of other CIIPE exhibitions
• Posters on a variety of cultural and social events
• Date range: 1990s-2000s
• 83 posters

Witold-K Collection

• Posters by Polish/American artist Witold-Kaczanowski, an internationally known CIIPE artist, and some of his fellow Polish contemporaries
• Posters on a variety of cultural and social events
• Date range: 1960s-2004
• 198 posters

Broadhurst Collection

• Collected during travels to South America and Asia by retired CSU professor Betty Broadhurst
• Cultural posters from South America, Asia and other locales
• Date range: 1960s-1990s
• 67 posters

World War I and World War II Collection

• An assortment of posters produced by the U.S. government during war times
• Posters on topics such as war bonds, the need to keep silent about war information and the value of wartime rationing
• Date range: 1918-1943
• Approx. 115 posters

CSU and other related posters

• Posters featuring events at Colorado State University and provide an interesting look at the institution's history
• Posters cover topics ranging from music performances to CSU spirit activities and other notable college events
• Includes numerous items by Coonts, Sorbie, and Risbeck
• Date range: 1920s-2000s
• Approx. 220 posters