Collaborative Conservation

A library research guide for the WCNR Center for Collaborative Conservation fellows and researchers interested in conservation or related topics.

Important Databases for Collaborative Conservation

Below are the top ranked and most commonly used databases for this subject area. They are in ranked order, with databases of most interest at the top of the list. The databases include science and social science areas. Most, but not all, of the articles in these databases are scholarly/peer reviewed.  For a complete list of databases, see the Find Electronic Resources & Databases page.

Databases can be used to find articles like this:

Designing payments for environmental services in theory & practice; Engel & Pagiola; 2008; Ecological Economics 65(4): 663-674

Good Search Strategies Make a Difference

Searching in the research databases can be a bit tricky. If you keep a few tips in mind, you will create better search strategies.

Boolean logic or boolean searching (named after George Boole) uses logical words/terms (and  or not)  to combine words or terms.

Truncation symbols, usually the asterik * symbol, give you extra searching options for the endings of words.

Wildcard symbols, usually the question mark ? symbol, replaces a letter or letters in the middle of a word.

Phrase searching, to keep words together as a phrase, you usually use the quote marks around the phrase "words together"

 

One example: I am looking for articles about collaborative conservation or adaptive management in grasslands.

Search terms: "collaborative conservation" OR "adaptive managment"

                               AND grassland*

Why use those terms and symbols? quotes around words keeps them together as a phrase, OR means look for either the phrase collaborative conservation OR adaptive management.
Why add AND?  putting in AND grassland* tells the computer ALSO SEARCH for the word grassland  then anything with that stem, so grassland* searches grassland  OR grasslands
Alternatives? If you don't find enough articles with the search above, you can expand and include other words. You could search grassland* OR rangeland*

 

Boolean Examples

humpback chub AND colorado:  articles must have the words humpback chub and also the word colorado

humpback chub OR gila cypha:  articles may have EITHER the words humpback chub OR gila cypha

      IT is always a good idea to search for both the common name and the scientific name for an animal, plant, organism, etc.

dolphins NOT Miami: articles must have the word dolphins but CAN NOT have the word Miami (NOT is very powerful, be careful how it is used in your searches.)

 

Truncation Examples

wol*   searches for wolf, wolves, wolverine

agricultur*  searches for agriculture, agriculturally, agricultural

 

Wildcard Examples

wom?n  searches for woman or women

col?r  searches for color or colour

 

Phrase Examples

"global warming" keeps the words together so articles must have these two words side-by-side, global warming

Searching for Articles in a Specific Journal

Sometimes you may want to search for articles on a topic or subject, but also limit by journal. For example, you may just want articles about food webs in the journal: Ecological Monographs.

The search example below is from CAB Abstracts. To limit your search to journal articles from the journal: Ecological Monographs, you type in the journal name then in the right hand box, select SO Source

In Web of Science, the search looks very similar

Already Have a Citation?

To locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation use Citation Finder from the Library website.  With this tool you can search by journal title, ISSN, DOI or PMID.

Browse Journals by Title with E-journals A-Z

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/conservation | Print Page