The Mentee's Guide by
PRAISE FOR THE MENTEE'S GUIDE "The Mentee's Guide inspires and guides the potential mentee, provides new insights for the adventure in learning that lies ahead, and underscores my personal belief and experience that mentoring is circular. The mentor gains as much as the mentee in this evocative relationship. Lois Zachary's new book is a great gift." --Frances Hesselbein, chairman and founding president, Leader to Leader Institute "Whether you are the mentee or mentor, born or made for the role, you will gain much more from the relationship by practicing the fun and easy A-to-Z principles of The Mentee's Guide by the master of excellence, Lois Zachary." --Ken Shelton, editor, Leadership Excellence "With this deeply practical book filled with stories and useful exercises, Lois Zachary completes her groundbreaking trilogy on mentoring. Must-reading for those in search of a richer understanding of this deeply human relationship as well as anyone seeking a mentor, whether for new skills, job advancement, or deeper wisdom." --Laurent A. Parks Daloz, senior fellow, the Whidbey Institute, and author, Mentor: Guiding the Journey of Adult Learners
The Mentor's Guide by
Explore the latest edition of an authoritative resource on professional and educational mentoring In the newly revised Third Edition of The Mentor's Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships, veteran mentoring experts Lois J. Zachary and Lisa Z. Fain deliver a thoughtful and rich exploration of the critical process of mentoring. The book offers practical tools for facilitating the mentoring experience from beginning to end. In addition to walking you through the four phases of mentoring--preparing, negotiating enabling growth, and coming to closure--this important book provides: Brand-new content on diversity, inclusion, and equity, as well as tools to enhance virtual mentoring relationships The ethics of mentoring, including how to handle common ethical pitfalls and mistakes Hands-on worksheets and exercises to facilitate the mentoring and learning process Perfect for leaders, managers, and educators, in any career or professional setting, The Mentor's Guide is an indispensable tool to help navigate your learning and mentoring journey.
Creating a Mentoring Culture by
In order to succeed in today's competitive environment, corporate and nonprofit institutions must create a workplace climate that encourages employees to continue to learn and grow. From the author of the best-selling The Mentor's Guide comes the next-step mentoring resource to ensure personnel at all levels of an organization will teach and learn from each other. Written for anyone who wants to embed mentoring within their organization, Creating a Mentoring Culture is filled with step-by-step guidance, practical advice, engaging stories, and includes a wealth of reproducible forms and tools.
Bridging Differences for Better Mentoring by
This first comprehensive guide to helping mentors and mentees bridge gaps between and among cultures--a growing issue in today's diverse workplace--is coauthored by the founder and CEO of the Center for Mentoring Excellence. As the workplace has become more diverse, mentoring has become more challenging. Mentors and mentees may come from very different backgrounds and have limited understanding of each other's cultures and outlooks. But mentoring remains the most powerful tool for creating meaningful relationships, furthering professional development, and increasing engagement and retention. Younger workers and emerging leaders in particular are demanding it. Lisa Z. Fain and Lois J. Zachary offer a timely, evidence-based, practical guide for helping mentors develop the level of cultural competency needed to bridge differences. Firmly rooted in Zachary's well-known four-part mentoring model, the book uses three fictional scenarios featuring three pairs of diverse mentors and mentees to illustrate how key concepts can play out in real life. It offers an array of accessible tools and strategies designed to help you increase your self-awareness and prepare you to embrace and leverage differences in your mentoring relationships. But beyond tips and techniques, Fain and Zachary emphasize that authenticity is the key--the ultimate purpose of this book is to help the mentor and mentee make a genuine connection and learn from each other. That's when the magic really happens.
Mentoring Programs That Work by
Amazing Benefits, Unique Risks A stellar mentor can change the trajectory of a career. And an enduring mentoring program can become an organization's most powerful talent development tool. But fixing a "broken" mentoring program or developing a new program from scratch requires a unique process, not a standard training methodology. Over the course of her career, seasoned program development specialist Jenn Labin has encountered dozens of mentoring programs unable to stand the test of their organizations' natural talent cycles. These programs applied a training methodology to a nontraining solution and were ineffective at best and poorly designed at worst. What's needed is a solid planning framework developed from hands-on experimentation. And you'll find it here. Mentoring Programs That Work is framed around Labin's AXLES model--the first framework devoted to the unique challenges of a sustained learning process. This step-by-step approach will help you navigate the early phases of mentoring program alignment all the way through program launch and measurement. Whether your goal is to recruit and retain Millennials or deepen organizational commitment, it's time to embrace mentoring as one of the most powerful tools of talent development. Mentoring Programs That Work will help your organization succeed by building mentoring programs that connect people and inspire learning transfer.
