SOWK300: Research in Applied Professions
Find Articles
Try these databases to get started:
- PsycInfoCoverage: 1887 to present
Citations and summaries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines published in peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. - Social Work AbstractsMaximum Concurrent Users: 8
Coverage: 1965 to present
Covers literature on all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems. - PubMed (National Library of Medicine)Coverage: 1950 to present
Provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts for clinical medical literature. - Social Services AbstractsCoverage: Varies
Covers literature on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
Can’t find the full article?
Use the 
button in the database to check for full text availability. If full text is not available, click on "CSU-Fort Collins Interlibrary Loan" to submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
Check for Peer Review
Your course assignment criteria may specify that you use peer reviewed, or refereed, journal articles.
Using a database to search for articles?
Look for a search screen option to limit your search to peer reviewed or refereed.
Looking at a specific journal?
Search for the journal title in the UlrichsWeb database and check for the “Refereed” icon.
By: NCSU Libraries
Find a Known Article or Journal
Use this tool to locate a specific journal or find an article if you have a complete citation.
Use Google Scholar
Learn how to read articles
- Tips for Reading Scholarly ArticlesBy Brandeis University
Your Librarian
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
