- Colorado State University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Morrill Act of 1862
- Contemporary & Primary Sources
Morrill Act of 1862
Provides links and suggested resources that can be used for doing research on the Morrill Act , which was signed by President Abraham Lincoln on July 2, 1862
CSU Databases & Print Index
- New York Times Historical.(available to CSU affiliates via Articles & Databases/Electronic Resources page)
One article from 1862 wherein Mr. Morrill of Vermont "spoke on donating lands to the several States for establishing Agricultural Colleges." ("House of Representatives." New York Times June 7, 1862: 8.) - Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers.(available to CSU affiliates via Articles & Databases/Electronic Resources page)
Some brief mentionings of the Morrill Act. Look up: agricultural and education and colleges - U.S. Congressional Serial Set.(available to CSU affiliates via Articles & Databases/Electronic Resources page)
Find 46 entries (the Morrill Act and its aftermath) by doing a search for: College Land Grant Act (1862)
Web Sources
This is but a small sampling of material. Many land-grant institutions have put material on the Web about their own specific land-grant story.
- Morrill Act (1862).100 Milestone Documents. Our Documents. See transcript of the Morrill Act.
- Morrill Act: Primary Documents in American History. Library of Congress.Links to materials found in the American Memory Historical Collections and elsewhere. Selected bibliography.
- Morrill Act & Land-Grant Universities. LibGuide. Ed Goedeken. Iowa State University Library.Use tabs to find out where to find articles, books, and more.
Online Book
- The Origin of the Land Grant Act of 1862: (The So-Called Morrill Act) and Some Account of Its Author, Jonathan B. Turner.Edmund J. James. Urbana-Champaign: University Press, 1910. Internet Archive. Read online, PDF, B/W PDF, EPUB, Kindle, Daisy, Full Text DjVu, http. Table of content on p. 7 of PDF.
Your Librarian
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