10 Steps to Successful Mentoring by
Reach New Heights as a Mentor Broaden people's perspectives. Sustain momentum for development. Drive significant career growth. It doesn't take a workplace superhero to accomplish all of this. You can do it - when you become a masterful mentor. While mentoring resources typically center on the mentee or the program, 10 Steps to Successful Mentoring is devoted explicitly to helping you excel in the role of mentor. In this book, Wendy Axelrod helps you stretch your mentoring abilities to yield substantial rewards for you and your mentee. Drawing on more than 20 years of work with mentors, she delves into proven approaches to use in your ongoing meetings, such as elevating the power of questions, leveraging experience for learning, and expanding growth using everyday psychology. Come away inspired to take on a fresh challenge. Whether mentoring is a calling or a choice, you're new to it or a seasoned veteran, or you're in a formal program or on your own, 10 Steps to Successful Mentoring is the resource you'll return to again and again. It's filled with real-life examples and 40 tools to help you master the nuances that drive deliberate development. Woven throughout are Wendy's seven guiding principles that distinguish the most successful mentors (hint: Start where your mentee is, not where you think they should be"). Become the best possible mentor, and deliver memorable experiences to your mentees and create a lasting legacy for yourself.
The Wiley International Handbook of Mentoring by
The first collection in the area of mentoring that applies theory to real-world practice, research, programs, and recommendations from an international perspective In today's networked world society, mentoring is a crucial area for study that requires a deep international understanding for effective implementation. Despite the immense benefits of mentoring, current literature on this subject is surprisingly sparse. The Wiley International Handbook of Mentoring fills the need for a comprehensive volume of in-depth information on the different types of mentoring programs, effective mentoring practices, and emerging practical and applicable theories. Based on sound research methodologies, this unique text presents original essays by experts from over ten different countries, demonstrating the ways mentoring can make a difference in the workplace and in the classroom; these experts have an understanding of mentoring worldwide having worked in mentoring in over forty countries. Each of the Handbook's four sections--mentoring paradigms, practices, programs, and possibilities--include a final synthesis chapter authored by the section editors that captures the essence of the lessons learned, applies a global context, and recommends research avenues for further exploration. This innovative volume demonstrates how mentoring in any culture can help employees to complete tasks and advance in their positions, aid in socialization and assimilation in various settings, provide diverse groups access to resources and information, navigate through personalities, politics, policies, and procedures, and much more. Offers an inclusive, international perspective that supports moving mentoring into a discipline of its own and lays a theoretical foundation for further research Shows how emerging practical theories can be implemented in actual programs and various scenarios Examines a wide range of contemporary paradigms, practices, and programs in the field of mentoring, including a panorama of introspections on mentoring from international scholars and practitioners Includes historical and epistemological content, background information and definitions, and overviews of fundamental aspects of mentoring The Wiley International Handbook of Mentoring is an essential volume for a global readership, particularly teachers of mentoring courses, trainers, and researchers and practitioners in a variety of fields such as business, education, government, politics, sciences, industry, or sports.
On Being a Mentor by
On Being a Mentoris the definitive guide for faculty in higher education who wish to mentor both students and junior faculty. It features strategies, guidelines, best practices, and recommendations for professors who wish to excel in this area. Written in a pithy style, this no-nonsense guide offers straightforward advice about managing problem mentorships and measuring mentorship outcomes. Practical cases studies, vignettes, and step-by-step guidelines illuminate the process of mentoring throughout. Other outstanding features include: research-based advice on the rules of engagement for mentoring, mentor functions, qualities of good mentors, and methods for forming and managing student-faculty relationships; summaries of the common mentoring relationship phases and guidance for adhering to ethical principles when serving as a mentor; guidance about mentoring specific populations, including undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and protégés who differ from the mentor in terms of sex and race; and recommendations for department chairs and deans on how to foster an academic culture of mentoring. On Being a Mentoris intended for professors, department chairs, and deans in a variety of educational settings, including colleges, universities, and medical and law schools and is suitable for professors in all fields of study including the sciences, humanities, psychology, education, and management.
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
