Finding Peer Reviewed Journal Articles in Databases
Use these databases to search journal articles. See the "Search Strategies" tab for tips on the best way to search library databases.
- Web of ScienceCoverage: Varies
Scholarly/peer reviewed journals in all areas of natural resources, agriculture, sciences, and more. (Note: Don't us IE, use another web browser.) - PubMed (National Library of Medicine)Coverage: 1950 to present
Provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts for clinical medical literature.
- Academic Search PremierMulti-disciplinary, scholarly database. Includes full text for 4500+ titles, 3600+ of which are peer-reviewed journals.
Use Reference Sources
Start your assignment with these resources to get a basic explanation of your topic.
Then look at the bibliography of the articles you find to see if they list some scholarly articles that may be helpful for the final part of the assignment.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesCollection of articles by scientists and historians in all fields of life sciences
Use Books & E-Books (Online Books, Full-Text)
The CSU library provides access to hundreds of electronic books online and will be purchasing more and more books in electronic format over time. When searching the Discovery Catalog, you can limit the format to E-Books by using the menu on the left of the results page.
Using e-books from a library can sometimes be confusing. Check out this guide or ask if you need assistance!
- CSU Primo Discovery ToolThe main library search box is a discovery tool - it searches across many library resources simultaneously. Use the limits on the right sidebar after your search to limit to books/ebooks.
- Regional Catalog (Prospector)Borrow books from other libraries around the region.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)If CSU or regional libraries (Prospector) don't have the book you are looking for - use ILL. A free service! (First time users, click the "First Time Users" link on the bottom left.)
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.